The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2018, 03:06 PM
Porkibear Porkibear is offline
Registered User
Porkibear's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 984014
Porkibear Reputation: 10
Question 3 out of 6 fans RGB not working

Hi All,

I finally dove straight into my first pc build last night. Wiring on the 460x RGB case is an absolute mess, but I’m slowly cleaning up the bunches of wires. Before I do that though...

I turned on the pc last night to make sure all the fans were running. I didn’t connect a monitor, so I haven’t had a chance to dive into BIOS yet. Here is my fan setup:

3 LL120 RGB fans in front of case, all three have RGB connected to an RGB hub in slots #1-3. Two of the front fans are cooling an h100i v2. These two are being powered by the AIO cooler connection. The third LL120 fan power is plugged into the commander pro. Commander pro is connected to SATA from PSU and USB is plugged into the mb. After turning on the pc, all three LL120 fans are spinning and also have RGB power.

3 SP120L RGB fans for exhaust (1 rear, 2 top). These are the fans which came with the 460x case. All I did was relocate them to the exhaust side, and I also got rid of the button control module since I’m connecting to the commander pro. I’m using the supplied RGB hub for the SP120 fans. The SP fan power is connected to the commander pro. RGB are connected to the SP RGB hub. The hub is connected to the commander pro, as well as SATA cable for power. With pc powered on, the SP fans have power, but no RGB. I checked all my connections and it all looks correct. Any of you have any ideas? I’m at work now, but plan on troubleshooting this when I get home tonight.

Everything else seems to be working properly. I’m also wondering...how do I know the AIO cooler is circulating? I don’t hear anything- no gurgling, pump noises...just the fans purring away.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:42 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,513
POST ID # = 984038
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

For the SP-RGB fans, they won't work until you go into iCue and configure the lighting channel. They are getting the signal for the LL/HD/ML/Strips, which is different. The SP-RGB fans are the odd ones out/red-headed stepchildren in the Corsair RGB family - they use a completely different protocol from everything else.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Porkibear Porkibear is offline
Registered User
Porkibear's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 984057
Porkibear Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
For the SP-RGB fans, they won't work until you go into iCue and configure the lighting channel. They are getting the signal for the LL/HD/ML/Strips, which is different. The SP-RGB fans are the odd ones out/red-headed stepchildren in the Corsair RGB family - they use a completely different protocol from everything else.
So what I don’t understand is how the SP120 fans (which are supplied with the 460x case) are able to work without being configured in iCue. Is it because it’s manually controlled by the button module or front panel and the RGB is on a permanent “ON” position?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-06-2018, 08:12 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,513
POST ID # = 984081
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porkibear View Post
So what I don’t understand is how the SP120 fans (which are supplied with the 460x case) are able to work without being configured in iCue. Is it because it’s manually controlled by the button module or front panel and the RGB is on a permanent “ON” position?
Yes, the button controller takes the place of a Lighting Channel on the Lighting Node Pro or Commander Pro. It actually has a small, very limited functionality MCU in there that generates the signal for the RGB lighting.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:42 PM
Krokarn Krokarn is offline
Registered User
Krokarn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 214
POST ID # = 984039
Krokarn Reputation: 10
Default

You must have iCUE software to configure the rgb to work.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-06-2018, 06:12 PM
Porkibear Porkibear is offline
Registered User
Porkibear's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 984060
Porkibear Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krokarn View Post
You must have iCUE software to configure the rgb to work.
Ok, I will be installing windows 10 and iCue tonight and give it a shot. Hopefully that’ll be the only issue. Crossing my fingers!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:44 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,212
POST ID # = 984042
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

If you connected all 6 fans to the same RGB Lighting Hub, that also will be a problem. Each fan type needs its own RGB Lighting Hub. Hopefully you bought the LL triple pack with another inside.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-06-2018, 05:58 PM
Porkibear Porkibear is offline
Registered User
Porkibear's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 984051
Porkibear Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
If you connected all 6 fans to the same RGB Lighting Hub, that also will be a problem. Each fan type needs its own RGB Lighting Hub. Hopefully you bought the LL triple pack with another inside.
Yes, that’s my setup: two separate RGB hubs- one for LL120s and another for SP120s.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
commander pro, ll120, rgb, sp120

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.