The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 72 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 09-25-2014, 02:52 AM
MesaMitch MesaMitch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 730127
MesaMitch Reputation: 10
Default Same issue here too?

yup every single time i try to launch steam my keyboard just gets stuck.
i just flicked that back switch all the way to the left then all the way back to the right and in about a minute or so it will go back to normal


i am also getting a bug where i can only go to my profiles to edit my lighting and etc every so often if i unplug the keyboard and plug it back in it starts working again

just got my cherry mx brown k70 rgb today


  #17  
Old 09-25-2014, 10:03 AM
SouthernZax SouthernZax is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 730174
SouthernZax Reputation: 10
Default

I am getting the same problem but my keyboard also randomly crashes on its own, I have to switch the switch on the back forward and back to its original position and then it reboots and crashes a few minutes later again, i have reinstalled all the software, my firmware is up to date, I have restarted my comptuer, I have tried different ports ETC..

This is really annoying ;-; I LOVE this keyboard but Corsair what is going on?! Is there anything I can do to help in the bug finding process for solving this? because I gladly would..


  #18  
Old 10-13-2014, 06:29 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 735267
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default CUE Software + Steam

Hi all,

Resolving issues with CUE has been our highest priority since launch and while we have resolved many issues, there are still some that we have to continue to work on. We've been seeing issues with a very small number of users who are experiencing problems with the Steam application.

One of our users suggested a fix here: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=133370

Another suggested temporary fix is to start the CUE software after starting up Steam as it was noted that Steam's hardware check on startup causes CUE to malfunction.

If you continue to have an issue with both CUE and steam despite the suggested solutions above, we'd like to know more about your system.

If your Steam Application only causes a malfunction in the CUE software, please list the following:
a.) Your system hardware and if chipset drivers/BIOS are both updated to the latest versions.
b.) Device Logs by going to SETTINGS -> Support -> View Logs (attach it to your post)
c.) When and how it occurs (what game? did it malfunction mid game or when Steam is on?)
If your Steam Application causes CUE to crash/stop responding:

Everything above + d.) Windows Dump File (attach it to the post as well).
HOW TO: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...=vs.85%29.aspx

You'll need to create a "Dump Folder" to retrieve the file from the Windows Error Reporting. For the output of the dump files, create a folder under Local Dumps (I named mine CorsairHID) and then create the necessary files in the from the link. The directory should be a Expendable String Value (right click the folder and then select new -> Expendable String value). Name it "DumpFolder." I selected the folder I made on the desktop for the destination.

DumpCount and DumpType are DWORD (right click folder -> New -> DWORD (32bit) value. Make sure its under the decimal setting with value 10 and 1 respectively. I have attached a screenshot below to help show how it looks.


This thread will keep all the information in one place for easy tracking so our Software Team can refer to it for additional information.

Thanks everyone for assisting with this issue.
Attached Images
File Type: png ErrorReporting.PNG (20.9 KB, 7616 views)

Last edited by Corsair James; 10-14-2014 at 12:18 AM.


  #19  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:58 PM
Flyman Flyman is offline
Registered User
Flyman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 24
POST ID # = 735316
Flyman Reputation: 10
Default

Starting CUE After Steam does seem to be a viable workaround, at least for me. CUE itself has been even more unstable for me since the update though. Consistent crashes anytime I switch modes within a profile. I'll post the latter bit in the main "update" thread.


  #20  
Old 10-13-2014, 10:41 PM
chrisgzy chrisgzy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 735326
chrisgzy Reputation: 10
Default

