The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2019, 08:48 AM
Paolo_Z Paolo_Z is offline
Registered User
Paolo_Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1015939
Paolo_Z Reputation: 10
Default CORSAIR AX1000 Titanium lines 12v and 5v is there a problem?

Hi guys I write from Italy and I use google translator so forgive me for any text errors.
I think I have a problem with voltage regulators .. reading the various reviews of this power supply I don't match the results with the 12v and 5v lines under stress..I tried to go down hard to test the 12v and 5v lines, then I brought my 8700k to 5.1ghz limit, overclocked my 1080ti to 2050mhz and the memories I gave + 500mhz with afterburner and vga fans set to maximum, I have a corsair h115i both fans of 140 set to maximum including the pump with maximum speed .., I started to run prime95 and fullmark simultaneously and these are the results( I attach the screen)the values ​​have gone down under 12 and also the 5v has decreased so much in the reviews I read that it remained above 12v with overload of olre 1200watt ... here already I go down as soon as I push my system that is undersized compared to this feeder or it is normal? please thank you for any clarification reply
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (43).png (1.55 MB, 77 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-29-2019, 08:23 AM
Paolo_Z Paolo_Z is offline
Registered User
Paolo_Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1016025
Paolo_Z Reputation: 10
Default

nobody helping me?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-30-2019, 04:43 PM
William1 William1 is offline
Registered User
William1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 80
POST ID # = 1016201
William1 Reputation: 11
Default

Your 5V is rock steady, your 12V drops by barely .2V, about 2.5%. Reasonable for maximum loading.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-30-2019, 05:13 PM
Vegan Vegan is offline
Hardcore Games
Vegan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 223
POST ID # = 1016208
Vegan Reputation: 10
Default

you are well within the ATX spec. Corsair is designed to be much tighter than the ATX spec which is 5% variance
__________________

Cooler Master HAF 932 chassis with the Corsair HX1000i PSU

Hardcore Games - Legendary of the Only Way to Play

I have been a vegan since 1969. I have experienced more prejudice than anyone could possibly ever imagine.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-31-2019, 03:38 AM
Paolo_Z Paolo_Z is offline
Registered User
Paolo_Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1016247
Paolo_Z Reputation: 10
Default

ok thanks a lot now i'm quieter as my result is normal, i was a little worried because in reviews like this https://www.techpowerup.com/review/c...-ax1000/2.html
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-31-2019, 07:45 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,228
POST ID # = 1016267
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Professional PSU testers are not using software to read the voltage values through the motherboard like what we see on the user end from HWiNFO, iCUE, AIDA, etc. The software values tend to be a bit "soft", particularly the 12v rail. It's pretty common to see an 11.9xx all the time with a moderate load and people get nervous because it is the "12v rail". Same thing on 5v with it riding at 4.9x all the time. I wouldn't be concerned until you see something dramatically bellow those values. You see an 11.1v on the 12v rail, then it is time to ask questions although more often than not it is a software conflict, rather than actual voltage drops.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-31-2019, 11:20 AM
Paolo_Z Paolo_Z is offline
Registered User
Paolo_Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1016293
Paolo_Z Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Professional PSU testers are not using software to read the voltage values through the motherboard like what we see on the user end from HWiNFO, iCUE, AIDA, etc. The software values tend to be a bit "soft", particularly the 12v rail. It's pretty common to see an 11.9xx all the time with a moderate load and people get nervous because it is the "12v rail". Same thing on 5v with it riding at 4.9x all the time. I wouldn't be concerned until you see something dramatically bellow those values. You see an 11.1v on the 12v rail, then it is time to ask questions although more often than not it is a software conflict, rather than actual voltage drops.


here is perfect you hit my nervousness because it falls and I read less than 12 on the 12v with loads under 500 watts I don't like that 11.09XX even if it's far from the minimum standard ATX it's just that I saw an incongruity in my power supply compared to that of the review ... already starting has 12.273 and my 12.192 while they are equal psu so there must be an error in reading the software because the review one keeps the 12v at a peak low of 12.247 with the load of 110% !! and the mine to even 500watt load already goes down to 11.904 ..> _ <
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-31-2019, 11:41 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,228
POST ID # = 1016296
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you stare at software generated power numbers often enough, you’ll notice the watts/volts/current or whatever you are looking at winds up at the same values quite often. The idle power consumption is 99W or 108 or 117W. Never 103 or 114W or anything else. Similar on voltage rails and you see the exact same reading under a wide variety of loads. Eventually you notice the mathematical relationship and realize the program is limited in what it can tell you and real values change must faster than polling rate. We don’t want our monitoring software polling every 1/100th of a second. These software values can tell you when there is a major problem and can be used for general comparisons or a peek at the current state.

Last edited by c-attack; 08-31-2019 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Predictive text... sigh.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-31-2019, 12:30 PM
Paolo_Z Paolo_Z is offline
Registered User
Paolo_Z's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 1016301
Paolo_Z Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
If you stare at software generated power numbers often enough, you’ll notice the watts/volts/current or whatever you are looking at winds up at the same values quite often. The idle power consumption is 99W or 108 or 117W. Never 103 or 114W or anything else. Similar on voltage rails and you see the exact same reading under a wide variety of loads. Eventually you notice the mathematical relationship and realize the program is limited in what it can tell you and real vale’s change must faster than polling rate. We don’t want our monitoring software polling every 1/100th of a second. These software values can tell you when there is a major problem and can be used for general comparisons or a peek at the current state.



you're right .. because the numbers even if they vary are always the same .. type 11.904 and not example: 11.905 or 11906 or 11.907 but only 11.904 always the same thing with 5v and 3v respectively 5v peak 5.040 or 5.016 never 5.039 or 5.15 the numbers are always identical with the variations .. so I'm starting to understand that the software is the culprit and not the output voltages of my power supply, at this point I'm sure that with a tester or a multimeter I would have variable values ​​of different numbers but above all the 12v if the software gives me 11904 maybe the tester at that moment marks 12.10 / 20 so I start to believe that my copy has no problem and it's just my mental paranoia here :) thanks a lot for the help I really need to understand this
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.