The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2018, 07:46 PM
tr1bulat1ons tr1bulat1ons is offline
Registered User
tr1bulat1ons's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 972369
tr1bulat1ons Reputation: 10
Default Are my HD120 LED's shot?

Hello!

I have 6 HD120 fans and 4 lighting strips plugged into the node pro.

When adjusting presets through iCue one of the fans will get locked up and stuck on one setting (typically rainbow). If I wake the pc from sleep it gets locked up again. I have updated all of my firmware on the devices as well as uninstalling and reinstalling iCue. The issue started occurring the same day I setup my K70 Mk2, not sure if that has anything to do with the issue.

I've replaced the fan hub with my spare, and the same thing happens. Not sure what else to try (if anything). I'm thinking my leds might be messed up.

I attached a picture of the fan with all red instant lighting to show whats up. I've got a video too, but not sure how to post it here.

Thanks for any help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg image1.jpeg (1.69 MB, 94 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:01 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,230
POST ID # = 972372
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Which port on the RGB hub is the rainbow fan connected to? You could try a swap it to a different port to see, although since you have already switched the hub, a bad port seems unlikely. However, it might reveal an iCUE reconfiguration (# of fans, type of fans, etc). If the lighting power wire to the RGB hub was bad, I would expect darkness. So perhaps back to the software to double check.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:06 PM
tr1bulat1ons tr1bulat1ons is offline
Registered User
tr1bulat1ons's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 972373
tr1bulat1ons Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply!

It's currently in the 6th slot on the hub. Ive swapped it between 4,5,6 and it seems to make the other fans lock up. Say if I unplug #4 then the other two wont light up. If I plug the issue fan into the 4th slot then 2 fans will act up. Without that fan in the group I don't have any issues. All 6 show up in iCue and act like nothings wrong.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-11-2018, 08:43 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,230
POST ID # = 972375
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The fans run in series so based on the above, it seems something in that fan has gone wrong. Contact Corsair tech support to see about the viability of a replacement.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fan, hd120, led, rgb, stuck

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.