The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2017, 04:09 PM
JanB JanB is offline
Registered User
JanB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 917910
JanB Reputation: 10
Default H110i GT + Ryzen = System crash

Hello there,
so I recently upgraded to a Ryzen 1700X with an Asus Strix X370-f Gaming motherboard.
I experience random system crashes whenever I connect the usb cable from the corsair cooler to my motherboard.
I tried for a week without this connection and I did not have any system crashes/blackscreens.
I tried connecting it again today and the system crashed/had a black screen within 3 minutes. I couldn't even restart the pc with the power button.
I'm not sure if this is a problem with the Link software or with the cooler itself, however without this software, the connection wouldn't be necessary.
Is this a known problem / does anyone know how to fix this?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-28-2017, 08:58 PM
Corsair Blake Corsair Blake is offline
Banned
Corsair Blake's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 300
POST ID # = 917951
Corsair Blake Reputation: 14
Default

Are you sure you've installed the USB cable into the correct header? Can you please confirm?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-29-2017, 09:22 AM
JanB JanB is offline
Registered User
JanB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 918033
JanB Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, it is the right connector.
It is the only internal USB2 header on this motherboard and it is working fine if connected with my front panel. I even did a fresh install of Windows after experiencing this, as I thought something must have gone wrong. Unfortunately these crashes still happen.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-31-2017, 07:29 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 918345
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

Do you have a mini usb cable from an oldish camera or something (most new phones etc use micro usb) that you can connect to the pump housing and run to an external usb socket as a test?
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-31-2017, 02:07 PM
JanB JanB is offline
Registered User
JanB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 918469
JanB Reputation: 10
Default

I may have one somewhere. I will test it as soon as I can, but I'm on vacation the next to weeks, so I won't be able to test it now.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-08-2017, 03:52 AM
tklami tklami is offline
Registered User
tklami's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 919328
tklami Reputation: 10
Default

If you are getting random black screens and no input to other devices, then we have the same problem. Most of the time I have to cut power on the psu to turn it off. Try uninstalling link to see if that helps. That at least helped for me. So for now I am running my PC without link.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-08-2017, 10:00 AM
snapper69 snapper69 is offline
Registered User
snapper69's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,771
POST ID # = 919348
snapper69 Reputation: 32
Default

You could try using SIV. It is mentioned on here quite a bit and I use it, as I was having problems with Link.

Last edited by snapper69; 09-08-2017 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 04-04-2018, 05:24 PM
headpool182 headpool182 is offline
Registered User
headpool182's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 948629
headpool182 Reputation: 10
Default

Just wondering if anyone ever found a permanent fix to this?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 04-04-2018, 05:47 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,505
POST ID # = 948631
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

I don't know that this is even an issue any longer. Are you having an issue? If so, it's probably better to start a new thread and describe what you are experiencing rather than resurrecting a thread that was last accessed over 6 months ago. We've had quite a few releases since then and I've not heard of issues like this for quite some time.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
black screen, crash, h110i gt, ryzen, x370

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.