The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2018, 01:56 PM
rtangwai rtangwai is offline
Registered User
rtangwai's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 944485
rtangwai Reputation: 10
Default Non-Corsair LED strips connecting to Lighting Node Pro

Hi,

I am planning on getting the following:
  • 2x HD120 fans (for CPU cooler push/pull)
  • 1x Lighting Node Pro kit w/4x LED strips
  • 1x Silverstone FG142 140mm RGB fan frame

The Silverstone FG142 is going to be installed on my PSU (HX1000w). I would rather not get a Thermaltake Riing PSU as I'm trying to avoid multiple RGB control hardware and software running on 1 computer.

Hint: Corsair, I'd buy a new PSU if you sold a RGB one!

My questions are:
  • Can the Silverstone FG142 be controlled by the Lighting Node Pro?
  • If so, can it be plugged into the same RGB hub as the HD120 fans or does it need a separate RGB hub?

I will be using Corsair Link to control everything (assuming it will all work together).

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-12-2018, 02:02 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,506
POST ID # = 944487
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Impossible to say with the public information provided from Silverstone.

At the very least, the connectors won't work without you modding them. Probably the simplest part to mod would be the fan ring connectors. See the link in my signature for the parts to create connectors for the Corsair RGB system.

Also, look at this thread: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=165029. This will tell you exactly what cables go where and what kind of LEDs Corsair uses. If Silverstone uses the same type of LEDs, you might be able to get it to work. One of these rings would be configured as 2 HD fans in Link (24 LEDs).
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-12-2018, 02:03 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,506
POST ID # = 944488
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtangwai View Post

Hint: Corsair, I'd buy a new PSU if you sold a RGB one!
Trust me on this one ... you are not the only one!!
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
fg142, lighting node pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.