The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2018, 05:38 PM
Spudmeister Spudmeister is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 975301
Spudmeister Reputation: 10
Default HS70 Mic level so low it's unusable

Just got the HS70 after reading/watching great reviews of it online. The sound quality of the speakers is fine, the features are fine, but the output level of the mic is so low that the headset is pretty much unusable. I have all the mic levels (win/icue/discord) maxed out, but still I people can barely make out what I'm saying over Discord. Even recordings on the Windows Voice Recorder are really low on volume. No amount of adjusting really solves the problem, neither from the software or the actual mic.

Is there anything that can be done, other than try to get my money back?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-05-2018, 06:29 PM
Corsair StormShadow's Avatar
Corsair StormShadow Corsair StormShadow is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 564
POST ID # = 975307
Corsair StormShadow Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spudmeister View Post
Just got the HS70 after reading/watching great reviews of it online. The sound quality of the speakers is fine, the features are fine, but the output level of the mic is so low that the headset is pretty much unusable. I have all the mic levels (win/icue/discord) maxed out, but still I people can barely make out what I'm saying over Discord. Even recordings on the Windows Voice Recorder are really low on volume. No amount of adjusting really solves the problem, neither from the software or the actual mic.

Is there anything that can be done, other than try to get my money back?
Do you happen to have any other sound management software installed? i.e: Realtek Audio Manager? If so, try uninstall it and see if it makes a difference. Another thing you can try is to do a firmware flash on the headset via iCUE. (Setting > Select the device > Update)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-06-2018, 08:26 AM
Spudmeister Spudmeister is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 975349
Spudmeister Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair StormShadow View Post
Do you happen to have any other sound management software installed? i.e: Realtek Audio Manager? If so, try uninstall it and see if it makes a difference. Another thing you can try is to do a firmware flash on the headset via iCUE. (Setting > Select the device > Update)
No additional sound managers installed. Also, firmware flash doesn't change anything. If I record the misc, the sound quality of is pretty ok (for a cheap headset), but it's just really really quiet, so I'm willing to guess there might not be anything physically wrong with the mic, just the gain gets cut to minus one billion decibels...
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-08-2018, 05:42 PM
Corsair Mint's Avatar
Corsair Mint Corsair Mint is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 857
POST ID # = 975604
Corsair Mint Reputation: 31
Default

Interesting. Can you see if the headset has the same microphone levels on another computer as well? Curious to see if something may be interfering with the headset's microphone levels.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-09-2018, 04:11 PM
Spudmeister Spudmeister is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 975769
Spudmeister Reputation: 10
Default

I found a solution, from a another thread. It's a program called Equilizer APO, and I used it to set the preamp gain to +17dB, I think it was at -6dB. It has to be something in Windows that set the gain to -6dB, as this is a brand spanking new computer, with no additional sound managers or anything like that.

Maybe you can add a line of code to the HS70 drivers that automatically sets the gain to at least a positive setting?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-10-2018, 12:45 PM
pimpingootch pimpingootch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 975889
pimpingootch Reputation: 10
Default

I'm having the same issues with my HS70 headset. The sound is super low and my friends commented from Day 1 since i have had this headset.

There are no options under sounds to increase levels or to microphone boost. Windows, Discord and iCUE levels are all at max. We are left to increase the mic boost with 3rd party software which shouldnt be the case. Why is there no microphone boost within the iCUE software or ways to control the dB levels to adjust.

THis sucks.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-01-2019, 02:08 AM
dmoticon dmoticon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 987755
dmoticon Reputation: 10
Default

I'm also having issues with my HS70 mic being so quiet it's worthless. I don't have any third party sound management installed. Running Windows 10. Corsair, I think enough people are having this issue that you should start taking it more seriously. We shouldn't have to download a third party program to fix this...
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-13-2019, 05:22 AM
Topah Topah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 989597
Topah Reputation: 10
Default

Having the same issue here also. Not good for Corsair brand. Had their products past 15 years because easy of use and reliability. First time asking for help. My future with them depends now on the support.

I updated the firmware first and then the whole headset died. Did the reset (5 seconds dongle with a pin) and now got the headset working but the microphone is still useless. Brand new from the shop.

Please fix these issues as soon as possible Corsair. I tried in 4 computers so far. Should not waste valuable time with simple thing like this. Windows 7 and Windows 10 same issue.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-13-2019, 09:24 AM
crack_monkey's Avatar
crack_monkey crack_monkey is offline
Registered User
crack_monkey's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Germany, lower sachsony
Posts: 110
POST ID # = 989631
crack_monkey Reputation: 10
Send a message via ICQ to crack_monkey
Default

Nothing new on that no comment from Corsair?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-02-2019, 02:02 PM
Outofblues Outofblues is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 996136
Outofblues Reputation: 10
Default

Having the same issue here. Worse is that I can't get the Equalizer APO software to install to my HS60 headset/Mic. Anyone have any other suggestions besides APO?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-09-2019, 09:22 AM
Ajarn Spencer Ajarn Spencer is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1017487
Ajarn Spencer Reputation: 10
Default

i Just bought a pair and im seinding it back to JIB Thailand tomorrow as volume on highest level is quieter than a mouse letting of gas. Worst headphones i ever had, and so quiet even a rabbit couldnt hear anything with them on
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-09-2019, 07:15 PM
Corsair Notepad Corsair Notepad is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Notepad's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 306
POST ID # = 1017564
Corsair Notepad Reputation: 10
Default

You also need to make sure you have the volumes appropriately set in the Windows Sound Mixer
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.