The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2013, 09:30 AM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688008
tkout Reputation: 10
Question 20GB file copy from Neutron 512

I'm just wondering if anyone has been having a similar issue. I like to backup my copy of Guild Wars 2 being it's 20GB of .dat file and up until it reached 20GB I was able to. Now when I try to copy the file from the SSD to any directory it gets a read error.

The creator of Bvckup 2 and I have narrowed it down to firmware some where along the copy path, but that leaves me with 3 to 4 different devices two of witch the manufacturer never really releases updates for.

I was wondering if anyone else had run into this with their Neutron SSD.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 12-19-2013, 12:19 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 688123
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Have you tried a different backup software to copy the file to a different location?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 12-19-2013, 09:11 AM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688173
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, I've tried Teracopy & regular old windows copy. All have failed for some reason.

The Bvckup program give me an error code from windows here. The error is 32.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 12-20-2013, 03:28 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 688316
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

According to the error code another program is accessing it or currently using the file, Temporarily close your antivirus protection, and any unneeded background processes and see if that helps.

You can also try safe mode and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 12-20-2013, 04:52 PM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688402
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

So I use Windows Defender and I put the file and folder in the exceptions list. I'm still having the issue.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 12-21-2013, 03:34 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 688505
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Latest BIOS and chipset drivers?
Can you try a different SATA data cable and motherboard port?
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 12-21-2013, 08:38 AM
BigRat's Avatar
BigRat BigRat is offline
Registered User
BigRat's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 688532
BigRat Reputation: 10
Default

If something is wrong, it may cause your FAT.
Corect me if I am wrong, but as far as I remember, old FAT (like FAT16) don't likes big files.
What is your drive FAT? NTFS? or FAT32?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 12-22-2013, 01:07 PM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688712
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

After looking at it again, I got the error wrong. It's 23 no 32. Sorry!

So it's ERROR_CRC.

I have the latest firmwares for for the Neutron and the systemboard. This wasn't an issue until the file got to the size it currently it. I was able to copy it when it was 18gb, it's just since it has reached the 20gb size.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-23-2013, 03:41 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 688840
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

Have you tried a different SATA data cable and motherboard port?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 12-23-2013, 08:49 AM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688857
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

I will swap where the drive is in the drive cage tonight to check.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-23-2013, 05:56 PM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688940
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

Swapped it to a different bay in the drive bay and it still produced the same error.

I'm running on a X79 board with AHCI enabled and Intel RST driver v12.8.0.1016 isntalled on Windows 8.1 Professional x64.

It looks like there is a new bios for my sys board, I'm going to load and try that.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 12-23-2013, 06:30 PM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 688945
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

No go on the new sys board firmware. Still erroring out on copy of the file from the SSD.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 12-23-2013, 10:05 PM
snfo snfo is offline
Registered User
snfo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 165
POST ID # = 688984
snfo Reputation: 31
Default

Have you done a check disk?
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 12-23-2013, 10:28 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 688985
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

I'm coming in late here but have you tried copying a different 20GB file to the disk? Also, can you .zip or .rar the file and try it?
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 12-24-2013, 10:05 AM
tkout tkout is offline
Registered User
tkout's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 93
POST ID # = 689071
tkout Reputation: 10
Default

I've been trying to copy from. Are you asking me to copy a 20GB file to the SSD Yellowbeard?

Also Check disk results:

Stage 1: Examining basic file system structure ...

Stage 2: Examining file name linkage ...

Stage 3: Examining security descriptors ...

Windows has scanned the file system and found no problems.
No further action is required.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.