The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software > iCUE SDK

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2019, 12:37 AM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999401
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default iHue: A Phillips Hue sync clone for Corsair RGB Lighting

I just wanted to showcase something I'm working on using @DarthAffe's RGB.net library. It's basically a program to emulate the functionality of the Phillips Hue Sync on Corsair devices. For those who don't know, this will pick the dominant color from the screen and set the led lights to the color it finds. It will work with any app, video, or game with low latency and relatively low CPU.

So far its coming along very well. Although it's still in very early stages, I couldn't help but to show you guys what I have accomplished so far. There is still tons of work to be done. I have a lot of plans to do a lot of pretty cool things with this.
Next features will be a richer color palette, color fading transitions, and the ability to split the screen into multiple regions and assign the appropriate LED lights to capture the color in the corresponding area of the screen.

It's just the beginning! Enjoy!

UPDATE (4/1): added gradient fading between color transitions. Also did A LOT of code cleanup / refactoring. No this is not an April Fool's joke :)
UPDATE: Added multi-part lighting zones. See Part 2 demo below.

Demo (PART 2):
Demo (PART 1):


Hope you guys enjoy.

Last edited by djhexx; 09-07-2019 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2019, 04:01 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,029
POST ID # = 999417
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

ohh... nice.... i will have a play buddy :).. been using hue Sync my self, which only works with my Hue equipment, i have 3 hue play bars behind my screen..

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2019, 08:08 AM
TackDaniels TackDaniels is offline
Registered User
TackDaniels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 999426
TackDaniels Reputation: 10
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by djhexx View Post
I just wanted to showcase something I'm working on using @DarthAffe's RGB.net library. It's basically a program to emulate the functionality of the Phillips Hue Sync on Corsair devices. For those who don't know, this will pick the dominant color from the screen and set the led lights to the color it finds. It will work with any app, video, or game with low latency and relatively low CPU.

So far its coming along very well. Although it's still in very early stages, I couldn't help but to show you guys what I have accomplished so far. There is still tons of work to be done. I have a lot of plans to do a lot of pretty cool things with this.
Next features will be a richer color palette, color fading transitions, and the ability to split the screen into multiple regions and assign the appropriate LED lights to capture the color in the corresponding area of the screen.

It's just the beginning! Enjoy!

Demo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDiGs__8wEE
Code: https://github.com/MetalHexx/iHue

Hope you guys enjoy.
This is awesome! I'm using Hue Sync, too. IMO iCue should have that functionality by itself. Keep on!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2019, 10:56 AM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999438
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
ohh... nice.... i will have a play buddy :).. been using hue Sync my self, which only works with my Hue equipment, i have 3 hue play bars behind my screen..

https://youtu.be/a4NXxXMAKg8

I've seen your setup man and it's one of the videos that inspired me to work on this code. Really nice work. Maybe you'll be able to dump the Hue soon.

I just realized that the Hue sync app for iPhone is called iHue, so I guess I need to change the name of my project haha.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2019, 11:04 AM
TackDaniels TackDaniels is offline
Registered User
TackDaniels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 999440
TackDaniels Reputation: 10
Default

Actually there is no Hue Sync App for iPhone. The Hue Sync App is for PC and Mac only. The Hue App for iPhone is just called "Hue".
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2019, 06:48 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,029
POST ID # = 999485
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Will be watching and waiting buddy :).. exciting times
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2019, 01:51 AM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999523
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TackDaniels View Post
Actually there is no Hue Sync App for iPhone. The Hue Sync App is for PC and Mac only. The Hue App for iPhone is just called "Hue".
Good to know. However iHue does exist even if its not the official app. Maybe it doesn't matter. We'll see. =P

https://www.google.com/search?q=ihue...hrome&ie=UTF-8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2019, 02:16 AM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999524
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

Got screen splitting working. You can split the screen in as many equal size parts as desired in a 2 dimensional matrix. Here I am arbitrarily splitting the LEDs across the surface into 2 zones and it looks like that resulted in my strips being blue and the peripherals red. Nice thing is, the CPU utilization wasn't affected even if I go as high as 10x10 (currently hitting around 10%) and latency seems unaffected.

Shouln't take too long to figure out how to fine tune the led addressing and get some sort of configuration scheme working. Ignore that direct x exception. It doesn't seem to affect anything. Bigger fish to fry. :)

(See attached screenshot)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20190330_020542.jpg (2.58 MB, 106 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2019, 04:36 AM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999532
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

I'm burning the midnight oil again tonight. I got the screen split into multple parts and assigning appropriate LEDs in the office space to correlate.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2019, 01:32 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,029
POST ID # = 999568
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

thats working real well
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:54 AM
TackDaniels TackDaniels is offline
Registered User
TackDaniels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 999758
TackDaniels Reputation: 10
Default

I wonder why Philips and/or Corsair don't get the multiple screen parts thing working
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:17 PM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999850
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TackDaniels View Post
I wonder why Philips and/or Corsair don't get the multiple screen parts thing working
Oh does the phillips hue sync not do this? When watching demos on YouTube, I was under the assumption that it did...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:23 PM
djhexx djhexx is offline
Registered User
djhexx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 999851
djhexx Reputation: 10
Default

By the way folks, I got the fading between color transitions working as well which mitigates / eliminates the flashyness depending on many colors it's configured to generate between the transition. It seems 250 colors between color transitions is a nice sweet spot for fast moving video and games. 1000 (or whatever the max between colors is) is a nicer experience for chilling on the web and such. This setting will be configurable when I release binaries...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2019, 11:24 PM
Gronar Gronar is offline
Registered User
Gronar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Round Rock, Tejas
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 999876
Gronar Reputation: 10
Default

Awesome work man!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-06-2019, 04:38 AM
TackDaniels TackDaniels is offline
Registered User
TackDaniels's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 1000488
TackDaniels Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djhexx View Post
Oh does the phillips hue sync not do this? When watching demos on YouTube, I was under the assumption that it did...
Actually not. It only recognizes the "major" color in the middle of the display. Not with the Sync App definitely. The Philips Ambilight TVs have a 2x2 partition (as far from what I've seen, no proof for that).

Last edited by TackDaniels; 04-06-2019 at 04:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
c#, cuesdk, hue, phillips, sync

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.