The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 236 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 07-02-2013, 01:53 PM
jincuteguy jincuteguy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 662877
jincuteguy Reputation: 10
Default

does the Reactive typing mode work on both the K70 and K95? Or it only for the K95?


  #32  
Old 07-03-2013, 01:44 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 662981
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

@Chris_Von_Bron

3. The K95 uses White L.E.Ds.

@tredien

It depends on the keyboard layout.

@jincute guy

Yes, reactive typing works on both the K70 and K95.


  #33  
Old 07-03-2013, 04:11 AM
tredien tredien is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 662990
tredien Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post

@tredien

It depends on the keyboard layout.
The UK Layout not the US one with uk letters printed into it.


Thank you.


  #34  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:05 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 663116
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

There is a UK layout available.

Vengeance® K70 Fully Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — Natural Silver UK Key Layout

Vengeance® K70 Fully Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — Anodized Black UK Key Layout

Vengeance® K95 Fully Mechanical Gaming Keyboard — UK Key Layout


  #35  
Old 07-04-2013, 04:33 AM
tredien tredien is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 663171
tredien Reputation: 10
Default

That's the US layout adapted to UK keys, ah well I'll look elsewhere, ty.


  #36  
Old 07-12-2013, 02:48 AM
DrAce DrAce is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 664545
DrAce Reputation: 10
Default

Just received a UK Layout K95... it is the UK layout as per your link tredien


  #37  
Old 07-17-2013, 09:16 AM
Durandal_1707 Durandal_1707 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 665317
Durandal_1707 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi all,

I've just signed up here to back-up these poster's questions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenzorDK View Post
Is there no chance for a brown switch black/red-led K70? Seems to me that a lot of typists who use illuminated keyboards prefer red/black combo for it not being as aggressive on the eyes as metallic blue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Von_Bron View Post
Hi there,
I'm thinking of purchasing a Vengeance K70 or K95, please can you help with the below?

1) Any plans for the K70 blue (/brown) to be available in the black anodised finish like the red version? If so when?
I'm also hoping to see the Cherry MX Brown flavour in anodized black with red backlighting. Looks so much sexier (imo), and like Tenzor said, would probably be much easier on the eyes. Are there any plans to do this?

I was pretty excited when I heard that there were going to be Cherry Brown and Blue options for the K70, and then I saw the colour scheme. Just a bit too glary for me :(

I'm sure others feel the same, which is why I signed up to post this :)

Keep up the great work, guys! Your products are awesome!


Thanks,

Matt


  #38  
Old 07-19-2013, 04:40 AM
jessej jessej is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 665648
jessej Reputation: 10
Default

Hi,

I just bought the K95 and it really lives up to my expectations.
However, there's one issue that I have.

When I connected it for the first time and booted the PC I got stuck immediately due to the BIOS-switch thingie. The reason I got stuck is due to having encrypted drive so I needed to enter the passphrase pre-boot. No worries, I was aware of the BIOS switch so I simply moved the switch step by step till it worked. I need to have it on "BIOS 8" due to that being the only mode when I can enter the passphrase. The problem is that when I have it in "BIOS 8" a small led (the third, looks like a download symbol and sits just right of to CAPS-led) blinks all the time. Sitting in a dark room and having a led blinking just in the corner of "line of sight" is really annoying.

How can I turn of this blinking? it's really annoying....
(ps, removing disk encryption is the wrong answer =)

Rgds,
Jessej


  #39  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:34 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 665654
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

The Scroll Lock L.E.D. blinking means the K95 is in BIOS mode. You can turn it off by moving the BIOS switch back from the BIOS to a number.


  #40  
Old 07-19-2013, 06:03 PM
jessej jessej is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 665753
jessej Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
The Scroll Lock L.E.D. blinking means the K95 is in BIOS mode. You can turn it off by moving the BIOS switch back from the BIOS to a number.
yes, but that means moving the switch back and forth every single time I boot the pc due to needing it in BIOS mode to type the passphrase for the disk encryption. That will be annoying on its own (would be one thing if it was only when I needed to get into the BIOS, but since it's every single boot, it's no fun). There must be an easier way to do it, right?


  #41  
Old 07-20-2013, 08:05 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 665812
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Check if you have the latest BIOS for your motherboard.


  #42  
Old 07-20-2013, 10:37 AM
spaznet spaznet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 665824
spaznet Reputation: 10
Default

Can you guys clarify.

On the main Corsair site, its mentioned the K70 has N-Key rollover but every other site i visit such as reviews, its mentioned as 20-Key roll over.


  #43  
Old 07-20-2013, 02:05 PM
jessej jessej is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 665844
jessej Reputation: 10
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Check if you have the latest BIOS for your motherboard.
As the disk encryption is POST BIOS my initial thought was that your answer was a "have you tried to reboot" kinda easy answer... but I'll be damned, you solved the case and the keyboard works like a charm now through both BIOS and disk encryption passphrase entery, tnx!

For the record...
Problem: K95 has to be in BIOS mode for keyboard to work during disk encryption passphrase phase during system boot.
Solution: Upgrade bios
Motherboard: MSI MS7758
BIOS pre upgrade: AMI 2.10
BIOS post upgrade: AMI 2.A0


  #44  
Old 07-20-2013, 03:01 PM
Falkentyne Falkentyne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 665845
Falkentyne Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaznet View Post
Can you guys clarify.

On the main Corsair site, its mentioned the K70 has N-Key rollover but every other site i visit such as reviews, its mentioned as 20-Key roll over.
Just something to note:

In the original microsoft USB keyboard driver, it was impossible without editing the microsoft USB keyboard driver itself or usint a hack workaround, to have INFINITE key rollover over USB, unless keyboard HID manufacturers use their own drivers, which completely bypass the microsoft keyboard driver. The original driver called for 6 key simultaneous over USB, and this was circumvented by endpoint interrupts. It's possible to go above 11 key, up to 20, 25 simultaneous inputs, but there is a bug in the (microsoft) USB keyboard driver, with something about buffer sizes, where you start getting ghosting and fake inputs, once you go above 11 keys. You can increase the buffer size to avoid this, but the problem is, as you keep going up, the amount you have to increase the buffer grows exponentially, which doesn't really make sense. Andy Warne (of i-pac hardware) said that this was actually a bug in the microsoft driver.

Microsoft's own sidewinder X4/X6 keyboards, both which advertise 20-24 key inputs, are BOTH affected by this; go above 11 key inputs, and you immediately see the problem.

It seems that the Corsair K70 has its own driver which bypasses this bug (i was able to test up to 14 simultaneous inputs..I only have so many fingers) without any problems. I don't know if the Logitech G710+ is affected or not ,i'll have ot test that later.

And about the 20 key vs N key rollover over USB....does it really matter?
Are you EVER going to EVER, EVER, press 20 keys at once?


  #45  
Old 07-24-2013, 01:33 AM
spaznet spaznet is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 666460
spaznet Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
It seems that the Corsair K70 has its own driver
Do you mean driver as in software provided by Corsair? if so the K70 doesn't come with drivers, plug 'n' play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
And about the 20 key vs N key rollover over USB....does it really matter?
Are you EVER going to EVER, EVER, press 20 keys at once?
Some people use their faces to type you know, so it matters to them.

Anyway

I just tested the K70 using Aqua Key Test pressing every key i could with my face and hands, about 50 keys pressed, and they all registered at once, so its safe to say its true NKEY, i wonder why its stated 20KRO elsewhere


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.