The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2016, 07:05 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 866411
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default AX850 going bad or something else?

I am having an intermittent BIOS boot failure during cold/warm boots or restarts. It happens randomly (i.e. not every time). Basically, on some boots/restarts, the computer will try to POST and then apparently fail and give me the "BIOS boot failure" message followed by options to load optimized defaults or enter the BIOS to reconfigure settings. All I do is enter the BIOS (which will be in a default state (i.e. with XMP disabled and everything else at default settings) and hit "save and exit" because the settings are retained but just not active. Once the computer is on and in Windows, everything is fine and I can do anything and there are no issues including long gaming sessions. It's only (randomly) during cold/warm boots or restarts.

One thing I noticed is that this only started occurring right after I overclocked my 3930K from it's stock 3.8 GHz to 4.0 GHz. I didn't change anything other than the CPU multiplier. It was a very mild overclock.

Here are the settings prior to the issue:

3930K at 3.8 GHz: 1.200 volts
DRAM (DDR3-2133 CAS 9): 1.5 volts
IMC: 1.000 volts
VTT: 1.05 volts

Here are the settings after the overclock and when the issue started happening:

3930K at 4 GHz: 1.200 volts
DRAM (DDR3-2133 CAS 9): 1.5 volts
IMC: 1.000 volts
VTT: 1.05 volts

Things I've tried to fix the issue that did not help:

1. Increase Vcore
2. Increase IMC voltage to 1.05 volts
3. Increase DRAM voltage to 1.525 volts
4. Replace the CMOS battery
5. Remove the overclock and go back to the settings prior to having this issue
6. Run MemTest86 for 4 hours which reported no errors

I searched on the Internet and it seems issues like this could point to the power supply or motherboard. Any help will be appreciated.

By the way, I built this computer in January, 2012 so that should give you an idea of the age of most of the equipment (other than the graphics card).

Edit: I also do not have any spare computer parts available to test with my computer.

Last edited by Sprkd1; 08-09-2016 at 07:25 PM. Reason: Addition
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-10-2016, 11:23 AM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,270
POST ID # = 866530
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

Run everything stock for a while n see if it still happens. Probably not psu issue.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-11-2016, 04:43 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 866748
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

By "stock" do you mean XMP enabled or disabled? I have already tried going back to the settings I was using prior to having this issue (no overclock and XMP enabled) and still encountered this issue.

Can bad RAM cause something like this?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-12-2016, 03:46 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 866930
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

Overclocked my 3930K to 4.2 GHz. I started at 1.200 Vcore and ran IntelBurnTest at the maximum stress level. Kept increasing the Vcore till the BSODs stopped. They eventually stopped when I set a Vcore of 1.230 volts. Let's see how this turns out.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-12-2016, 05:42 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 866953
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

Just happened again. I've noticed one thing though. During a successful POST boot, during the POST the fans in my case, including the H100's fan's, run at a very slightly lower speed and once the POST is completed successfully they run at their full required speed. During to a boot/restart that results in a BIOS boot failure, the fans would be running at an even lower speed as if the computer is not getting enough power. Basically, I've noticed that boots/restarts that result in a BIOS boot failure message all the fans in my case would be running at a lower speed than normal as if the computer is not getting enough power. Bad power supply or motherboard?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-13-2016, 01:53 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,936
POST ID # = 867064
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

I'm sorry. I just don't see how this is a PSU issue.

Are your fans plugged directly into the PSU via Molex connectors? I don't think so, because then you wouldn't be able to vary the speed unless you had a fan controller.

And the H100's fans.... what are they plugged into?

There's a lot of missing information here.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-13-2016, 07:02 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 867097
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

All fans, excluding the H100's fans, are connected to my case's (650D) fan controller which, if I remember correctly, is connected to the power supply with a molex connector. The H100's fans are connected directly to the motherboard running at full speed all the time.

Note that out of all the BIOS boot failure messages I've gotten, there have been 2-3 times when the computer failed to POST and instead of getting the BIOS boot failure message, the computer just shut down.

Edit: With my 4.2 GHz overclock on my 3930K with a Vcore of 1.230 volts, I ran 10 instances of IntelBurnTest at the maximum stress level. At the end of the test (after the 10 runs were completed), I got a message saying my overclock(?) was not stable and that I should reduce my overclock. However, I do not encounter any BSODs when running IntelBurnTest with a Vcore of 1.230 volts but do with anything lower. When I run just 1 instance of IntelBurnTest, at the end of the test I get a "successful run" or the like message. Do I need to increase my Vcore ever so slightly?

Last edited by Sprkd1; 08-13-2016 at 07:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-13-2016, 10:23 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,936
POST ID # = 867109
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Hmm... So the H100 fans are plugged into the motherboard and are supposed to run at full speed and will slow down inexplicably?

Sounds more like a motherboard problem. Full speed or not, the fans plugged into the motherboard are regulated by the motherboard.

Now.. Why the fans plugged into the fan controller ALSO do that is weird. Should be one or the other, but not both.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-14-2016, 03:30 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 867205
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

Slow down only during a POST but ever so slightly. It's always been like this, even when the computer was new. Not sure if my case fans also slow down (the ones connected to the fan controller) because the H100's fans are the ones I hear and the rest of the case fans are pretty quiet and hard to hear.

Note that this only started happening after I overclocked my 3930K from its stock 3.8 GHz to 4.0 GHz. Once it started happening, I keep increasing the Vcore but it made no difference. Now, even if I return to no overclock and reset all settings to the way they were before the overclock, I still get this issue. Lastly, it's only during a (random) POST and once I am in Windows there are no issues of any sort. Maybe I'll just live with it. It's been happening since December, 2015.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-14-2016, 03:54 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,936
POST ID # = 867211
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Hope you didn't damage the CPU VR's on the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-14-2016, 05:28 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 867227
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

Would damaged CPU VRs on the motherboard only cause issues with POSTs? Usage within Windows is 100% fine.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-14-2016, 05:28 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,936
POST ID # = 867229
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

POST and OC... If they're not able to provide the correct voltage to the CPU consistently anymore.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-14-2016, 05:55 PM
Sprkd1 Sprkd1 is offline
Registered User
Sprkd1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 867235
Sprkd1 Reputation: 10
Default

Prior to having this issue, I was running at 3.8 GHz at 1.200 Vcore. When I overclocked my processor to 4.0 GHz at the same Vcore (1.200) I started having this issue. I thought it was because I needed more Vcore. I slowly kept upping the Vcore till 1.215 but it kept happening. Could a 200 MHz overclock without raising the Vcore damage the CPU VRs on the motherboard? Right now I'm running 4.2 GHz at 1.230 Vcore.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-15-2016, 12:20 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,936
POST ID # = 867332
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

You probably want to take this to a forum where people have a lot of experience with overclocking.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-17-2016, 04:49 AM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,270
POST ID # = 867618
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

Sounds like bios glitch to me more then anything. Like when your rig is off your getting a cmos clear or something. If it runs fine once in Windows there's no issue with anything hardware level I don't think. Try doing a cmos clear and if that doesn't work update to latest bios.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.