The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2014, 01:38 PM
cubluwt's Avatar
cubluwt cubluwt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 748605
cubluwt Reputation: 10
Default [HELP] Memory not matched with site suggested

Hi,
I have lenovo E540 with default/factories memory, and it's only 4GB. I want to upgrade again with 4GB, and I was searched the compatible memory in corsair site, but the site suggested me with CMSX16GX3M2B1600C9 model/type with capacities 16GB, it was too large for me, and I can't afford it.

I've been asking some store and they said just use this memory type:

Corsair Memory — 4GB DDR3L SODIMM Memory (CMSO4GX3M1C1600C11) it's still the same or will matched with my notebook.

But the site suggested this type:

Vengeance® — 16GB High Performance Laptop Memory Upgrade Kit (CMSX16GX3M2B1600C9)

Before I buy it, I need some suggestion, will it matched of fit with my notebook.

Thank you very much, I need your help.

Best Regards,

Kris
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-23-2014, 02:26 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 748611
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

shop for CMSX8GX3M2B1600C9
you shouldn't mix 2 kits of ram that were not matched in the factory, this 8G stick will suit your capacity requirement and not have to risk causing instability with 2 different sets in the same board.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-24-2014, 12:04 PM
cubluwt's Avatar
cubluwt cubluwt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 748756
cubluwt Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthohol View Post
shop for CMSX8GX3M2B1600C9
you shouldn't mix 2 kits of ram that were not matched in the factory, this 8G stick will suit your capacity requirement and not have to risk causing instability with 2 different sets in the same board.
Thank you for your suggestion

I will buy another corsair mem, because I already have the 4GB Mem Corsair Memory — 4GB DDR3L SODIMM Memory (CMSO4GX3M1C1600C11). I will add 8Gb more with the same type, is it alright I add 4 and 8 GB with the same types?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-24-2014, 02:29 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 748778
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

not suggested, supported or recommended to mix ram, even the same part#
for best supported results all the ram should come from 1 single package of the capacity you desire in order to be fully compatible.
mixing ram is a roll of the dice, you can take your chances but its your wallet ;)
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.