The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 96 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #121  
Old 10-29-2013, 03:39 PM
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Registered User
Nitemare3219's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 680525
Nitemare3219 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gameaholic View Post
Does this mean there may be a compatibility issue with the Asus Sabertooth z87?
I am using this case with my Z87 Sabertooth with the armor. No issues.
Reply With Quote


  #122  
Old 10-29-2013, 05:39 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 680544
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Nightmare, did you have to do anything out of the norm to get the armor installed?
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #123  
Old 10-30-2013, 03:14 AM
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Registered User
Nitemare3219's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 680585
Nitemare3219 Reputation: 20
Default

Negative. Left the thermal armor on the front and back of the motherboard and it slipped on fine. I did have to shimmy it around a bit to get the holes to line up, but it only took a few minutes and some lighting to see where I needed to push. I was quite confused by not having traditional standoffs, as well as the single standoff that is actually present (does not have a screw hole), and I had a traditional standoff fall out of the accessory box when I opened it... found this thread thankfully with the answer.

I am also using a top mounted H100i in P/P with SP120's and was able to install it with the motherboard in place. I did have to remove the H100i to place the CPU power cable in, then push fairly hard for the cables to bend out of the way to make it fit back into place... for anyone else going this route.
Reply With Quote


  #124  
Old 10-31-2013, 06:09 AM
phillyman36 phillyman36 is offline
Registered User
phillyman36's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 680736
phillyman36 Reputation: 10
Default

Just wondering if anyone has noticed if the usb port(front panel) seem a little loose? When unplugging my iphone usb cord from the port it seems to be a little loose.
Reply With Quote


  #125  
Old 10-31-2013, 11:41 PM
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Registered User
Nitemare3219's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 680878
Nitemare3219 Reputation: 20
Default

There are four ports, which one? I haven't noticed anything... in fact it's quite a tight fit for me to get anything in there.
Reply With Quote


  #126  
Old 11-04-2013, 05:33 AM
phillyman36 phillyman36 is offline
Registered User
phillyman36's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 681259
phillyman36 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitemare3219 View Post
There are four ports, which one? I haven't noticed anything... in fact it's quite a tight fit for me to get anything in there.
The 2 usb 2 ports on the right. They are tight it just feels like when i remove a usb cable it almost feels like the actual port could eventually come out if you plug and remove a usb cable on a regular basis
Reply With Quote


  #127  
Old 11-04-2013, 01:33 PM
PeterMac PeterMac is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 681301
PeterMac Reputation: 10
Default

Here's my preview what Corsair should do with this case

http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/6473/vozf.png

- redesign front 5,25 bays, and add mesh to front panel

Also what should be nice to improve:

- power supply dust filter removable to the side not to back (many people have case near wall)
- side panels easy access with laches like in 650D.


@Corsair SimplyOrange - do you send my suggestions to the product manager ?

____
btw 900D mod front panel


Last edited by PeterMac; 11-09-2013 at 07:47 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #128  
Old 11-14-2013, 05:15 PM
Don_J Don_J is offline
Registered User
Don_J's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 682713
Don_J Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitemare3219 View Post
Negative. Left the thermal armor on the front and back of the motherboard and it slipped on fine. I did have to shimmy it around a bit to get the holes to line up, but it only took a few minutes and some lighting to see where I needed to push. I was quite confused by not having traditional standoffs, as well as the single standoff that is actually present (does not have a screw hole), and I had a traditional standoff fall out of the accessory box when I opened it... found this thread thankfully with the answer.

I am also using a top mounted H100i in P/P with SP120's and was able to install it with the motherboard in place. I did have to remove the H100i to place the CPU power cable in, then push fairly hard for the cables to bend out of the way to make it fit back into place... for anyone else going this route.
How did you manage to install the H100i? I have the same set-up but I couldn't get the back mounting bracket to fit without wiggle. Its just loose. I thought this was because of the fact that there were no regular motherboard standoffs installed.
Reply With Quote


  #129  
Old 11-14-2013, 08:35 PM
wytnyt's Avatar
wytnyt wytnyt is offline
`~~`
wytnyt's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Posts: 8,107
POST ID # = 682745
wytnyt wytnyt Reputation: 159
Send a message via ICQ to wytnyt Send a message via AIM to wytnyt Send a message via Yahoo to wytnyt Send a message via Skype™ to wytnyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_J View Post
How did you manage to install the H100i? I have the same set-up but I couldn't get the back mounting bracket to fit without wiggle. Its just loose. I thought this was because of the fact that there were no regular motherboard standoffs installed.
the backplate will be a little loose til the cooler is mounted,,.but there are a couple m/b's that are made thinner and using a nylon washer will work to snug things up...
__________________
My 4930k Air 540 Custom Loop Build Pics
http://s39.photobucket.com/user/wytn...?sort=3&page=1
Reply With Quote


