The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2018, 11:15 AM
kryptic57 kryptic57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 940356
kryptic57 Reputation: 10
Default K70 freezes in Rainbow Six Siege unless in "BIOS" mode

I have noted with a small selection of games, but most notably Rainbow Six Siege, that if my K70 keyboard is in any of it's normal settings I will experience a short 1-2 minute freeze in game. This is repeatable after about 20-40 minutes of play.

However, if I switch the keyboard into "BIOS" mode using the switch on the back of the keyboard, the problem is magically fixed. I have tried swapping USB ports, soft resetting the keyboard, uninstalling CUE multiple times and clearing cache after cache. Nothing has fixed this. It's been months now waiting to see if a CUE update would fix the problem, it has not.

I'm putting this up as I've run across several people with the same problem and hope to bring visibility to the problem. If anyone knows a permanent solution that doesn't involve disabling all the features of the keyboard please let me know.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-13-2018, 02:04 PM
Corsair Nick's Avatar
Corsair Nick Corsair Nick is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 922
POST ID # = 940380
Corsair Nick Reputation: 39
Default

Which version of the K70 keyboard do you have connected? Do you have any controllers connected to your PC simultaneously with the K70?

Some helpful steps you can perform in the mean time would be to make sure CUE is updated to the latest (2.22.83), and all your BIOS and USB drivers are updated to the latest version from the motherboard manufacturer and not the Windows defaults.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-13-2018, 04:24 PM
kryptic57 kryptic57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 940407
kryptic57 Reputation: 10
Default

K70 LUX RGB Cherry Brown. I do not have any controllers plugged in although I do have a Vive. (I have tried both with it unplugged and plugged in without any change in the freezes).

All drivers are up to date and running manufacturer versions.

Last edited by kryptic57; 02-14-2018 at 01:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-19-2018, 10:49 AM
kryptic57 kryptic57 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 941352
kryptic57 Reputation: 10
Default

bump erooooooo
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-20-2018, 07:38 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 941471
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

If you have not done so already, put in a support ticket with Corsair.
https://support.corsair.com/

Another recently reported issue that is similar to your one.
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=174960
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 04-07-2018, 06:43 AM
desolator4u desolator4u is offline
Registered User
desolator4u's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 948986
desolator4u Reputation: 10
Default

What's the update on this guys? Please don't tell me this problem still persists.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:39 PM
Maraker Maraker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 949777
Maraker Reputation: 10
Default

Aargh.

Playing by customer and Playing our time...
"make sure CUE is updated to the latest (2.22.83), and all your BIOS and USB drivers are updated to the latest version from the motherboard manufacturer and not the Windows defaults"

First:
Update bios is stupid if computer is fine. can be dangerous.

Seconds:
My experience after own 5 different manufactured kb. Corsair is only problem kb.

3rd:
If computer freeze, locks up, kb freeze or malfunction, IT is not usb or chipset problem 99.9% tolerance, it is kb usb driver or firmware problem.

4:
Windows default usb driver works all brand kb, except Corsair, what you think that : corsair support ?

My experience is 20 year in big computer technology company. So I know.
If trace debug USB by using microsoft own software, you can easily see handshake problem.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-22-2018, 12:18 AM
desolator4u desolator4u is offline
Registered User
desolator4u's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 951449
desolator4u Reputation: 10
Default

Well I got my K70 LUX RGB last week. Thankfully I have no issues. Using the early access CUE beta software. I have Steam running almost constantly along with UPlay.
I also use a PS3 Controller via BT that is always active with some software my brother installed that runs as a service with each startup.
Multiple User Accounts are logged in for 2 to 3 people at a time. We all have different lighting profiles for the keyboard along with game specific profiles that all work as they should, including R6 Siege that I play every chance I get.

I have always had some USB changes made in my BIOS, since USB 3 wouldn't benefit me. Maybe others can try it.

I have an ASUS Maximux VI Formula (Intel Z87):
Legacy USB Support - ENABLED
Intel xHCI Mode - DISABLED
EHCI Hand-off - DISABLED

I hope everything continues to run well for me.

Last edited by desolator4u; 04-22-2018 at 12:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-23-2018, 07:44 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 951745
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

@desolator4u, thanks for the update, glad to hear things are working well for you.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.