The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2017, 06:53 PM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888065
czonin Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance LED Lighting Issues on Z270

I've seen a couple other threads talking about issues with the lighting controls on Vengeance LED memory on X99 boards but haven't found much on support for Z270. Right now i'm using 2x 8GB sticks on my ASUS Z270E and can only control one of the sticks lighting, with the other stick just always being off. Anyone know if there will be an update to support the new platform?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-23-2017, 07:18 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888068
red-ray Reputation: 81
Default

I suspect the Z270 PCH SMbus runs at 100KHz rather than the 356KHz the IMC SMBuses run at on X99 systems so suspect there is a chance is will work, but I don't know why there are all the issues on Z170 so don't really know.

If you dump the SMBus what get's reported when compared to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show....php?p=874699? Post a screen shot and I suspect I could comment further.

Last edited by red-ray; 02-27-2017 at 11:03 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-23-2017, 09:02 PM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888077
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
I suspect the X270 PCH SMbus runs at 100KHz rather than the 356KHz the IMC SMBuses run at on X99 systems so suspect there is a chance is will work, but I don't know why there are all the issues on Z170 so don't really know.

If you dump the SMBus what get's reported when compared to http://forum.corsair.com/forums/show....php?p=874699? Post a screen shot and I suspect I could comment further.
Thanks for the quick reply! Is this what you're looking for?
Attached Images
File Type: png smbbus.PNG (37.8 KB, 2250 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-24-2017, 04:49 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888096
red-ray Reputation: 81
Question Do [ 0_59 ] + [ 0_5B ] show all 256 (0x100) bytes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
Is this what you're looking for?
Yes, SIV read the first 16 bytes OK so I think the hardware is working. If you press [ 0_59 ] + [ 0_5B ] does SIV show all 256 (0x100) bytes? Assuming it does then I see no reason as to why CL4 can't control both sets of DIMM LEDs. If the Corsair documentation specified the LED control registers it would take me less then an hour to get SIV to control them.

I think offset 1 may be the firmware revision so your DIMMs may have later firmware. This is also the reason SIV 5.15 did not report DDR4 LED and SIV 5.16 Beta-01 (do Menu->File->Download->SIV Beta to get it) and later should.

Please will you post the SIV initial + [Status] screens so I can see how well SIV reports your motherboard?

Quote:


Last edited by red-ray; 01-24-2017 at 05:38 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-24-2017, 09:35 AM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888127
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Yes, SIV read the first 16 bytes OK so I think the hardware is working. If you press [ 0_59 ] + [ 0_5B ] does SIV show all 256 (0x100) bytes? Assuming it does then I see no reason as to why CL4 can't control both sets of DIMM LEDs. If the Corsair documentation specified the LED control registers it would take me less then an hour to get SIV to control them.

I think offset 1 may be the firmware revision so your DIMMs may have later firmware. This is also the reason SIV 5.15 did not report DDR4 LED and SIV 5.16 Beta-01 (do Menu->File->Download->SIV Beta to get it) and later should.

Please will you post the SIV initial + [Status] screens so I can see how well SIV reports your motherboard?
Attached are all of the screens.
Attached Images
File Type: png 0_5B.PNG (22.1 KB, 812 views)
File Type: png 0_59.PNG (21.1 KB, 114 views)
File Type: png initial.PNG (65.7 KB, 939 views)
File Type: png status.PNG (107.6 KB, 2175 views)
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 01-24-2017, 10:30 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888129
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. I suspect CAM was running

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
Attached are all of the screens.
Looking at the full DIMM LED dumps, then SIV had no issues at all interacting with them. If Corsair would provide me with the datasheet I suspect I would have SIV controlling them later today!

I am pretty sure that the Z270 support is as good as the Z170 support and maybe one day Corsair will fix CL4 for both .

SIV reported the Z270E as well as I hoped it would and I suspect rather better than CL 4.3.0.154 does.

I guess CAM was running which is why SIV did not report values for the Kraken, which model is it please? Were you to exit CAM SIV may do better, if not then I would need you to do SIV64X -DBGAIO and post SIV_DBGOUT.log to give me a chance of fixing this.

Last edited by red-ray; 01-25-2017 at 06:31 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:32 AM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888141
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Looking at the full DIMM LED dumps, then SIV had no issues at all interacting with them. If Corsair would provide me with the datasheet I suspect I would have SIV controlling them later today!

I am pretty sure that the Z270 support is as good as the Z170 support and maybe one day Corsair will fix CL4 for both .

SIV reported the Z270E as well as I hoped it would and I suspect rather better than CL 4.2.0.154 does.

