The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2015, 02:25 PM
FadetoGrey FadetoGrey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 765145
FadetoGrey Reputation: 10
Default Double typing or miss typing certain keys

Hello everyone!

I recently bought the vengeance k70 keyboard with MX cherry red buttons
and i have a problem with certain keys, especially with "a" and "y" that most of the time being double typed or some times missing typed.

Its been veryy very painfull issue, i am really unhappy with this issue that this keyboard have.

I spend 145€ in order to get a good keyboard, and i havent get anything good,
its even worse than my previous cheap one keyboard that replaced.

How the hell i this problem can be fixed?
I seriously can't live with this issue on my keyboard.

Thank's everyone in advance.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-09-2015, 03:59 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 765157
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

You might have key chatter

https://elitekeyboards.com/switchhitter.php

use the software there to see if you do, request an RMA. it happens from time to time and you just happen to have gotten a few bad switches.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support

Last edited by Inheritance; 03-09-2015 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-10-2015, 12:07 AM
sparkvolt sparkvolt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
POST ID # = 765236
sparkvolt Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FadetoGrey View Post
Hello everyone!

I recently bought the vengeance k70 keyboard with MX cherry red buttons
and i have a problem with certain keys, especially with "a" and "y" that most of the time being double typed or some times missing typed.

Its been veryy very painfull issue, i am really unhappy with this issue that this keyboard have.

I spend 145€ in order to get a good keyboard, and i havent get anything good,
its even worse than my previous cheap one keyboard that replaced.

How the hell i this problem can be fixed?
I seriously can't live with this issue on my keyboard.

Thank's everyone in advance.
It's surprising how many people are complaining about this issue.

You have switch chatter. Try setting polling rate to 125Hz (little switch behind your keyboard). I believe it's setting number 1. If that doesn't help you'll have to do what I did to fix mine.

Get a GOOD key cap removal tool. Don't use screwdrivers or fingers or knife or something. Remove key caps from keys exhibiting the problem. Press the switch stem down with your finger, or use something else like paperclip or a screwdriver. Use very light pressure, don't press hard on the switch. While the switch stem is down you'll see a little bit of space open up around the stem in the housing. Blow compressed air into the switch. Try to blow few short bursts. If you have some contact cleaner, put a drop or so in there and allow it to spread into the switch. Press switch with your finger rapidly (but lightly) to allow contact cleaner to work. Test your key with switchhitter. If you don't have contact cleaner, I think you can use 90% rubbing alcohol, just don't apply too much of it. You want to clean contact and not soak the entire switch.

I did this to mine and it got rid of chatter on more than 10 keys even at 1000Hz polling.

BE CAREFUL with removing key caps. Be very gentle. I didn't perform this until one of the key caps on my keyboard broke, but seeing how fragile they are as compared to some other, take extra care when removing them and putting them back onto the switch. If you press key cap at an angle you might cause the housing to break where stem enters the cap and you'll need replacements.

Or RMA it if you have receipt/invoice and wait for new one to come and pray it doesn't do the same thing in a few months :)

Good luck.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-19-2015, 05:26 PM
FadetoGrey FadetoGrey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 767351
FadetoGrey Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your response zheren159 & sparkvolt!

Unforutately, every day even more keys being problematic.

I am now sending a message for RMA to my local shop where bought the keyboard, and i am waiting for their response.

I found some work arounds in order to "fix" key chattering/bouncing like a registry tweaks, and cleaning mechanical switches.

Non of those work arounds can completely fix this issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkvolt View Post

Or RMA it if you have receipt/invoice and wait for new one to come and pray it doesn't do the same thing in a few months :)

Good luck.
I thing...the new one that would come from RMA shall i sell it and buy something else more reliable.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-19-2015, 06:24 PM
Mana Mana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 767361
Mana Reputation: 10
Default

I would keep the replacement. When you have a fully working k70, it is a lovely piece of kit. I love the feel of red cherry switches. Has made me into a typing machine!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-19-2015, 07:00 PM
FadetoGrey FadetoGrey is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 767376
FadetoGrey Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mana View Post
I would keep the replacement. When you have a fully working k70, it is a lovely piece of kit. I love the feel of red cherry switches. Has made me into a typing machine!
Well, yeah the k70 is speedy lovely keyboard and luxury.
But when those issues comes...it breaks my heart:(

Let's wait to see the RMA process how would be...
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-19-2015, 09:19 PM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 767400
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FadetoGrey View Post
Well, yeah the k70 is speedy lovely keyboard and luxury.
But when those issues comes...it breaks my heart:(

Let's wait to see the RMA process how would be...
you will need to send your old one back if you RMA from corsair. If it does have this issue again check your computer Cherry switches are very reliable.

