The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2011, 11:58 AM
Kriss Kriss is offline
Registered User
Kriss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 489123
Kriss Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Kriss
Default [F120] Performance in Crystal mark info.

Hi Corsair Folks,

i have a question for which i did not found any answer here.

Why is the performance in Crystal Disk Mark dropping where the performance in ATTO is remaining constant. Is the actual performance on my SSD dropping or is it just some software display error.
I am currently running firmware ver. 1.1 and default win 7 drivers.

At first results in Crystal Disk mark and ATTO were the same, now you can see it for yourself in the attached Shots....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F120_current_performance_ATTOv2.34.jpg (103.3 KB, 358 views)
File Type: jpg F120_Current_Performance_CrystalDiskMark_v3.0.jpg (72.5 KB, 556 views)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-14-2011, 12:41 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,529
POST ID # = 489129
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=89316
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-14-2011, 01:02 PM
Kriss Kriss is offline
Registered User
Kriss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 489134
Kriss Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Kriss
Default

Hi YB,

thanks for the rapid answer. The link what you have posted in concerning info issues with Crystal Disk INFO and i am asking about Crystal disk MARK. There for I kind of don't find my answer in that link.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-14-2011, 01:08 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,529
POST ID # = 489135
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
Hi YB,

thanks for the rapid answer. The link what you have posted in concerning info issues with Crystal Disk INFO and i am asking about Crystal disk MARK. There for I kind of don't find my answer in that link.
Ooops.

ATTO and CDM use different types of data for their testing. The original specifications for the drives were determined and validated using ATTO. So, comparing the 2 will not be useful.

Also, 2 things to keep in mind.

1. Repeated benchmarking is not good for SSD health. It places increasingly larger portions of the SSD blocks into an used or filled state which will necessitate cleaning manually via a secure erase or cleaning via TRIM. If you are not having issues, I'd suggest you limit your benchmarking.

2. As an SSD gets more filled, the performance will slow. Benchmarking rapidly speeds this process.

As with SMART data, if you are not having issues, ignore these utilities.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-15-2011, 04:45 AM
Kriss Kriss is offline
Registered User
Kriss's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 489268
Kriss Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Kriss
Default

So you are telling me that if the SSD stays occupied with a constantly amount of data and I run a Crystal Mark test on it. After wards if i want to run again the same test and want to get the same result i have to let first the TRIM function to do its job for a certain amount time before running the same test. Otherwise I'll get worse results... Am i getting you right ?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-15-2011, 11:32 AM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,157
POST ID # = 489310
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriss View Post
So you are telling me that if the SSD stays occupied with a constantly amount of data and I run a Crystal Mark test on it. After wards if i want to run again the same test and want to get the same result i have to let first the TRIM function to do its job for a certain amount time before running the same test. Otherwise I'll get worse results... Am i getting you right ?
Yes this is true but even TRIM cannot save you from long-time degradation that is inevitable as well.
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.