The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2016, 08:45 AM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 833869
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default Macro problem

Hello... its been a month and a half that i purchased the corsair strafe RGB keyboard but since then the macros aren't working at all... I started with a simple one like assigning to F4 key the quit program keystroke ( Alt + F4 ) but even this doesn't work... i have tried reinstalling the program more than ten times. ( launching programs and media keys reassignment works ) Literally i don't know what else to try... yesterday for some unknown reason the macros started to work ( i pressed by accident the F4 and the window that i had open closed ) but after i restarted my computer i had the same result... no macros are working.

[Also when i press a macro key the program crashes, if i double click it to open it doesn't start and i need to terminate it from the task manager and reopen it to work again. ]

Any suggestions would be appreciated !!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-29-2016, 04:18 PM
terabyte's Avatar
terabyte terabyte is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
terabyte's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,360
POST ID # = 833949
terabyte Reputation: 73
Default

Try running again the CUE installer (leaving CUE installed) and choose the repair option. Does it fix it?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-29-2016, 04:25 PM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 833950
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default

no unfortunately no... today it started to work again at some random time of the day... i heard the sound of a usb connect/disconnect and then it started to work again... what can it be ? i tried different usb slots and i have plugged both usbs at usb 3.0 ports... i am afraid that if i restart again my computer it will stop working again :(

Also this is a picture from device manager when the macros on keyboard doesn't work. Is this normal ? Shouldn't be the name of the keyboard in one of those two ? Can anyone upload a screenshot of his device manager with a corsair keyboard on ?
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (1.9 KB, 215 views)

Last edited by TerrorBlade; 01-30-2016 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-01-2016, 05:34 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 834336
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

You should be seeing something like "Corsair virtual composite device..."/something similar in Device Manager. if you do not see that in any of the trees, it's probably the reason why the macros are not working.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-01-2016, 06:04 AM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 834347
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default

It seems that i fixed the problem. ( at least for now ) it has been 2 days in a row that everything works fine. For anyone in future that might have the same problem this is what i did:

1) Unplugged keyboard
2) uninstalled corsair CUE
3) uninstalled any remaining drivers left under keyboards tree in device manager
4) restarted computer
5) installed corsair CUE
6) plugged in the keyboard and waited to be recognized by the software

in my case i believe there was a conflict between my previous keyboard drivers and my new drivers. I thought that uninstalling the old program would leave any (old ) drivers. I was wrong. Thanks for everyone that helped!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-27-2016, 06:32 AM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 839543
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
You should be seeing something like "Corsair virtual composite device..."/something similar in Device Manager. if you do not see that in any of the trees, it's probably the reason why the macros are not working.

This is what i am getting and despite my efforts i can't seem to be able to fix it...
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (36.2 KB, 162 views)
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-27-2016, 06:30 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,308
POST ID # = 839643
Inheritance Reputation: 70
Default

did you do a clean windows 10 install or a upgrade?
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-28-2016, 05:33 AM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 839697
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default

Clean install.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-29-2016, 02:48 PM
TerrorBlade TerrorBlade is offline
Registered User
TerrorBlade's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 839902
TerrorBlade Reputation: 10
Default

I found what was blocking the drivers from starting... Viber for windows... when i terminated it's process immediately keyboard started to work.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-29-2016, 03:00 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 839906
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TerrorBlade View Post
I found what was blocking the drivers from starting... Viber for windows... when i terminated it's process immediately keyboard started to work.
Viber? Let me follow up and see if I can reproduce this in the labs.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
crash, cue, macros not working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.