The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2009, 09:09 AM
ramana ramana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 416876
ramana Reputation: 10
Default 800D dual loop setup?

What would be the ideal way to mount a dual loop in the 800D? Would it be possible to stack two 120.3 radiators on top of each other at the top of the case? I don't think there will be any room at the bottom for a radiator but I could be wrong... Any ideas?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-17-2009, 01:29 PM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 432
POST ID # = 416933
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramana View Post
What would be the ideal way to mount a dual loop in the 800D? Would it be possible to stack two 120.3 radiators on top of each other at the top of the case? I don't think there will be any room at the bottom for a radiator but I could be wrong... Any ideas?
Can I ask WHY you would need this kind of setup?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-17-2009, 02:20 PM
Dallanar Dallanar is offline
Registered User
Dallanar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Posts: 142
POST ID # = 416942
Dallanar Reputation: 10
Default Me Too!!

I am also wondering if a radiator will fit in the bottom of the 800D. I was looking at trying to remove the lower hard drive tray for a small radiator placement in the bottom. As for a reason, well, I am running the Classified Mobo with the EK NB/SB full waterblock, 3 Vid Cards (eventually 4 with Physx), and the H30 RAM cooler. I am also installing the H50 but depending on the temps from OC, I may have to switch to a different CPU waterblock. I think that is a bit much for a single Feser 360 but I am fairly new to W/C so I could be wrong. I know this is likely overkill, but I play several accounts of my game on one computer, essentially 3 boxing on one computer so I wanted it to run as cool as I can while maintaining high Graphics quality. Plus, I have the money for it to spend finally :) and this is my dream build. Please don't crush my dreams :)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-17-2009, 04:43 PM
ramana ramana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 416962
ramana Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x509 View Post
Can I ask WHY you would need this kind of setup?
Because a single loop isn't enough to handle a OC'd i7 with SLI. One loop for CPU/Northbridge, one loop for GPU's.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-17-2009, 07:39 PM
ramana ramana is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 416989
ramana Reputation: 10
Default

I figure I can mount a 120.3 radiator on the top and mount another 120.3 on the back. I found there are two big holes going through the back of the 800D to accommodate tubing for a radiator mounted on the back.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-20-2009, 10:50 AM
Chills Chills is offline
Registered User
Chills's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 417342
Chills Reputation: 10
Send a message via MSN to Chills
Sigh.. ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramana View Post
Because a single loop isn't enough to handle a OC'd i7 with SLI. One loop for CPU/Northbridge, one loop for GPU's.
Have u done any research about your claim of not enough cooling power with one 120.3 radiator????
I am cooling te following parts of my clasified:
-CPU
-GPU
-Mozfet
-N/S Bridge
-Raid card controller

and my temps are looking good, the only thing is that i have a 120.3 with a 120.1 in the back of the case just before the gpu and raid card.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-20-2009, 07:01 PM
boredgunner's Avatar
boredgunner boredgunner is offline
Hardware Enthusiast
boredgunner's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lingshan Islands
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 417368
boredgunner Reputation: 10
Default

360 rad on top, how about a 240 hanging outside the back on a radbox? Or a 360 like you said, if you're confident it will hold up fine.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-21-2009, 04:49 PM
Mr_Armageddon's Avatar
Mr_Armageddon Mr_Armageddon is offline
Registered User
Mr_Armageddon's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 238
POST ID # = 417524
Mr_Armageddon Reputation: 10
Default

You shuuld be able to mount a 240 Rad on the bottom with some basic modification. It will involve removing the bottom hard drive cage (popping out a few rivets).

I plan on doing this myself. 120.3 on top for CPU & Chipset, 240 on bottom for 2 GPUs in SLI. I will be sure and post some pictures once I am done. The case should be here on Thursday. Check out this post to get an idea of what I will be doing. The case pictured is not the 800D, but you will get the idea.

240 Rad on Bottom
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-21-2009, 06:45 PM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 432
POST ID # = 417533
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramana View Post
Because a single loop isn't enough to handle a OC'd i7 with SLI. One loop for CPU/Northbridge, one loop for GPU's.
Can you post specifics. E.g. the heat given off by each component like the CPU or Northbridge, and the cooling capacity of the 120.3 radiator.

Also, since I'm a w/c noob, if you have two loops, does that mean two pumps and two resevoirs, or can one pump and resevoir handle both loops?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-21-2009, 11:59 PM
Dallanar Dallanar is offline
Registered User
Dallanar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Posts: 142
POST ID # = 417575
Dallanar Reputation: 10
Default Lower Radiator

If you are going to put a 240 in the bottom, I am assuming you will be cutting holes in the bottom. Are you going to put the fans as intakes or exhaust? I am planning on the same type of setup but I am a litte worried about case pressure. I was planning on having my fans exhaust the air to the bottom but was worried about the intake fan pulling the hot air right back into the case.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.