The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2009, 05:52 PM
magictoaster magictoaster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 420874
magictoaster Reputation: 10
Default Serious alignments issues with new Obsidian

I'm having serious alignments issues with the case. It's so bad that even when pushing the back of the case to align the screw holes, the PCIe cards do not go in completely. Never had issues like this with any cases I've owned. Really disappointing.

Last edited by magictoaster; 10-13-2009 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-13-2009, 08:41 PM
slamscaper's Avatar
slamscaper slamscaper is offline
Registered User
slamscaper's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 47
POST ID # = 420918
slamscaper Reputation: 10
Default

Wow, another poor soul with alignment issues... I feel your pain. Sounds like an RMA is in order. I wouldn't try forcing expensive GPU's to fit and risk damaging them or your mobo. If you can't get them to fit even after a bit of persuasion then it's not even worth trying.

Like I said, unless you want to get real crazy with some power tools, RMA it.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-14-2009, 11:29 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 421015
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would first try loosening up the motherboard screws and see if you can gradually adjust the motherboards position in the case to get better alignment. Let us know how it goes!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-14-2009, 12:59 PM
magictoaster magictoaster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 421040
magictoaster Reputation: 10
Default

That's the first thing I tried, but the misalignment is so bad that even pushing (to the point of popping a rivet) on the back of the case does not help. The PCIe card will not go in completely. I've tried with two motherboards (ASUS and EVGA) with the same results. Everything lineup perfectly in a SilverStone TJ-10, and in an old Antec P180, so it's definitely an issue with the Obsidian.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-14-2009, 07:41 PM
magictoaster magictoaster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
POST ID # = 421152
magictoaster Reputation: 10
Default

I was contacted by George from Corsair earlier today and if the replacement case I get back from the store suffers from the same issue, I know Corsair will take care of it! Thank for the quick follow-up!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:55 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,268
POST ID # = 421264
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magictoaster View Post
I was contacted by George from Corsair earlier today and if the replacement case I get back from the store suffers from the same issue, I know Corsair will take care of it! Thank for the quick follow-up!
Thanks for the update, let us know if you have any problems with the replacement!
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.