I guess CAM was running which is why SIV did not report values for the Kraken, which model is it please? Were you to exit CAM SIV may do better, if not then I would need you to do SIV64X -DBGAIO and post SIV_DBGOUT.log to give me a chance of fixing this.
That would be great if you could get it working! Thanks again for the help. CAM is running for my X52. How would I get the SIV_DBGOUT.log?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:37 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888142
red-ray Reputation: 81
Oops Incorrect GPU fan speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
I have just noticed SIV is reporting impossible GPU fan speeds (~8,000,000 RPM ) for your GTX 980 Ti. Which driver version do you have installed (see top of Menu->Machine->GPU Info). I suspect this is down to a bug in the NVidia driver and all utilities will report silly speeds, does CL4 report the same speed as SIV?

I have just installed V378.49 (r378_48) on this W7 system and all my GTX 980s report as expected as do the GTX 680s on another W7 system.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:47 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888146
red-ray Reputation: 81
Arrow First you MUST exit CAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
CAM is running for my X52. How would I get the SIV_DBGOUT.log?
First you MUST exit CAM and then issue the command:

SIV64X -DBGAIO > SIV_DBGOUT.log | MORE

After SIV has been running for 10 seconds exit it and send me the generated SIV_DBGOUT.log file.

Quote:
NZXT keep saying they will send me an X52, but as yet one has not arrived
Attached Images
File Type: png SIV64X -DBGAIO.png (20.2 KB, 2116 views)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:57 AM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888148
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
First you MUST exit CAM and then issue the command:

SIV64X -DBGAIO > SIV_DBGOUT.log | MORE

After SIV has been running for 10 seconds exit it and send me the generated SIV_DBGOUT.log file.



NZXT keep saying they will send me an X52, but as yet one has not arrived
The 980ti fan speed might be due to me having a Corsair H55 hooked up to it.

Attached is the log. I had to zip it since the forums wouldn't let me upload the log for some reason.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SIV_DBGOUT.zip (792 Bytes, 64 views)
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:18 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888149
red-ray Reputation: 81
Oops What fan speed does CAM or CL4 report for it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
The 980ti fan speed might be due to me having a Corsair H55 hooked up to it.
Maybe, but what fan speed does CAM or CL4 report for it and which NVidia driver version do you have. I have just installed V378.49 (r378_48) on my W10 RS2 Build 15014 system and all 3 x GTX 680 are as they should be.

Quote:
Kraken @ 10:52:40.304 seq 02 ->
Kraken @ 10:52:40.372 seq 02 1784 = WriteFile( 000000000000047C, 0000000001FEB530, 0 ) The supplied user buffer is not valid for the requested operation.
Thank you. Oops, SIV is trying to write zero bytes rather than skipping the write operation . Beta-03 may do better, watch this space...
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 01-24-2017, 12:40 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888152
red-ray Reputation: 81
Idea Please try the attached

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Beta-03 may do better, watch this space...
Rather than releasing Beta-03 I felt a test version would be appropriate.

Please drop the attached NZXT-03 test version over the top of the Beta-02 and generate a new SIV_DBGOUT.log and post Menu->Tools->Link Status.

Last edited by red-ray; 01-24-2017 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Remove test SIV
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 01-24-2017, 01:19 PM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888161
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Rather than releasing Beta-03 I felt a test version would be appropriate.

Please drop the attached NZXT-03 test version over the top of the Beta-02 and generate a new SIV_DBGOUT.log and post Menu->Tools->Link Status.
I have the fan set to a constant 85% through afterburner, i'll double check on the RPM.

Attached is the new log and link status.
Attached Images
File Type: png link_status.PNG (14.9 KB, 2091 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip SIV_DBGOUT.zip (723 Bytes, 64 views)
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 01-24-2017, 01:35 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 888163
red-ray Reputation: 81
Excited Wow it worked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by czonin View Post
Thank you. Wow it worked! I suspected it might take a couple more attempts, but all the tricky bits just worked . If you hover the mouse over NZXT USB Cooler Device (#0) what does the tool tip report? With luck the bridge firmware Revision should be there.

How do the values compare to what CAM reports please?

I will tidy up a few things and probably release Beta-03 within 24 hours.

Last edited by red-ray; 01-24-2017 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 01-24-2017, 01:44 PM
czonin czonin is offline
Registered User
czonin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 888164
czonin Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
Thank you. Wow it worked! I suspected it might take a couple more attempts, but all the tricky bits just worked . If you hover the mouse over NZXT USB Cooler Device (#0) what does the tool tip report? With link the bridge firmware Revision should be there.

How do the values compare to what CAM reports please?

I will tidy up a few things and probably release Beta-03 within 24 hours.
The values seem to be the same as in CAM.

Attached is the tool tip from SIV.
Attached Images
File Type: png tooltip.PNG (40.8 KB, 846 views)

Last edited by czonin; 01-24-2017 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.