The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2013, 01:33 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 624898
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default Controlling SP120 Quiet with H100I

Hi Guys,

I got a quick question.

I'd like to upgrade the H100I fans with full SP120 Quiets.

Will I be able to plug them directly in the H100I and control them with the Link software?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:08 PM
conte conte is offline
Registered User
conte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 624926
conte Reputation: 10
Default

any fan you will connect out of 4 max fans, will be controlled by CL software
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-09-2013, 03:10 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 624927
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default

Sweet!

Thanks for info. :)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-09-2013, 04:49 PM
FiShBuRn FiShBuRn is offline
Registered User
FiShBuRn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 624958
FiShBuRn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by conte View Post
any fan you will connect out of 4 max fans, will be controlled by CL software
thats not true! you can control SP120 if you use the included 7v fan voltage regulators.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-09-2013, 04:53 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 624960
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default

FiShBuRn...

So what you're saying is that I'll be able to control the SP120 plugged in my H100I IF I use an adapter that's included in the fan's packaging?

Thanks btw!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-09-2013, 05:14 PM
conte conte is offline
Registered User
conte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 624970
conte Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiShBuRn View Post
thats not true! you can control SP120 if you use the included 7v fan voltage regulators.
??? any fan you will plug into the cl fan's wire will be controlled by cl. I have 2 stock fans in push and 2 3pin schythe in pull all plugged into cl with the cl fan wires.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-09-2013, 05:49 PM
ez12a ez12a is offline
Registered User
ez12a's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 624980
ez12a Reputation: 10
Default

it'll work but not work well.

I tried 2 GT AP-15s and CL does control them to an extent but it doesnt work as well as the included SP120s. The software is currently designed to work best with the included fans. Why? I dont know. The GTs will only spin as slow as 1300 rpm and respond extremely slowly to fan speed changes.

You'd think at start up when my H100i spins the fans to 100%, it would be recording the max RPM at 12v, and then adjust its control behavior appropriately. But it does not. Motherboard control works well with nearly any fan connected to it yet CL is so picky.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-09-2013, 06:29 PM
conte conte is offline
Registered User
conte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 28
POST ID # = 624986
conte Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ez12a View Post
it'll work but not work well.

I tried 2 GT AP-15s and CL does control them to an extent but it doesnt work as well as the included SP120s. The software is currently designed to work best with the included fans. Why? I dont know. The GTs will only spin as slow as 1300 rpm and respond extremely slowly to fan speed changes.

You'd think at start up when my H100i spins the fans to 100%, it would be recording the max RPM at 12v, and then adjust its control behavior appropriately. But it does not. Motherboard control works well with nearly any fan connected to it yet CL is so picky.
could be only yours cux my cl run perfectly the stock ones with 2 schythe added. It does not matter what fan you add. Since you use the propper connection and the fans are tach 3 pin (which sp120 are) or 4 pin pwm you can handle them in cl.
SP120 are the best fans for air pressure to set with cl
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:12 PM
ez12a ez12a is offline
Registered User
ez12a's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 625002
ez12a Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by conte View Post
could be only yours cux my cl run perfectly the stock ones with 2 schythe added. It does not matter what fan you add. Since you use the propper connection and the fans are tach 3 pin (which sp120 are) or 4 pin pwm you can handle them in cl.
SP120 are the best fans for air pressure to set with cl
it does matter what fan you use. Your scythes may just happen to work. People with Corsair SP120 Performance Ed have reported the same problem, and Corsair has mentioned in the past that they're working on adding 3rd party fan support. Corsair at the moment only supports their own included fan. If you encounter issues controlling other fans, it is likely they will be unable to help you short of a firmware update.

Op, your mileage may vary depending on the fans you use. You'd think it would work like controlling them from your motherboard but it is not that straight forward.

see: http://www.overclock.net/t/1323904/c...pu-coolers/670

and
http://forum.corsair.com/v2/showthread.php?p=622130

Last edited by ez12a; 01-09-2013 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:29 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 625037
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default

Mmmmm...Sooooo.

Yay or Nay? Controlling (speed etc) the Sp120 Quiet with the Link software when plugged in the H100I pump unit.

Sorry, I don't want to seem dense, but I am a bit. :)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:25 PM
ez12a ez12a is offline
Registered User
ez12a's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 625066
ez12a Reputation: 10
Default

it is hard to say for sure. The only way to definitively tell you is to have someone with the fans pair it with the h100i to see if it works out of the box.

What we know is:
-SP120 Performance via Retail does not work out of the box
-Gentle Typhoons do not work well
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:27 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 625067
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default

Right. That's what I gathered...

Oh well. I guess I'll just have to try! I'll keep the stock fans to test both setups.

Thanks ez!
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:39 PM
fchan fchan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 625075
fchan Reputation: 10
Default

Hi everyone,

I have a H100i matched with 4x SP120's performance edition. It does work but not to my taste: after patching the H100i to get rid of the rattling, I had all sorts of problems including inability to control fan speed, more rattling and high pitched noise.

As mentionned, the best fix I had was to use the 7v voltage downsteppers. Using these, the fan speeds can be controlled *to an extent* and the noise is gone. The control is very laggy (takes like a full minute to go from ~30% to 100% speed @ 7V).

Everything else seems to be working fine however.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-09-2013, 10:44 PM
Woodwater Woodwater is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 625076
Woodwater Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fchan View Post
Hi everyone,

I have a H100i matched with 4x SP120's performance edition. It does work but not to my taste: after patching the H100i to get rid of the rattling, I had all sorts of problems including inability to control fan speed, more rattling and high pitched noise.

As mentionned, the best fix I had was to use the 7v voltage downsteppers. Using these, the fan speeds can be controlled *to an extent* and the noise is gone. The control is very laggy (takes like a full minute to go from ~30% to 100% speed @ 7V).

Everything else seems to be working fine however.

Good luck!
Hey fchan.

Cool. Thanks, i'll start by running with the stock fans. Maybe I'll experiment with taking some parts from the Sp120s (rubber and ring) and installing them on the stock ones. I don't know. I almost feel like selling the H100I and getting something else after everything I've heard about it. :\

Thanks for the help though guys!
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-03-2013, 04:24 AM
******** ******** is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 672700
******** Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodwater View Post
Mmmmm...Sooooo.

Yay or Nay? Controlling (speed etc) the Sp120 Quiet with the Link software when plugged in the H100I pump unit.

Sorry, I don't want to seem dense, but I am a bit. :)
I have x2 SP120 Quiet Edition fans plugged into my H100i, working and able to control with CorsairLINK2.
Plug and go, no voltage downsteppers or what ever everyone else is saying that they need.

Only issue is the max speed i can get them going is 1300RPM. Apart from that, switching from performance/default/quiet mode is instant and no dramas.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
h100i, sp120

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.