0035d854 76d4d18f 000007dc 00000000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!NtDeviceIoControlFile+0x15
0035d8b4 74f93217 000007dc 000b01be 00000000 KERNELBASE!DeviceIoControl+0xee
0035d8e0 66912874 000007dc 000b01be 00000000 kernel32!DeviceIoControlImplementation+0x80
0035d908 6fe91c1b 000007dc 0035e608 00000208 hid!HidD_GetProductString+0x22
0035d924 6fe93229 099b0290 0035e608 00000208 dinput8!fGetProductStringFromDevice+0x49
0035e5c4 6fe9291f 099b0290 0035e5e8 0035e5f8 dinput8!CHid_GetProperty+0x335
0035e864 6fe83dba 099b0290 0035e8c4 0658aa14 dinput8!CHid_GetDeviceInfo+0xce
0035e884 6fe9042f 063a5d58 0035e8c4 648eb3e0 dinput8!CDIDev_GetDeviceInfoW+0x77
0035e8a0 6fe8d06d 0658a9f8 0035e8c4 00000000 dinput8!CDIDEnum_Next+0x8c
0035ed14 648eb52d 06546b50 00000004 648eb3e0 dinput8!CDIObj_EnumDevicesW+0xe1
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
0035ed30 648ec2d1 0035ed84 00130500 70006810 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x7c1d
0035ed88 64961fcb 645f5e70 645f0101 00000000 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x89c1
0035ed9c 5500ce79 0035edfb 645f5e70 645f0101 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x7e6bb
0035edfc 5501b7da 7248b36c 00000000 645f5e70 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xed0f9
0035ee1c 55014dee 645f5e70 5501ffd0 0035f750 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xfba5a
0035f710 7000cce9 00000001 0035f6f0 00000000 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xf506e
0035f744 7000d806 0035f750 00000002 55014440 tier0_s!CValidator::GetNumSockets+0x2c9
0035f768 5501ffee 55014440 00000001 004d4c18 tier0_s!CatchAndWriteMiniDumpExReturnsInt+0x46
0035f780 01054699 00000001 004d4c18 010545c0 SteamUI!SteamDllMainEx+0x1e
0035f8c8 0105549d 00000001 004d4c18 0035f8a8 Steam!StartCheckingForUpdates+0x31f9
0035fb48 010649f9 00000001 004c8e00 011b1180 Steam!GetEUniverse+0x96d
0035fb6c 010cbd02 01030000 00000000 004a3449 Steam!GetEUniverse+0xfec9
0035fbb8 74f9336a 7efde000 0035fc04 77329f72 Steam!CreateInterface+0x62c22
0035fbc4 77329f72 7efde000 77ca1e0b 00000000 kernel32!BaseThreadInitThunk+0xe
0035fc04 77329f45 010cbbfb 7efde000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!__RtlUserThreadStart+0x70
0035fc1c 00000000 010cbbfb 7efde000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!_RtlUserThreadStart+0x1b

This is the call stack when the problem occurred for me. Pretty obvious what is going on here. Based on my previous RE, DeviceIoControl calls to the keyboard results in keyboard malfunctions if they are sent too fast. After this point, lighting is frozen and sometime the input will remain in its current state as well. It appears that there is no server end queuing implemented to handle these requests in the order that they are sent from user-mode.

To reproduce, tell your software guys to spam HidD_SetFeature with their typical packets and they'll see the same result.


