The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 33 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2013, 01:52 AM
turbopenguin turbopenguin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 651314
turbopenguin Reputation: 10
Default Corsair K70 Software / Drivers

So I know there is software and drivers for my newly acquired K70, but I can't seem to find them anywhere. Anyone find a download link?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-06-2013, 07:26 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 651338
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

The K70 does not use any software.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-06-2013, 02:03 PM
Falkentyne Falkentyne is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 56
POST ID # = 651435
Falkentyne Reputation: 10
Default

K70 isnt a macro keyboard (the upcoming K95 is) so there's no software used. Per key backlightning and reactive mode are done purely through button presses and key toggle sequences. BIOS mode disables the non backlight extra features (backlighting toggles still work), like disabling the windows key. The media keys still work (as does scroll lock, although the SL light flashes to show the keyboard is in Bios mode).
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 06-01-2013, 08:08 AM
CARAID CARAID is offline
Registered User
CARAID's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 656779
CARAID Reputation: 10
Default

If this is true then surely this is blatent mis-representation of the facts on the product page by Corsair.

Quotes from the product page.
"You can use the software to program backlighting for each key independently,so you can set up custom-lit key bindings for each game you play"

"It's great for illuminating your key bindings for each game, and you can store multiple presets. They're saved directly to the K70 onboard memory, so you can take you light maps with you"

In UK English at least, multiple presets is plural meaning more than one. I appreciate that the software referred to could be that already embedded within the keyboard itself rather than an addition program(App) though most users would tend to think of software they install on their PC.

I think whatever the answer then at best this definitely points at very poor quality of information on the product page in that it could be open to such miss-interpretation.

I do not want the hassle of having to re-program the keyboard whenever I decide to play or use a different game, program. This was one of my main reasons for selecting this keyboard over rivals as it gave me the impression I would just have to switch to one of my other presets.

That said and done I think that this is an excellent and quality keyboard but it does not do what I expected it to do in accordance with Corsairs copy and will request an RMA with the retailer from which it was purchased for that reason and not take Corsair product information at face value in future.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 06-03-2013, 08:02 PM
Corsair Jason Corsair Jason is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 145
POST ID # = 657222
Corsair Jason Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CARAID View Post
If this is true then surely this is blatent mis-representation of the facts on the product page by Corsair.

Quotes from the product page.
"You can use the software to program backlighting for each key independently,so you can set up custom-lit key bindings for each game you play"

"It's great for illuminating your key bindings for each game, and you can store multiple presets. They're saved directly to the K70 onboard memory, so you can take you light maps with you"

In UK English at least, multiple presets is plural meaning more than one. I appreciate that the software referred to could be that already embedded within the keyboard itself rather than an addition program(App) though most users would tend to think of software they install on their PC.

I think whatever the answer then at best this definitely points at very poor quality of information on the product page in that it could be open to such miss-interpretation.

I do not want the hassle of having to re-program the keyboard whenever I decide to play or use a different game, program. This was one of my main reasons for selecting this keyboard over rivals as it gave me the impression I would just have to switch to one of my other presets.

That said and done I think that this is an excellent and quality keyboard but it does not do what I expected it to do in accordance with Corsairs copy and will request an RMA with the retailer from which it was purchased for that reason and not take Corsair product information at face value in future.

You are correct. The information on the product page is not correct. Will work on getting it changed ASAP. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Last edited by Corsair Jason; 06-03-2013 at 08:29 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 06-04-2013, 12:50 PM
CARAID CARAID is offline
Registered User
CARAID's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 657355
CARAID Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for responding Jasonch and confirming my understanding and hopefully any changes to the copy will reduce the potential for misunderstandings.

For note: It might be an idea to have somewhere on-site that explains the meanings of Mappings,Presets & Profiles as they tend to get used differently and interchangeable by different manufacturers. I think I understand them but.............

Perhaps for a future development it might be an idea to consider software that enables one to create you own mapping/profiles that then can be sent to the memeory bank within the keyboard.I appreciate the costs would rise.

