The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 02-13-2019, 02:34 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,082
POST ID # = 993990
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjhess View Post
Hi ! Can you please walk me through how to configure this fan changes with iCue and my Bios. It is driving me crazy on my new Ryzen 7 2700X build. I produce my radio show with what will be my new build but obviously with this fan ramp issue I can't use my microphone until I fix this issue to make the fans run quiet while I am recording. I have a ASUS PRIME X470 PRO Mobo. Thanks! My chassis fans are currently controlled through the Corsair Commander Pro and I can't seem to switch temperature targets from package to motherboard or any other sensor to even out the fans.
We probably need new threads for the last several entries. None of this related to the original poster’s hardware or configuration.

You have a Commander Pro. By default, those three fan presets run from CPU temp. Don’t use them. In the Performance tab, click the + symbol to create a new “cooling mode”. This is your custom curve. You have numerous choices for control in the sensor drop down menu. Make an appropriate choice. Probably not cpu temp, but at least you can now set your own points. GPU temp for case fans serves most people well enough. You can also use the temp probes from the Commander Pro to make more realistic control choices.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 02-13-2019, 04:42 AM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 583
POST ID # = 994016
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

We probably need a sticky....

I'll see if Technobeard can get one made for this kind of thing tomorrow when he's in.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 11-18-2019, 09:05 PM
sepupcorfirms sepupcorfirms is offline
Registered User
sepupcorfirms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1024377
sepupcorfirms Reputation: 10
Default

I've had problem with using the default profiles for a long time. After experiencing the fans spinning up and down like crazy, I made a new (custom) profile and just fixed the rpm of the radiator fans.

Recently I looked into it again, and strangely enough it seems like I got it working now.

All I did was clicking on the box for the H110iGT itself. It was named "Temp0". I just changed its name ("Cooler") and long and behold the Link-software just works.

Can anyone confirm? Just changing the name of the sensor...

Using link v4.9.9.3 and everything set up fine in the uefi (bios).
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 11-19-2019, 09:46 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,082
POST ID # = 1024418
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sepupcorfirms View Post

All I did was clicking on the box for the H110iGT itself. It was named "Temp0". I just changed its name ("Cooler") and long and behold the Link-software just works.
Temp0 is likely a motherboard temp sensor and that could be anything. The cooler is supposed to using H110i GT Temp (or coolant temperature) as the control variable. Using anything else is going to cause both control problems and be extremely inefficient for cooling. Always use the coolant temperature. That is how the device works. The rate of heat transfer from the CPU is all conductive and fixed, based on the physical properties of the metals. The cooler then holds all that heat and tries to dump it elsewhere. That is the part you control with pump and fan speeds.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 11-20-2019, 01:03 AM
sepupcorfirms sepupcorfirms is offline
Registered User
sepupcorfirms's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1024526
sepupcorfirms Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Temp0 is likely a motherboard temp sensor and that could be anything.
I had everything set up correct in the Link-software. I changed nothing but the name of the sensor... that is what's so strange. I understand quite well how the aio works, but thanks for replying :)
I also changed the sensor-name back to "Temp0" but it didn't start misbehaving again... so it looks like I can't reproduce the ramping up and down of the fans... now it just works.

IMPORTANT: Connect the AIO to the CPU fan header and set it to manual DC/PWM and 100% duty cycle in the UEFI/BIOS. (This could be a reason why the AIO isn't performing correctly - I don't think this was mentioned in the quick start guide).

Last edited by sepupcorfirms; 12-01-2019 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.