  #21  
Old 10-14-2014, 12:21 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 735340
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgzy View Post
0035d854 76d4d18f 000007dc 00000000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!NtDeviceIoControlFile+0x15
0035d8b4 74f93217 000007dc 000b01be 00000000 KERNELBASE!DeviceIoControl+0xee
0035d8e0 66912874 000007dc 000b01be 00000000 kernel32!DeviceIoControlImplementation+0x80
0035d908 6fe91c1b 000007dc 0035e608 00000208 hid!HidD_GetProductString+0x22
0035d924 6fe93229 099b0290 0035e608 00000208 dinput8!fGetProductStringFromDevice+0x49
0035e5c4 6fe9291f 099b0290 0035e5e8 0035e5f8 dinput8!CHid_GetProperty+0x335
0035e864 6fe83dba 099b0290 0035e8c4 0658aa14 dinput8!CHid_GetDeviceInfo+0xce
0035e884 6fe9042f 063a5d58 0035e8c4 648eb3e0 dinput8!CDIDev_GetDeviceInfoW+0x77
0035e8a0 6fe8d06d 0658a9f8 0035e8c4 00000000 dinput8!CDIDEnum_Next+0x8c
0035ed14 648eb52d 06546b50 00000004 648eb3e0 dinput8!CDIObj_EnumDevicesW+0xe1
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
0035ed30 648ec2d1 0035ed84 00130500 70006810 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x7c1d
0035ed88 64961fcb 645f5e70 645f0101 00000000 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x89c1
0035ed9c 5500ce79 0035edfb 645f5e70 645f0101 SDL2!SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x7e6bb
0035edfc 5501b7da 7248b36c 00000000 645f5e70 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xed0f9
0035ee1c 55014dee 645f5e70 5501ffd0 0035f750 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xfba5a
0035f710 7000cce9 00000001 0035f6f0 00000000 SteamUI!XMLStringbuf_ToString+0xf506e
0035f744 7000d806 0035f750 00000002 55014440 tier0_s!CValidator::GetNumSockets+0x2c9
0035f768 5501ffee 55014440 00000001 004d4c18 tier0_s!CatchAndWriteMiniDumpExReturnsInt+0x46
0035f780 01054699 00000001 004d4c18 010545c0 SteamUI!SteamDllMainEx+0x1e
0035f8c8 0105549d 00000001 004d4c18 0035f8a8 Steam!StartCheckingForUpdates+0x31f9
0035fb48 010649f9 00000001 004c8e00 011b1180 Steam!GetEUniverse+0x96d
0035fb6c 010cbd02 01030000 00000000 004a3449 Steam!GetEUniverse+0xfec9
0035fbb8 74f9336a 7efde000 0035fc04 77329f72 Steam!CreateInterface+0x62c22
0035fbc4 77329f72 7efde000 77ca1e0b 00000000 kernel32!BaseThreadInitThunk+0xe
0035fc04 77329f45 010cbbfb 7efde000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!__RtlUserThreadStart+0x70
0035fc1c 00000000 010cbbfb 7efde000 00000000 ntdll_772f0000!_RtlUserThreadStart+0x1b

This is the call stack when the problem occurred for me. Pretty obvious what is going on here. Based on my previous RE, DeviceIoControl calls to the keyboard results in keyboard malfunctions if they are sent too fast. After this point, lighting is frozen and sometime the input will remain in its current state as well. It appears that there is no server end queuing implemented to handle these requests in the order that they are sent from user-mode.

To reproduce, tell your software guys to spam HidD_SetFeature with their typical packets and they'll see the same result.
This isn't happening to everyone though. We'd need to see what is causing the problem overall if your hypothesis is correct. Since most people don't have an issue with steam and its unrepeatable in the lab, we're going to need the complete picture of everything that is happening including your CUE logs. Judging from some of the resolutions we see, this could very well be a Steam issue (for example).


  #22  
Old 10-14-2014, 12:52 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 735346
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Anyone posting with issues, please fill in your system specifications in the dropdown menu as requested at registration. Include your BIOS version somewhere. We can't help you without this info.


  #23  
Old 10-14-2014, 08:22 PM
chrisgzy chrisgzy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 735567
chrisgzy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
This isn't happening to everyone though. We'd need to see what is causing the problem overall if your hypothesis is correct. Since most people don't have an issue with steam and its unrepeatable in the lab, we're going to need the complete picture of everything that is happening including your CUE logs. Judging from some of the resolutions we see, this could very well be a Steam issue (for example).
It's not Steam. It's DirectInput in this case which Steam just so happens to use (if it's turned on). Any other application that utilizes DirectInput will result in the same behavior if "CDIObj_EnumDevicesW" is called (probably in conjunction with other I/O to the keyboard simultaneously). Whether that "reproduces" the problem doesn't really matter, because HidD_SetFeature spamming should do it rather quickly.

Not sure if anyone from Corsair saw the Reddit thread, but I posted this: http://pastebin.com/LMuZivfe

Remove the "Sleep(200);" calls and after compilation it should reproduce the problem. If it does NOT, I am more than willing to send you any additional information you may need.


  #24  
Old 10-15-2014, 11:40 AM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,456
POST ID # = 735679
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgzy View Post
It's not Steam. It's DirectInput in this case which Steam just so happens to use (if it's turned on). Any other application that utilizes DirectInput will result in the same behavior if "CDIObj_EnumDevicesW" is called (probably in conjunction with other I/O to the keyboard simultaneously). Whether that "reproduces" the problem doesn't really matter, because HidD_SetFeature spamming should do it rather quickly.

