The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:21 PM
snowball666 snowball666 is offline
Registered User
snowball666's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 976711
snowball666 Reputation: 10
Default 10,000+ RPM reported fan speed

On 2 of my 5 fans. Judging by sound they are actually spinning under 900RPM.



They speed reported fluctuated between 3,000 and 20,000 RPM. Mostly staying in the 5-8K range.

I forced a firmware flash on the commander pro, and installed todays iCUE update. With no change.

EDIT: these are 3 pin fans, stetting panel auto or 3pin makes no difference.

Fans are rated for 1,900RPM at 12V

They are reported correctly and are controlable when not connected to the commander pro.

Last edited by snowball666; 10-16-2018 at 08:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2018, 08:34 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,979
POST ID # = 976713
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

Usually when you see impossible values reported, there is a software conflict with another monitoring program. Are you running AIDA, HWiNFO, AI Suite or something similar?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2018, 09:06 PM
snowball666 snowball666 is offline
Registered User
snowball666's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 976717
snowball666 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Usually when you see impossible values reported, there is a software conflict with another monitoring program. Are you running AIDA, HWiNFO, AI Suite or something similar?
Nothing else running. Did a restart and checked task manager processes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2018, 11:05 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,979
POST ID # = 976724
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 104
Default

If software conflict is ruled out, then it's probably time to move the two misreporting fans. Swap 5 & 6 with 1 & 2 and see if the erroneous speeds travel with the fan or stay on the headers 5 & 6. There have been a few fans that don't seem to do well with the Commander Pro. It would be good to find out if it's that or a bad unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.