The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2015, 08:34 AM
michaelKire michaelKire is offline
Registered User
michaelKire's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 821450
michaelKire Reputation: 10
Default "No device detected" bug when resuming pc or locking pc

Whenever you lock your screen and unlock it again, or resuming the pc from standby, there a warning that pops up saying that the device is not detected. Even if the CUE program is only in the taskbar and no open in a window.

Also When you lock the screen, the keyboard loses the lighting settings too.

Although, the warning dissapears after a couple of seconds though

I'm using:
Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent in a USB3 hub in my screen. (only main usb cable connected)
Windows 10
latest CUE and firmware: 1.12.75 and (1.33 firmware / 0.14 bootloader)
z97 pro wifi-ac
i7 4790K
2x GTX 970 SLI
Intel SSD
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-22-2015, 10:52 PM
Elestriel's Avatar
Elestriel Elestriel is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Elestriel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 389
POST ID # = 821590
Elestriel Reputation: 43
Default

This is known and won't be fixed. It has to do with the way Windows handles USB devices.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 11-23-2015, 02:52 AM
Dave115 Dave115 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 821624
Dave115 Reputation: 10
Default

Just to add on as it's related - if I move the mouse (Sabre Optical) while the "no device detected" popup is displayed my profile (all buttons remapped) doesn't load properly. Need to remember to not touch anything before it's finished doing whatever it's doing. Surely not intentional, when it happens even manually changing profiles doesn't help, have to put computer to sleep and wake it up again to fix it.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-24-2015, 02:19 PM
freigeist freigeist is offline
Registered User
freigeist's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 821908
freigeist Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elestriel View Post
This is known and won't be fixed. It has to do with the way Windows handles USB devices.
Could at least add an option to hide that message right? It would be more comfortable not to have to click it away everytime.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-24-2015, 02:31 PM
Elestriel's Avatar
Elestriel Elestriel is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Elestriel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 389
POST ID # = 821910
Elestriel Reputation: 43
Default

I've found that if you just ignore it for a while (five to ten seconds) it'll close itself.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-15-2015, 02:01 PM
BinaryJay BinaryJay is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 825780
BinaryJay Reputation: 10
Default

I recently bought a K70 RGB and this immediately struck me as lazy and bizarre behavior. I'm a software developer and this kind of thing drives me crazy.

Just add an option to disable this alert if they don't want to take the time to properly put in some delay on the detection around sleep/wake cycles. There is no need for it to be a pop up window, a change of the tray icon showing the connected state of the device would be fine. Yes it disappears itself once the keyboard has been reinitialized and CUE finally realizes it but it's a sloppy looking error that means nothing in this situation.

Also, if the profile is in the keyboard memory it should automatically boot the keyboard to that profile when the keyboard is powered on regardless of whether CUE is running or not - in other words it should apply your profile from boot up or when using the keyboard with any device even if you're not running CUE.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-16-2015, 12:42 PM
Elestriel's Avatar
Elestriel Elestriel is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Elestriel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 389
POST ID # = 825911
Elestriel Reputation: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BinaryJay View Post
Also, if the profile is in the keyboard memory it should automatically boot the keyboard to that profile when the keyboard is powered on regardless of whether CUE is running or not - in other words it should apply your profile from boot up or when using the keyboard with any device even if you're not running CUE.
This should already happen. The moment I turn on my PC and POST initializes my keyboard, it displays the on-board profile.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-17-2015, 11:57 AM
theace theace is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 826083
theace Reputation: 10
Default

Question: when my PC is booting up, my K70 will be pitch black until Windows loads and the CEU program is running. Is that normal for I thought having a profile on the device's memory was meant to use a default profile when the program is off? I too get the same annoying error message of No Detection.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-17-2015, 09:58 PM
jebuchanan jebuchanan is offline
Registered User
jebuchanan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 826170
jebuchanan Reputation: 10
Default

Everybody's CUE is going to behave the same way. Most people realize Windows needs to reload everything before the computer is fully functional again, and therefore are willing to wait the extra 5 seconds for this to happen. There is no reason to complain about something Windows related to another hardware company.
I do agree, however, with BinaryJay's second paragraph. I've seen his suggestion implemented with other peripheral. There is no reason why Corsair couldn't do the same. This would have the effect of resolving the issue completely.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-28-2015, 06:52 PM
ElfDestruct ElfDestruct is offline
Registered User
ElfDestruct's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 827981
ElfDestruct Reputation: 10
Default

While we're waiting for Corsair to fix this (and Please fix this. There's no reason to show an error message during what is defined as normal usage), I've been using a little AutoHotkey script to dismiss the "No device detected" message after an unlock for my new Christmas present Scimitar.

I created a shortcut to the script in C:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup and it does an okay job of dismissing the dialog; it is usually fast enough that you don't even see anything, but at worst the message will flash on the screen for a fraction of a second.

It only closes the first dialog shown by CUE within 10 seconds of unlocking your session, in order to avoid interfering with other parts of the program like update checks, etc.

Code:
#NoEnv ; Recommended for performance and compatibility with future AutoHotkey releases.
; #Warn ; Enable warnings to assist with detecting common errors.
SendMode Input ; Recommended for new scripts due to its superior speed and reliability.
SetWorkingDir %A_ScriptDir% ; Ensures a consistent starting directory.

; CloseCUEDialog.ahk
; Auto-close Corsair Utility Engine "No device detected" dialog when unlocking Windows 10

wait_timeout := 10 ; increase this number from 10 (seconds) if the popup appears very slowly on your system

#SingleInstance force

OnExit UnRegister 

Gui +LastFound
hwnd := WinExist()

DllCall("Wtsapi32.dll\WTSRegisterSessionNotification", "uint", hwnd, "uint", 0)
OnMessage(0x02B1, "sessionChange")
return

sessionChange(wparam, lparam, msg, hwnd)
{
    global wait_timeout

    if (wparam = 8) ; WTS_SESSION_UNLOCK 0x8
    {
        WinWait MessageDialog ahk_class Qt5QWindowIcon ahk_exe CorsairHID.exe, , wait_timeout 
        if !ErrorLevel {
	    WinClose
            ; MsgBox, session change, code: %wparam%, dialog was closed.
        }
    }
}

Unregister:
DllCall("Wtsapi32.dll\WTSUnRegisterSessionNotification", "uint", hwnd)
ExitApp
return
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bug

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.