Not sure if anyone from Corsair saw the Reddit thread, but I posted this: http://pastebin.com/LMuZivfe

Remove the "Sleep(200);" calls and after compilation it should reproduce the problem. If it does NOT, I am more than willing to send you any additional information you may need.
Great info, thanks. I'll get back to you.


  #25  
Old 10-15-2014, 10:06 PM
menendez1293 menendez1293 is offline
Registered User
menendez1293's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 735782
menendez1293 Reputation: 10
Default

a.) Your system hardware and if chipset drivers/BIOS are both updated to the latest versions.
CPU: i7-4790
MOBO: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1
RAM: 32GB of Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
GPU: EVGA GTX760 Dual SC
PSU: Corsair RM750
Keyboard: K70 RGB
Mouse Corsair M65

Chipset and BIOS are both current.

b.) Device Logs by going to SETTINGS -> Support -> View Logs (attach it to your post)
Logs will be attached below.


c.) When and how it occurs (what game? did it malfunction mid game or when Steam is on?)

It occurs when I start steam, it becomes unresponsive and only started to happen after the most recent update to the keyboard firmware and CUE software. The first time it happened to me was today, and I was attempting to play BioShock Infinite. It happened as soon as I started the game and steam, the game and CUE became unresponsive. I will say that as soon as I unplug the keyboard, steam functions just fine as well as Bioshock Infinite.



If your Steam Application causes CUE to crash/stop responding: Everything above + d.) Windows Dump File (attach it to the post as well).

I will not make changes to my registry.
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (2.8 KB, 137 views)


  #26  
Old 10-15-2014, 10:46 PM
piiman piiman is offline
Registered User
piiman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 472
POST ID # = 735789
piiman Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post

I will not make changes to my registry.
Why not? ................................................


  #27  
Old 10-16-2014, 01:16 AM
thenosbod's Avatar
thenosbod thenosbod is offline
Homo sapien
thenosbod's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Earth UK
Posts: 565
POST ID # = 735808
thenosbod Reputation: 60
Default

how to back up and restore the registry

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322756
__________________
I do not work for Corsair and I am not an official forum helper.


  #28  
Old 10-16-2014, 07:59 AM
menendez1293 menendez1293 is offline
Registered User
menendez1293's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 735868
menendez1293 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by piiman View Post
Why not? ................................................
Because I have had regedits come back and haunt me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenosbod View Post
how to back up and restore the registry

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/322756
Problem with backing up and restoring the registry is that during the time I make the change for the dump and actually get this problem figured out I can not make any changes to windows. If I do and I reload the registry then all the changes I made would be overwritten. I mean this could be something as simple as a program uninstall

And on top of that, I should not have to be doing this. I paid close 200 dollars for a keyboard that has only given me headaches since installed. Excuse me if I sound like a gerk right now but I don't want to be playing Tech Support at home when I already have to do that for work.


  #29  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:15 AM
piiman piiman is offline
Registered User
piiman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 472
POST ID # = 735873
piiman Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post
Because I have had regedits come back and haunt me.
Well if a company that makes a product tells you you need to change a registry enter you can bet its safe. Also in all the times I've edited the registry without any third party help I have not had one issue and believe me I'm not shy about editing it.

It just seems that by saying that you are not completely ready for a fix (unless THEY edit the registry)

Anyways to each his own.


  #30  
Old 10-16-2014, 08:20 AM
piiman piiman is offline
Registered User
piiman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 472
POST ID # = 735875
piiman Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post
Because I have had regedits come back and haunt me.


Problem with backing up and restoring the registry is that during the time I make the change for the dump and actually get this problem figured out I can not make any changes to windows. If I do and I reload the registry then all the changes I made would be overwritten. I mean this could be something as simple as a program uninstall
.
Not true you can save and restore only certain parts of the registry and restore only that part, that way you don't have to worry about what your worrying about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by menendez1293 View Post
And on top of that, I should not have to be doing this. I paid close 200 dollars for a keyboard that has only given me headaches since installed. Excuse me if I sound like a gerk right now but I don't want to be playing Tech Support at home when I already have to do that for work"
Oh well that I agree with, so why not just return the thing since you aren't willing to do tech support ?

(You do tech support?)


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.