The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2019, 11:58 AM
charbel1011 charbel1011 is offline
Registered User
charbel1011's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1006142
charbel1011 Reputation: 10
Default Why i need 2 radiators?

Trying to buy my first custom loop but it stays it's recommended to have 2 radiators https://imgur.com/oTHxEql how's that even works?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2019, 12:23 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,972
POST ID # = 1006149
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

option 2.. you told it you are over clocking?... its suggests 3 rads for my case if OC'ing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2019, 12:27 PM
charbel1011 charbel1011 is offline
Registered User
charbel1011's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1006150
charbel1011 Reputation: 10
Default

No i clicked the option that im not overclocking. can i get away with 1 radiator?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:33 PM
Hyncharas's Avatar
Hyncharas Hyncharas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 118
POST ID # = 1006157
Hyncharas Reputation: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charbel1011 View Post
No i clicked the option that im not overclocking. can i get away with 1 radiator?
That would depend on the CPU and GPU your system uses; if they are known to generate a lot of heat, one radiator is applied to each component, to spread thermal dissipation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2019, 03:22 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,367
POST ID # = 1006179
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

That looks like two 120mm or 140mm radiators ... so yeah, you'd want at least two of them if cooling both CPU and GPU. For single radiator, you'd need something larger.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2019, 03:49 PM
charbel1011 charbel1011 is offline
Registered User
charbel1011's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 43
POST ID # = 1006189
charbel1011 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
That looks like two 120mm or 140mm radiators ... so yeah, you'd want at least two of them if cooling both CPU and GPU. For single radiator, you'd need something larger.
i wanna cool only the cpu not the gpu.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2019, 03:53 PM
Corsair GregX Corsair GregX is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 121
POST ID # = 1006190
Corsair GregX Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charbel1011 View Post
Trying to buy my first custom loop but it stays it's recommended to have 2 radiators https://imgur.com/oTHxEql how's that even works?
Hi,

According to image I assume you have a 570X case, motherboard and CPU which have a compatible CPU water block and a graphics card which does not have a compatible GPU water block.
Let me know your full system configuration or provide a configuration code from the configurator. Can be found on bottom of configuration overview step.

2 radiators are recommended to provide enough cooling performance to meet requirements for stage 2 (recommended by Corsair).

Why is there a smaller radiator on front?
It seems you have a graphics card model which is long and would prevent installation of pump/reservoir unit with larger radiator installed on front.
To accomodate space for installation of the pump/res unit, configurator reserved space for the pump/res unit and put a largest possible radiator on front position.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2019, 06:01 PM
Zone55555 Zone55555 is offline
Registered User
Zone55555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 66
POST ID # = 1006205
Zone55555 Reputation: 10
Default

also if you picked the extreme/enthusiast setting then it'll add an additional rad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.