The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2019, 07:58 AM
ctark ctark is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1014526
ctark Reputation: 10
Default GPU water block causes card to tilt.

Let me start off by saying that the cooling performance of this GPU block is amazing. I mine crypto currency and my air cooled cards would run about 80c. With the corsair water block it is running at a very cool 40c right now and I'm very pleased with that.

What I'm not pleased with is how much flex it puts on the PCB in the middle of the card. This causes the right side to look severely tilted and it throws off the aesthetics. I planned to add more GPU's with water blocks but I'm not sure too encouraged by Corsair's product and might have to take a different approach. If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.

I attached a pic of my system, sorry about the mess. I'm just testing things out at the moment and needed to do a quick and dirty build to make sure things worked before I started putting it in a more permanent state.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image0.jpg (107.2 KB, 60 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2019, 08:16 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 1014528
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

That is a severe flex. I would suggest to create a new support ticket so our agents can take a detailed look and advise on further actions.
Please include your graphics card model number and model of Hydro X GPU water block.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2019, 10:46 AM
eisenb11 eisenb11 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 1014622
eisenb11 Reputation: 10
Default

That’s a lot of flexing are you sure that isn’t being caused by external forces? Is the card still flexed like that if it were not installed in the system?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2019, 12:14 PM
ctark ctark is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 1014745
ctark Reputation: 10
Default

I will be disassembling soon to do wire management. I'll take a look at the flex after I pull it out. I remember when I initially put it in to make sure I didn't over tighten anything and it made no difference when loosening the screws.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2019, 03:27 PM
Alex B Alex B is offline
Registered User
Alex B's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 1014765
Alex B Reputation: 10
Default

I had/have this issue with a 2080 ti FE. First block flexed the hell out of the PCB. RMA’d the block. Second block flexes it a little less but it’s still there (even out of the case)... the advice I was given was loosen the screws a bit. In my opinion I think it’s a product flaw, but I’m not too worked up about it because the flex isn’t extreme and it cools fine enough. You have a lot of flex there though...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2019, 10:12 AM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 1015138
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

On certain locations, slight flex is OK.

When in doubt, don't hesitate to take a few pictures and we'll check and advise.
For such occurences, I advise to go directly to our support. Our tech support agents are aware of what's within tolerances and when additional action needs to be made.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.