The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2019, 03:04 AM
MJHunter91 MJHunter91 is offline
MJHunter91
MJHunter91's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024281
MJHunter91 Reputation: 10
Default Fan/Pump Speed control H100i V2

I had this pump on my 970A-G 3.1 with the FX 9590 and had no issues using corsair link to control my fans and pump.

Then i recently upgraded to the current spec pc and suddenly have no control over the fans or pump. i have the fans plugged into the splitter, with the pump connected to the USB connections on the bottom of my motherboard. and the 4 pin is connected to the CPU_FAN header on my motherboard as well. just as it was on my old system.

I do not use Precision XOC i use MSI afterburner, i read that was an issue, and was also an issue with some other things so i traded it in for MSI afterburner a while ago on my old system.

I have looked for it on USBDView and it shows up, with a green dot, and have also done the device manager stuff and shows uo, disable, enable, still no dice..

I have tried various other options and cannot figure this out to save my life -.-


Specs:
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro WiFi
CPU ryzen 3600
GPU EVGA 1070 Hybrid
Ram G.Skill Trident Z 3600 Mhz
Cooler H100i V2
Windows 10 Version 1903 OS build 18362.476

Edit: But i can control fan speed via Speedfan5, or bios, but not the pump speed so its not a complete mess.

Last edited by MJHunter91; 11-18-2019 at 03:06 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-18-2019, 03:09 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,345
POST ID # = 1024284
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

hi buddy.

have you told the mobo the fan header the pump is connected to that it needs to be set at 100% ?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-18-2019, 03:15 AM
MJHunter91 MJHunter91 is offline
MJHunter91
MJHunter91's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024285
MJHunter91 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
hi buddy.

have you told the mobo the fan header the pump is connected to that it needs to be set at 100% ?


so set it in the bios to max fan speed and that will do the trick possibly?

Last edited by MJHunter91; 11-18-2019 at 03:33 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-18-2019, 03:42 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,345
POST ID # = 1024286
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi buddy.. yes the header the the H100i V2 is connected to needs to at 100% all the time iirc... been a while lol...

Edit... yes confirmed... needs to be at 100%
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-18-2019, 09:39 PM
MJHunter91 MJHunter91 is offline
MJHunter91
MJHunter91's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 1024378
MJHunter91 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Hi buddy.. yes the header the the H100i V2 is connected to needs to at 100% all the time iirc... been a while lol...

Edit... yes confirmed... needs to be at 100%
i turned it to 100% another question. RPM Control set to PVW or voltage?

i kind of have power over the fans speed.. its kinda weird.. if i set it to max speed using corsair link, i ramps up, but i dont think its ramping to the 100% speed.. reads at 2100ish rpm.. which i think is close to max.. but it doesnt sound like its spinning as fast as it used to before my upgrade.. its not as noisy as it was so im not completely sold on it spinning at 100% but i do have some control over it im just not sure that its complete control. also when there isnt any load it displays 0rpm even if i have it set so there is no auto fan stop for CPU_FAN header in bios
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-19-2019, 12:36 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,115
POST ID # = 1024388
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

RPM control should, ideally, be set to PWM. But what matters is that it's set to 100%.
You do not control the cooler's fan speeds from the CPU Fan header.
The fact that you are saying "no auto fan stop for CPU_FAN header" leads me to believe that you are trying to control the fan speed for the pump from the fan header. You do that in Link. If you reduce the voltage to the cooler (by trying to control the fan speeds in the BIOS), you will damage the cooler. And the fans won't get enough power. And they'll stop.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.