  #130  
Old 11-16-2013, 03:18 PM
Don_J Don_J is offline
Registered User
Don_J's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 683006
Don_J Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wytnyt View Post
the backplate will be a little loose til the cooler is mounted,,.but there are a couple m/b's that are made thinner and using a nylon washer will work to snug things up...
Thanks, got it installed. I thought it was loose because the case didn't have standard motherboard standoffs. It really is an awesome case, and theres so much room inside.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (840.3 KB, 2193 views)
Reply With Quote


  #131  
Old 11-18-2013, 01:18 PM
Joeychgo Joeychgo is offline
Registered User
Joeychgo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 21
POST ID # = 683254
Joeychgo Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterMac View Post
Here's my preview what Corsair should do with this case

http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/6473/vozf.png

- redesign front 5,25 bays, and add mesh to front panel

Also what should be nice to improve:

- power supply dust filter removable to the side not to back (many people have case near wall)
- side panels easy access with laches like in 650D.


@Corsair SimplyOrange - do you send my suggestions to the product manager ?
That's great - I would like to see it with a front design like the Carbide Air 540
Attached Images
File Type: png air540_front.png (178.6 KB, 250 views)

Last edited by Joeychgo; 11-18-2013 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #132  
Old 11-19-2013, 12:16 AM
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Registered User
Nitemare3219's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 683328
Nitemare3219 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_J View Post
Thanks, got it installed. I thought it was loose because the case didn't have standard motherboard standoffs. It really is an awesome case, and theres so much room inside.
Sorry for the late reply.. glad the other guy got to you.

I panicked about this myself... sort of... once I figured out it was quite loose. My H100i liquid temps were fairly low during loads... only going up to 33~ degrees. Once I decided to swap cases, I obviously had to remove the block and re-mount... it was then that I saw this!:




Clearly an issue! Backplate was loose... very loose. I didn't have washers on hand, so I used rubber o-rings that fit the size. The goal is to have the ends which you tighten the block down to flush with the PCB, not sticking out of it as it was before.

My CPU temps are the same, really... must be that lovely TIM on the 4770k. Water temps go up to 40~ easily now though, so it's obviously improved.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20131028_164439.jpg (441.5 KB, 3854 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20131028_164546.jpg (242.9 KB, 4833 views)
Reply With Quote


  #133  
Old 11-19-2013, 10:05 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 683392
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Nightmare , turn the cooling block 90 degrees one way or the other. Hoses at the top or bottom. It looks like it is sitting on the caps to the left. It's a known issue with some boards, and the tell tale sign is the thermal paste only spread on one half of the CPU. If you notice it's not present on the left side where the caps are.

Your temps should drop significantly then.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.

Last edited by peanutz94; 11-19-2013 at 10:07 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #134  
Old 11-26-2013, 09:02 AM
abn505 abn505 is offline
Registered User
abn505's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 94
POST ID # = 684515
abn505 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillyman36 View Post
The 2 usb 2 ports on the right. They are tight it just feels like when i remove a usb cable it almost feels like the actual port could eventually come out if you plug and remove a usb cable on a regular basis

I have the same issue, the 2 USB 2.0 ports on the right feel like they want to pull out when removing the usb cable. My power LED doesn't work either. The case is two weeks old. They are sending me a new IO panel. It kind of sucks I will have to rewire the cables again.
Reply With Quote


  #135  
Old 11-28-2013, 11:32 PM
Nitemare3219 Nitemare3219 is offline
Registered User
Nitemare3219's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
POST ID # = 684943
Nitemare3219 Reputation: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanutz94 View Post
Nightmare , turn the cooling block 90 degrees one way or the other. Hoses at the top or bottom. It looks like it is sitting on the caps to the left. It's a known issue with some boards, and the tell tale sign is the thermal paste only spread on one half of the CPU. If you notice it's not present on the left side where the caps are.

Your temps should drop significantly then.
Caps are a non-issue on this board. With it mounted, I can clearly see they are beside the block/not beneath or touching it. I can see where it looked like that may have been the issue though!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.