The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:00 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911420
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Yes, I half expected this and I also expect the average CPU speed is much lower. When then run CL 4.7.0.77 my CPUs run at 3.10 GHz rather than 1.20 GHz when I use SIV.
Hi Red-Ray,

Well started playing my Flight Simulator this morning and would you believe it, the Cooler froze and stopped reporting to SIV.

I've taken some screenshots of the Link Status and Link Fans for you to have a look at.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...VRKcjU3TmQ2MVk

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4...VdQVmRVZ0J5T2M

What would be causing this?
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:10 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911421
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea I suspect Windows can't see the H80iV2 any more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
I've taken some screenshots of the Link Status and Link Fans for you to have a look at.

What would be causing this?
I suspect Windows can't see the H80iV2 any more. Does it show up in Device Manager?

I guess [Link Devices] + [USB Bus] would be handy.

See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=853900 for how to attach a file/screen image to a post and please use meaningful names rather than VdQVmRVZ0J5T2M.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:13 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911422
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I suspect Windows can't see the H80iV2 any more. Does it show up in Device Manager?

I guess [Link Devices] + [USB Bus] would be handy.

See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=853900 for how to attach a file/screen image to a post and please use meaningful names rather than VdQVmRVZ0J5T2M.
Ok next time it happens I will go upload the screenshot into the forum and also show a screenshot of the Link Devices > USB Bus. I will also check the "Windows Device Manager".

I'll keep you posted Red-Ray, I had to restart my whole PC in order to get the cooler working again.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 07-12-2017, 08:29 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911423
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Hi Red-Ray,

Didn't take long for it to happen again. Shortly after starting my Flight Simulator game it froze.

On the "Link Fans" page it showed the current Pump & Fan speed as 0. Please see the attached screenshots which will hopefully help you and me out in diagnosing this problem.

Also the H80i V2 driver was still showing up as working in the "Windows Device Manager".
Attached Images
File Type: jpg siv frozen 1.jpg (183.1 KB, 156 views)
File Type: jpg siv frozen 2.jpg (321.7 KB, 169 views)
File Type: jpg siv frozen 3.jpg (199.1 KB, 143 views)
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 07-13-2017, 12:36 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911443
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Update: I had the PC idling on desktop for 2 hrs without the cooler freezing.

Played my Flight Simulator and wasn't till I finished the game this time that the cooler froze.

I will await your analysis Red-Ray before doing anything.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-13-2017, 01:15 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911447
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Where is [USB Bus]?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
I will await your analysis Red-Ray before doing anything.
I need to check what this reports.

Further next time the cooler freezes from Device Manager Disable then Enable it and see if that get's it working again.

BTW .PNG gives sharper/crisper images then .JPG.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-13-2017, 04:17 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911465
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I need to check what this reports.

Further next time the cooler freezes from Device Manager Disable then Enable it and see if that get's it working again.

BTW .PNG gives sharper/crisper images then .JPG.
Ok thanks red-ray I will try Disabling/Enabling again when it happens. It's happened 3 times today. Managed to play my game for 1 hr and then upon finishing Fan & Pump speed both reporting 0.

I have the Link Fans page on my 2nd screen all the time so I can see the RPM of the fans and pump. I know it's frozen when the "current" column doesn't report anything.

I did read the topic you linked in your 1st reply about another user who also had the cooler report 0 speeds, but I see that fix is already implemented in SIV by default now "-AIO-POWER=15:15".

I'm really wanting to persevere & get the cooler working with SIV as I'm liking the fact I use little to no CPU power and my CPU speed sits between 800-1.2ghz idling.

I will also upload screenshots in .PNG format from now, I was aware it provides better quality images.

I won't get a chance to test the cooler out again until this coming Sunday Night so I will report back and try Disabling and Enabling the driver if it does crash.

Many thanks Red-Ray for your help so far.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-13-2017, 09:33 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911589
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Hi Red-Ray, I just wondered if you had, had time to analyze the screenshots and see where my problem might be coming from.

I'll be able to test the Driver Disable & Enable on Sunday night (that is of course if it freezes).

Many Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-15-2017, 06:16 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911749
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Please post [Link Test]

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
I just wondered if you had, had time to analyze the screenshots and see where my problem might be coming from.
I looked again at the screen shots, but still can't see what the issue might be. I find it quite tricky to figure out what could be causing issues when I don't have access to the system. With your issue what I would really like to see is the contents of the message that the H80iV2 sends to the PC and I just had an idea.

Please will you do Menu->Tools->Link Test when the system is working as it should and save that screen shot. The panel should run for about 40 seconds and look similar as below. When the cooler goes wonky repeat this before and after the disable/enable then post all three panels.

Quote:


If there is a Device I/O Error Messages Reported then it may be truncated so if it is copy and paste the full error message into the post (Right/Click of it, choose Select All then Copy).

The Transfer Test Limit should be 10,000 and if it's not use Menu->Tools->Configure->Link Setup to set it to 10,000 and press [Save].
Attached Images
File Type: png [Link Test] H80GT when OK.png (58.0 KB, 476 views)

Last edited by red-ray; 07-15-2017 at 06:20 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-15-2017, 05:29 PM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911810
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Thanks Red-Ray, I will report back this evening to you.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:23 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911853
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post
Thanks Red-Ray, I will report back this evening to you.

Thanks.
Hi Red-Ray,

I have just run the test, and it took 3 minutes 40 seconds and found an I/O Error, here is the error working normally.

"@ 23:18:24.850 seq 6F 5 = CreateFile( \\?\usb#vid_1b1c&pid_0c08#7289_2.0#{3c5e1462-5695-4e18-876b-f3f3d08aaf18} ) Access is denied."

Then here is the link test when it's frozen I/O error:
"@ 23:30:45.955 seq 66 2 = CreateFile( \\?\usb#vid_1b1c&pid_0c08#7289_2.0#{3c5e1462-5695-4e18-876b-f3f3d08aaf18} ) The system cannot find the file specified"

Then again an I/O error after disabling & re enabling the driver in Device Manager:
"@ 23:33:16.854 seq 91 5 = CreateFile( \\?\usb#vid_1b1c&pid_0c08#7289_2.0#{3c5e1462-5695-4e18-876b-f3f3d08aaf18} ) Access is denied"

And the screenshots attached for you to look at.

Thanks

Last edited by boeing253; 07-16-2017 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:24 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911855
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

I thought I had best post the first screenshot as the test took much longer than 40 seconds.
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:32 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 911856
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Do you have an old version of CL4 running?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing253 View Post


I thought I had best post the first screenshot as the test took much longer than 40 seconds.
Well done, something strange is happening. What does Menu->Help->Lock Handle report?

See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=892949

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
The Transfer Test Limit should be 10,000 and if it's not use Menu->Tools->Configure->Link Setup to set it to 10,000 and press [Save].
The Test Limit is also 100,000 rather than 10,000.

Last edited by red-ray; 07-16-2017 at 07:43 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:41 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911858
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
What does Menu->Help->Lock Handle report?

See http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?p=892949


The Test Limit is also 100,000 rather than 10,000.
Hi Red-Ray,

My apologies I've just edited my original post. I have V4.2.4.25, but it's set not to run unless I open it.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:44 AM
boeing253 boeing253 is offline
Registered User
boeing253's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 911860
boeing253 Reputation: 20
Default

Here is the SIV Lock Handle report screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: png SIV Lock Handle.png (100.9 KB, 300 views)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.