As previoulsy said I do love the feel and design of the K70 and would not be embarrassed to have it on my office desk as it looks clean and professional and not at all geeky like many others.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 06-11-2013, 04:24 PM
turbopenguin turbopenguin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 658800
turbopenguin Reputation: 10
Default Still outdated

Just an FYI now this information has gotten out to numerous review sites clearly referring to software. ( http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages..._review,2.html ) I think there needs to be a CLEAR representation of what this keyboard CAN and CAN NOT do. I originally purchased the keyboard with the intent of being able to have game profiles in relation to the key lighting. Can someone let me know what I can and can't do? I know the bios switch is there, can we program lighting on each of those BIOS's? If so how do we do that? Is there a guide or anything?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 06-12-2013, 12:01 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 658935
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

You can only store 1 profile on the K70 Turbopenguin. The switches for the polling rate do not switch lighting profiles. I have a FAQ posted at the top of this forum and I recommend perusing it if you have any questions or concerns. We will correct the information to avoid any confusion. Sorry about that.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:03 PM
KimoT KimoT is offline
Registered User
KimoT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 702371
KimoT Reputation: 10
Default

Nine moths later, this is still on the Corsair product description page. That might be how review sites are picking it up.

This was a big factor my decision to buy a Corsair keyboard and mouse today. I am sorry that it does not have that capability.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:18 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,286
POST ID # = 702373
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KimoT View Post
Nine moths later, this is still on the Corsair product description page. That might be how review sites are picking it up.

This was a big factor my decision to buy a Corsair keyboard and mouse today. I am sorry that it does not have that capability.
Where are you currently seeing that the K70 requires software? I don't see it on this product page for example:
http://www.corsair.com/en/vengeance-...lack-na-layout
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 03-20-2014, 10:35 PM
KimoT KimoT is offline
Registered User
KimoT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 702376
KimoT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
Where are you currently seeing that the K70 requires software? I don't see it on this product page for example:
http://www.corsair.com/en/vengeance-...lack-na-layout
I am not seeing that it requires software. It does, however, imply that the keyboard can hold profiles for EACH game you play on the keyboard. According to http://www.corsair.com/en-in/vengean...lack-na-layout
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair
You can program backlighting for each key independently, so you can set up custom-lit key bindings for each game you play. And, once you’ve tweaked it to your tastes, the onboard memory lets you take your settings with you.
Also:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair
It's saved directly to the K70 onboard memory, so you can take your light maps with you.
Emphasis added.

The section headed Tech Specs is empty, and there is nothing listed under FAQs as well, two places that you could easily clear this up.

Last edited by KimoT; 03-20-2014 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 03-23-2014, 11:59 AM
Gossy Gossy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 702657
Gossy Reputation: 10
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en...eyboard/macros
Could just make macros in windows?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 03-23-2014, 05:33 PM
KimoT KimoT is offline
Registered User
KimoT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 702691
KimoT Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gossy View Post
You can't change the keyboard lights from Windows.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 05-24-2014, 11:15 PM
retrosmith retrosmith is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 712097
retrosmith Reputation: 10
Angry

Almost a YEAR later and this is STILL on the Corsair product page. Still. Really???

This was also a factor in my decision to purchase the K70.

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/landing/k70

"The K70 has deep red LEDs with adjustable brightness and key-by-key programmability to light up just the keys you need. It's great for illuminating your key bindings for each game, and you can store multiple presets."


No. No you can't. Why on Earth is this *still* on the primary K70 product page???

I'll be returning mine tomorrow in favor of a Logitech. While they have nothing as pretty as this, at least their product descriptions aren't misleading.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 07-24-2014, 01:01 PM
MuTzE MuTzE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 720429
MuTzE Reputation: 10
Default

Hey guys,

Don't know where your problem is.

Take a look at here:
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=118655

In addition, you also find the whole procedure in the manual ;)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.