If the second one is broken too your retailer might have gotten damaged products because of shipping.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-03-2016, 10:45 AM
xao92k xao92k is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 881135
xao92k Reputation: 10
Default

I feel like I need to revive this thread as there is zero clear information regarding it.

Apparently it is a bug with CUE and Unity Engine. You will notice if you close CUE the double tapping of certain keys stops! Not to mention mouse lag.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saurian View Post
I have the exact problem with mine. I've found that if I use the USB 2.0 ports the problem is reduced, but it does not go away. It's a regularly timed stutter which is very noticeable if you move a window around the screen, it also seems to cause keys to double-type.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-18-2016, 11:56 PM
effit7 effit7 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 882981
effit7 Reputation: 10
Default

I have had a k70 for about 2 years now and I used to love it, but about 6 months ago my volume wheel stopped working (which was one of my favorite features) and now I am having this same issue with my keys even when the Corsair Utility Engine is closed.

Last edited by effit7; 12-19-2016 at 12:03 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-19-2016, 05:34 AM
Inheritance's Avatar
Inheritance Inheritance is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere in Texas
Posts: 5,311
POST ID # = 882995
Inheritance Reputation: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xao92k View Post
I feel like I need to revive this thread as there is zero clear information regarding it.

Apparently it is a bug with CUE and Unity Engine. You will notice if you close CUE the double tapping of certain keys stops! Not to mention mouse lag.
There is clear info. The problem is called key chatter. Some people have fixed it by blowing air into the key switch. but if that doesn't help you will need to RMA the keyboard. It has nothing to do with CUE whoever told you that is wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by effit7 View Post
I have had a k70 for about 2 years now and I used to love it, but about 6 months ago my volume wheel stopped working (which was one of my favorite features) and now I am having this same issue with my keys even when the Corsair Utility Engine is closed.
Use Key hitter to check for key chatter. If it exists you will need to RMA the device.
__________________
Colors of the RAINBOW shine so bright!
USER IS NOT A CORSAIR EMPLOYEE
Come Join My Discord =(^.^)= [iCUE Guide]
Corsair USER Forums is NOT Corsair Tech Support
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-03-2017, 05:17 PM
JonnyRockford93 JonnyRockford93 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 889802
JonnyRockford93 Reputation: 10
Default Similar Issue

I have a similar issue to the original poster's problem. I have a corsair Strafe RGB Cherry MX Red keyboard, and I too have discovered some of my keys either don't register or double(or triple or continuously) types. However I found that if I keep my keyboard on Static lighting, it works 100% fine. I don't think its key chatter if it worked in one mode and not the other. I was wondering if there were any other ways to test this without the key chatter tester, as I've already used that with non-clear results. I appreciate the help and the time, everyone!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 02-04-2017, 07:00 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 889849
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Try the keyboard on another computer, Does it work fine with lighting effects running?
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 02-05-2017, 10:22 PM
madcap123 madcap123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 35
POST ID # = 890062
madcap123 Reputation: 10
Default

I think my K70 is chattering. I get the odd key that occasionally double registers and it isn't something I had when I first brought the KB (April last year). I have just tried Switch Hitter and using the default settings it didn't show any errors. I looked in settings and noticed the Chatter Threshold option which is set to 8. I upped this value to 100 just to test, and it is now reporting chattering.

Considering I notice double registers with a few keys (I am cleaning up even now) when I type, then I obviously have chattering, right?

Last edited by madcap123; 02-05-2017 at 10:24 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 02-06-2017, 02:16 PM
JonnyRockford93 JonnyRockford93 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 890146
JonnyRockford93 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Try the keyboard on another computer, Does it work fine with lighting effects running?
Yes, I tried it on my laptop and it works fine, I need to try a couple more. I'm trying to use it on my work computer, which has better specs than my 8-9 year old pc at my house, but it even worked at my home pc. It's strange
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 02-07-2017, 06:24 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 890248
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

You'll want to make sure your chipset drivers, Windows, BIOS/UEFI, etc are up to date.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.