The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2019, 04:03 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1024980
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default H80I V2 Fan speeds appear to be maxed

Im getting an issue with the fan on my H80I spinning at 2000+ RPM at all times, Idle or otherwise, I have no idea how to slow it down I tried using Link and set all the profiles to silent, when that didnt work I tried setting the profile in iCUE, no luck there either, I tried SpeedFan but my fans dont seem to be supported. I've looked all over, seen people suggest to disable 'PWM' in my BIOS but I dont have an option for that. So here I am I guess. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-23-2019, 08:29 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,086
POST ID # = 1024992
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

First, the H80i v2 is powered from the motherboard CPU_FAN header. So you need to set that to a constant 12V (100%). See the AIO FAQ linked in my signature for details.

Second, what's the coolant temperature? You should see that in iCUE. And no, SpeedFan won't help you.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-24-2019, 08:27 AM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025029
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

The temp of my cooler is around 27°C (82.4°F) at idle. My motherboard has a 'SmartFan' panel, so I set the CPU speed on that to 100% as im guessing thats what the CPU_FAN header is. my pump RPM switches to 1890 to 1950 RPM now, my fan is now at 2340 to 2460 RPM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-24-2019, 11:35 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,086
POST ID # = 1025037
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Next question - what fan curve do you have set? Can you show the iCUE/Link screen for configuring the fans?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-24-2019, 11:55 AM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025042
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

I have it set to the default 'Quiet' setting. I cannot seem to find the fan curve for this option, however I imagine it is the same as the quiet template in the custom settings here:
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-24-2019, 12:27 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,086
POST ID # = 1025045
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Well, the problem is clear. Your coolant temp is at 37.7C. That's high.
What's your ambient (room) temp?
Where do you have the cooler installed, especially in relation to the GPU?
What kind of intake do you have?
Your custom fan curve isn't applied to the fans. You need to click the curve, then click the fans, to apply it. Right now, the fans are set to the "Quiet" preset. At this temperature, though, they won't be quiet.
My guess - at this point - is that you are pulling GPU heat through the cooler and warming it up.
It doesn't look - at this point - like the cooler is damaged. Which is lucky as not powering it properly can kill the cooler. Make sure that the CPU Fan Speed setting is in the *BIOS*, not just in any software supplied by your motherboard manufacturer. I can't be any more specific than that because you've not really detailed the motherboard manufacturer. Ideally, disable ALL control so you don't have the chance of any Windows software overriding it.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-24-2019, 01:33 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025048
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

I've tried changing the value in the BIOS, but I honeslty cannot find it, the only thing I could find related to fans was 'Smart Fans', I set that CPU setting to max but there is no way that I can find to change the voltage.

As for my GPU placement, its right below the pump, as seen here:

Motherboard manufacturer is Gigabyte model is listed in my system specs.

In terms of what kind if intake I have, I uh... dont really understand the question. You mean like where is it drawing in air? If so I've got two fans mounted at the front drawing in air
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-24-2019, 02:46 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,061
POST ID # = 1025050
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Since the fans are maxed out and the pump at the proper Quiet setting speed, the cooler is likely getting the full 12v. Otherwise it would not be able to hold those numbers.

Try swapping the two fan connectors on the splitter coming off the pump (1->2, and 2->1). Only one of them has the magic 4th pin for control and the other copies what fan 1 does. Sometimes you get a bad connection or it could be a problem with the wire on the fan, but you only need one to control both.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-24-2019, 03:31 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025053
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

Swapped the connection, it looks like it just switched which fan was maxed out now the inner fan is maxed and the outer is what you'd expect
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-24-2019, 05:00 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025058
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

Alright, took a closer look and found that one of the pins in the 4 pin connection on cooler appers to have partially snapped. Looks like the builders of my machine where a little rough with it... If I apply enough force the connection is made, but when I put the back cover back on it knocked it loose again.

This appears to be more expected:
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-24-2019, 05:44 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025064
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

Small update, got the case together again without breaking the connection. I guess with only 3 pins going in it was defaulting to running off of pure voltage.

Im gonna try and replace the cabling, I think someone I know can replace the wires for me. Ty for your help mate.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-24-2019, 07:13 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,086
POST ID # = 1025069
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Well, tbh, the second picture is only "more expected" because of the coolant temperature. As the coolant temperature rises, the fans increase speed.
Your first picture, with the fans running around 2000 RPM, had a coolant temp of 37.4. This has a coolant temp of 31.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 11-24-2019, 07:22 PM
Butterygames Butterygames is offline
Registered User
Butterygames's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 1025071
Butterygames Reputation: 10
Default

Yea, but before it was at a constant 2000+ regardless of the tempreture. Now it adjusts its speed according to the tempreture
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.