The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2012, 04:04 AM
fabzster fabzster is offline
Registered User
fabzster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 603744
fabzster Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to fabzster
Exclamation Neutron GTX 240 GB Speed Problem

Hi

I just purchased the above mention drive, I installed WIN 8 on it and then decided to go back to WIN 7. when installing WIN7 I decided to format from within the WIN 7 setup.

Everything is up and running, but When using ATTO my speeds dont seem to be on par with what the drive is capable of. I was getting around 250 Mb/sec Write and 350 Mb/sec Read using the following settings:
  • Transfer Size: 1024.0
  • Overlapped I/O
  • Que Depth: 4
  • Total Length: 256 Mb

My motherboard is a Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4 with the Latest F6 BIOS, the drive is plugged into one of the SATA3 GSATA ports and AHCI has been set on this controller before WIN 7 Install.

I would love to know what to check or try to get this drive to perform like it should, as currently I am not really that impressed with it and I paid a premium for it.

Is there also a way to verify that the drive is using SATA3 (I would suppose it is indicated in the speed) ? and ACHI is functioning properly?

What should I do?

I would really appreciate the assistance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-21-2012, 04:52 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 603745
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Is it in one of the Intel SATA III ports? SATA3_0, SATA3_1
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-21-2012, 05:17 AM
fabzster fabzster is offline
Registered User
fabzster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 603748
fabzster Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to fabzster
Default

Many thanks for the reply,

Nope. I think that these GSATA3_6 and GSATA3_7 ports are the Marvell 88SE9172 ports

The Intel ones are the SATA3_0 and SATA3_1

I have added a pic :)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CropperCapture[47].jpg (10.6 KB, 295 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-21-2012, 06:06 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 603761
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

I think Wired means is the SSD plugged into the Intel SATA III 6.0Gb/s SATA Port?

Which is labelled SATA3_0 and SATA3_1.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-21-2012, 07:29 AM
fabzster fabzster is offline
Registered User
fabzster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 603779
fabzster Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to fabzster
Default

LOL

Yeah thats what I was replying to...

the answer is no its plugged into the marvell SATA controller
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-21-2012, 07:36 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 603780
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Plug the drive into the Intel SATA III 6.0Gb/s SATA port.

This should give you the performance you want to see and reliability.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-21-2012, 08:02 AM
fabzster fabzster is offline
Registered User
fabzster's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 603784
fabzster Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to fabzster
Default

Kewl, will give it a bash and let u guy's know
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-24-2012, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 604308
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We test all our SSDs on an Intel Controller. The Marvell Controllers are usually slower than the native controller so wipe the drive clean, and run your tests again on the Intel port.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 10-01-2012 at 01:11 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-02-2013, 02:24 PM
..AlLkNoWinG.. ..AlLkNoWinG.. is offline
..AlLkNoWinG..
..AlLkNoWinG..'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 41
POST ID # = 650505
..AlLkNoWinG.. Reputation: 10
Default

Ram Guy is correct. Marvell, ASMedia controllers give a much lower performance #'s vs. Intel Chipset.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:33 PM
mik101 mik101 is offline
Registered User
mik101's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 651570
mik101 Reputation: 10
Default

Even on the Intel controller the 120GB GTX I have shows the same quirk at various queue depths, and it's always with 1024kb transfer sizes, all the ones around it are fine. It makes for some interesting ATTO graphs on occasion. I suspect the firmware just isn't optimized for that transfer size. (Just like those below 4K)

Edit: On the new M310 firmware 1024kb transfers are fixed for me. Use the new SSD Tool to update your drives firmware and give it another try.

Last edited by mik101; 05-07-2013 at 12:30 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.