The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2018, 06:40 AM
paulpies84 paulpies84 is offline
Registered User
paulpies84's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 953136
paulpies84 Reputation: 10
Default Can HD120 and SP120 be connected to the same fan hub and controlled

I have 3 SP120 fans and 3 HD120 Fans in my case all connected to one hub. I cuurently have no power to socket 6 for some reason but that is a seperate issue.

My problem is the 3 SP120 that were originally fitted when the case was bought work fine and can be adjusted as needed. The 2 HD120 that are currentky connected will only illuminate solid white light and nothing else.

Do I need to have a seperate fan hub and controller for these?
If not what is the problem, is it something to do with socket 6 not working?

The 3 sp120 are connected to sockets 1-3
The 3 HD120 are connected to sockets 3-6 but 6 has no illumination.

I have tried swapping 2 of the hd120s over and the fans are fine.

Any advice/help gratefully received

Thanks

Paul
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-03-2018, 03:02 PM
Corsair Lettuce's Avatar
Corsair Lettuce Corsair Lettuce is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 953175
Corsair Lettuce Reputation: 10
Default

Hello, with fan hubs themselves you cannot mix and match two different types of fans. Reason being is that each family of fans use different power outputs. At best I would suggest getting another RGB hub.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-03-2018, 03:46 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,075
POST ID # = 953177
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi dude.. welcome to the forum :).. as already said.. mix RBG fan types on a single RGB fan LED hub is a no go....

Prob worth having a read of the below thread buddy

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880

Last edited by Zotty; 05-04-2018 at 08:10 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-04-2018, 08:01 AM
paulpies84 paulpies84 is offline
Registered User
paulpies84's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 953255
paulpies84 Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Lettuce and Zotty, that explains exactly what I need. Much appreciation to you both :-)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-04-2018, 08:11 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,075
POST ID # = 953258
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

No probs buddy... good luck on your quest
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.