The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:49 AM
cgcmgr cgcmgr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 279711
cgcmgr Reputation: 10
Default What Memory?

Hi,

I have an ASUS P4C800E-Deluxe motherboard and I'm looking to upgrade from 1GB of memory to 4GB (the max for this board). Currently the memory I have is the Corsair XMS3500C2 (2 512mb modules). My current settings are below.

Ram Settings for the Corsair XMS3500C2 memory (DDR 433)

SDRAM Configuration: Manual
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2T
SDRAM RAS To CAS Delay (tRCD): 3T
SDRAM RAS Precharge (tRP): 3T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 6T

The reason I'm asking what type of memory to get is because I remember posting to this board a while back when my motherboard first came out. I know there was all types of memory problems and setting problems at the time. The kind people on this board helped me get the correct memory and the correct settings. I haven't had a problem since. So I was wondering if there is "special" memory I need to get for this board? I will need 4 1gb modules. Any help would be greatly be appreciated, also do I need to set new timings?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:53 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 279825
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your interest in our products. Unfortunately the 3500C2 series of memory has been discontinued and we cannot suggest mixing any other type of memory together with it. I am sorry about this but because the actual memory IC chip has gone out of production we can no longer manufacture these modules. If you are still looking to upgrade your best bet would be to remove your 3500C2 modules and to add new RAM throughout your machine. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience, take care.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:54 PM
cgcmgr cgcmgr is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 279848
cgcmgr Reputation: 10
Default

That's fine, what memory would you recommend based on the memory I already have? In other words, what memory do you have now that is basically like the XMS3500C2 or better and of course will work with my motherboard. Can I keep the timings the same as in my original post, or would I have to change it with the new memory?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 279873
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would suggest finding another use for the modules you have now and just get a set of Twinx2048-3200C2 for this system.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.