The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2009, 07:59 AM
C5D C5D is offline
Registered User
C5D's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 432256
C5D Reputation: 10
Default TR3X6G1600C7 issue or Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R issue?

Hello,

I've just built a new system (see my specs list).

The problem is that when everything got assembled and I tried a first time boot, it made a beep and rebooted after just showing the bios after 3 secs or so. After the 2nd boot it made a constant beeping noise, since this is an out-of-the-box stock mobo i don't get it why it complains that it had to put the ddr's to 1066mhz because of overvoltage issues.

My bios is the FB on the v1.6 revision. Should i flash to the latest one (which happens to be a beta). Only hw attached are the hdds, vga, cpu/mobo/ram and a floppy/multicard reader and dvdrw.

I tried the basics:

A) Setting it to "load fail safe".. keeps beeping.
B) Entering the 7-7-7-20 and ram manually.
C) I read a thread on tomshardware where somebody had similar problems and suggested pushing the 133mhz to 160mh (which gives you 3.20mhz per core on the i7-920) but i swapped to fail safe again when i spotted that it increased the 1600mhz from the ram too.

If anybody would be so kind to give me a list with the correct settings (or advice on flashing to a beta bios).

Cheers!

PS: the mobo booklet says that it keeps beeping with when the vga isn't inserted properly, but that's not the case here

I did check this url too: http://www.corsair.com/configurator/...aspx?id=933074
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-23-2009, 12:29 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,193
POST ID # = 432283
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Have you tried setting the voltage manually, or using XMP?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:34 PM
C5D C5D is offline
Registered User
C5D's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 432501
C5D Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply.

I took the CMOS battery out and after 15 minutes put it back again, set the default 'turbo' to 'standard' and enabled the XMS to 'profile 1'; didn't have to touch the voltage (1.65) nor the timings since after the battery got back in again it detected them correctly. Works perfect now.

Do you have me some easy settings to crank up the 2.66ghz to around 3.2ghz without affecting the memory, perhaps if my modules can handle a little boos as well then i'd love to hear some working settings.

Note: I have a thermalright ultra 120 extreme, with 2 high performance noctua fans on both sides, so cooling isn't an issue.

Merry Xmas
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.