The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:33 PM
stuartfox stuartfox is offline
Registered User
stuartfox's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 228087
stuartfox Reputation: 10
Default Music PC

I have build a Music / audio PC specifically for the job and would like some memory tips.

Its an intel p4 D core 3.0
Asus P5wdm2 m/b
2 gigs Corsair DDR2 mem (2x1gig)

I'd like to add more memory - Seeing as win32 will only see 3.5gig, do I a) get annother 2x1 pair and go over (the asus board might slow the whole lot down though??) or do I get a 512 pair. What do you suggest?

Also any bios tips to get the most out of my existing memory.

Thanks

Stuart
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:41 PM
CMC_SAVAGE's Avatar
CMC_SAVAGE CMC_SAVAGE is offline
Old School HoH'ers
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CAPE MAY, NJ
Posts: 2,306
POST ID # = 228089
CMC_SAVAGE Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
I have build a Music / audio PC specifically for the job and would like some memory tips.
I would say that 2GB is more than enough, even for a gaming rig.
You won't benefit from any more RAM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-15-2005, 10:56 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 228094
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartfox
I have build a Music / audio PC specifically for the job and would like some memory tips.

Its an intel p4 D core 3.0
Asus P5wdm2 m/b
2 gigs Corsair DDR2 mem (2x1gig)

I'd like to add more memory - Seeing as win32 will only see 3.5gig, do I a) get annother 2x1 pair and go over (the asus board might slow the whole lot down though??) or do I get a 512 pair. What do you suggest?

Also any bios tips to get the most out of my existing memory.

Thanks

Stuart
We do digital video editing/production. One good tip I have used is to put your Windows paging file on a physically seperate HD from the system HD. If you are running your OS and apps from your system drive, then it helps reduce I/O lag to put the paging activity onto a seperate drive.

Are you actually seeing situations where you are physically out of memory? I agree with CMC Savage, you won't benefit from any more RAM.

Mike.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.