The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2019, 12:53 PM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1004837
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default LL fans misbehaving

I have 6 LL fans connected and have set up a different effect for each of them so I have 6 effects on one channel. The effects work fine until I start playing something, when three of them start freezing on one color or displaying a different colors...etc. Does anyone know why this happens?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2019, 11:47 PM
Astral85 Astral85 is offline
Registered User
Astral85's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 332
POST ID # = 1004868
Astral85 Reputation: 11
Default

Are you saying that it occurs only when you start playing a game?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2019, 03:46 AM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1004881
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

Not exactly when I start the game, during playing it has periods, in ac origins for example it occurs more often than in overwatch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2019, 07:57 AM
Phlegon Phlegon is offline
Registered User
Phlegon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 1004995
Phlegon Reputation: 10
Default

Got the same issue as well.
I have 4 LL fans and 2 of them randomly freeze/flicker for few seconds.
Happens no matter what I do on my PC and no matter what lighting settings I have.
This does no happen when I close iCUE and leave everything on hardware memory lighting modes.
Looks like the latest iCUE broke something.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2019, 03:34 AM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1005071
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

Well for me actually, because I have MSI board I have the possibility to connect the fans without node pro so I can use them without Icue...but they still do this ****...so i'm starting to think that the 6 port fan hub is what is causing the problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2019, 04:41 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1005134
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyoseby View Post
Well for me actually, because I have MSI board I have the possibility to connect the fans without node pro so I can use them without Icue...but they still do this ****...so i'm starting to think that the 6 port fan hub is what is causing the problem
I'd suggest making a ticket for it.

Try changing the fans around on the hub and see if you can move the issue around on the fans. This would indicate a faulty fan rather than a hub.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2019, 06:05 AM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1005227
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

So, here is what I have tried so far, I'm using MSI mobo which has jcorsair header so I can connect fans without lightning node pro:
1) Software
I have tried uninstalling mystic light to use only iCue, than uninstalled iCue to use only mystic light, than use both of them, issue still there.
2) Hubs
I have tried with and without the lightning node pro, and also bought a new 6 fan LED hub, so whether I use mystic light or iCue for the fans, the problem is exactly the same, meaning that the MOBO can't be the problem since we are talking about 2 different headers here. I have also tried 2 different corsair led cables, I had a spare one from MSI mobo. Issue still there.
3) Fans
I have rotated fans around in the hub to see if the fans are the problem, sadly no, for example the fans positione in slot 3-4-5-6 always have problems which led me to believe that the hub was the problem, but as I said earlier the hub is not the problem.
My conclusion, issue is not iCue nor Mystic Light, not the fans, not the hubs, and not faulty headers on the motherboard....I don't even know what else could be...viruses?? windows?? This malfunction occurs only when...the pc gets hotter tho, so if I watch a movie it works just fine, but as soon as I put some load on it, like a strong game it goes bananas, like it's reacting bad to the heat, I don't even know what that means....it gets to normal if I let the PC cool for a little bit. I'm open to any suggestion.

Last edited by yoyoseby; 05-21-2019 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2019, 03:48 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 578
POST ID # = 1005275
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

You can't connect the fans 3-4-5-6. They have to be in order starting from Port 1, or else, yes, you will continue to get issues.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2019, 04:14 PM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1005277
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

Man, whatever fan I connect to 1-2 they work fine, starting with 3 to 6 it goes bananas...I just said in the first post I use 6 fans
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-24-2019, 08:23 AM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1005576
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

I tried another thing, I have plugged in the PSU another sata cable because the 4 way one was connected to my sata ssd and I thought it must be a power delivery issue, and also split the fans into 2 fan hubs, and populating both channels in the lightning node pro, and guess what, the problem is still there, so it's not the PSU either.
If someone could be able to find what could be causing this when it's not the software, not the mobo, cables, hubs, fans, psu....I don't even know if there is anything left to look into.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-24-2019, 08:26 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,268
POST ID # = 1005577
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Most of the time, these issues are a bad fan. What you need to realize is that the fans operate in series - 1 fan passes the data signal to the next and so on. It's entirely possible that a fan can light up properly but not pass the signal properly. When you move fans around, you need to be diligent in tracking them and not just looking at the individual fan but the next on in the chain.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-24-2019, 02:33 PM
yoyoseby yoyoseby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 1005602
yoyoseby Reputation: 10
Default

You were right, fan no 4 is faulty causing the next 2 to be broken, thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.