The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2017, 02:15 AM
lazers lazers is offline
Registered User
lazers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 896393
lazers Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 running at 2133

Can any one help me out. RAM is running at 2133. I enabled XML in BIOS and now BIOS shows correct RAM configuration including voltage and everything. However, Windows (Task Manager, WMIC and CPU-Z) still show it as 2133.
Please help.
Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-23-2017, 05:47 AM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 896409
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Check what CPU-Z > memory tab shows for frequency. It should be 1500MHz for DDR4-3000 (because of double data rate).
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-23-2017, 03:57 PM
lazers lazers is offline
Registered User
lazers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 896505
lazers Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
check what cpu-z > memory tab shows for frequency. It should be 1500mhz for ddr4-3000 (because of double data rate).
Memory.jpg

SPD.jpg

TaskManager.jpg

WMIC.jpg
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-23-2017, 04:21 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 896511
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs down CPUZ reports the JEDEC rather than the XMP bandwidth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazers View Post
CPUZ reports the JEDEC rather than the XMP bandwidth.

The DIMMs are running at the DDR4-3000 rate and all is as it should be .

I expect the 2133 that Windows reports comes from the SMBIOS/DMI data and is also JEDEC rather than XMP.

Last edited by red-ray; 03-23-2017 at 04:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-23-2017, 04:30 PM
lazers lazers is offline
Registered User
lazers's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 896513
lazers Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-ray View Post
CPUZ reports the JEDEC rather than the XMP bandwidth.

The DIMMs are running at the DDR4-3000 rate and all is as it should be .

I expect the 2133 that Windows reports comes from the SMBIOS/DMI data and is also JEDEC rather than XMP.
Oh, ok. Makes sense. Actually these wmic and taskmanager were very confusing. Thanks
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-23-2017, 07:42 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 896546
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

NB frequency is the CPU_NB or uncore speed and has nothing to do with memory. DRAM frequency is what you are looking for and 1500MHz is exactly what it should be for DDR4-3000. So all is good.

The max bandwidth ignores Intel Extreme Memory profiles (XMP) and defaults to the fastest available standard profile, so that's why it gets reported as DDR4-2133.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-23-2017, 07:57 PM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 896550
red-ray Reputation: 81
Thumbs down But CPUZ reports it as DDR4-2132

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
The max bandwidth ignores Intel Extreme Memory profiles (XMP) and defaults to the fastest available standard profile, so that's why it gets reported as DDR4-2133.
But CPUZ reports it as DDR4-2132, not DDR4-2133. How can this be correct?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-24-2017, 09:45 PM
emissary42's Avatar
emissary42 emissary42 is offline
Registered User
emissary42's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Nehr'esham
Posts: 987
POST ID # = 896724
emissary42 emissary42 Reputation: 122
Default

Probably a rounding error because of BCLK drifting slightly below 1000MHz during initialisation, it's the same with the XMP and probably CPU-freq as well (happens on a lot of boards).
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-25-2017, 04:43 AM
red-ray red-ray is offline
Banned
red-ray's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: England (GMT+1)
Posts: 7,152
POST ID # = 896758
red-ray Reputation: 81
Sigh.. Incorrect

Quote:
Originally Posted by emissary42 View Post
Probably a rounding error because of BCLK drifting slightly below 1000MHz during initialisation, it's the same with the XMP and probably CPU-freq as well (happens on a lot of boards).
Incorrect. The SPD data is read from the DIMMs and the BCLCK has no effect at all on this.

When I mentioned this to Franck he asked me how I got the correct numbers and he is planning to update his code to do the same.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-23-2018, 10:58 PM
NimoStar NimoStar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 965170
NimoStar Reputation: 10
Default

Hello.

I'm having the very same problem... except that mine is real.

The Corsair memory is running as ddr4-2133 when it should be ddr4-2400

It is paired with a Kingston ddr4-2400 which works at the correct speed, but also slowing it down due to dual channel requirements.

As you can see from the model and other settings this Corsair memory is suppossed to have a 2400 mhz clock!







photo sharing
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-23-2018, 11:37 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,393
POST ID # = 965174
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Mixing RAM is no bueno. Look at the other timings for 2400Mhz ... they don't match. You're lucky to boot at all as they don't have any common settings.

It's always been recommended not to mix RAM but if you do, make sure that the timings match exactly. With DDR3 and earlier, you could usually get away with it a bit. DDR4 is particularly persnickety when you mix timings.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-24-2018, 09:53 AM
Corsair Art's Avatar
Corsair Art Corsair Art is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 609
POST ID # = 965226
Corsair Art Reputation: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NimoStar View Post
Hello.

I'm having the very same problem... except that mine is real.

The Corsair memory is running as ddr4-2133 when it should be ddr4-2400

It is paired with a Kingston ddr4-2400 which works at the correct speed, but also slowing it down due to dual channel requirements.

As you can see from the model and other settings this Corsair memory is suppossed to have a 2400 mhz clock!







photo sharing
Use only one or the other module and you should be fine.

-Art
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-24-2018, 10:29 AM
tiessar tiessar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 965233
tiessar Reputation: 10
Default

Just disable XMP and set your memory to 2400Mhz, it should run at 2400Mhz CL 17 or CL18 automatically.

If not set your primary timings to 17-17-17-39 CR2
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ram, ram speed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.