The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2018, 04:29 AM
gjvanzyl gjvanzyl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 964490
gjvanzyl Reputation: 10
Default iCUE Software [CorsairService] High CPU

Hi

Got a new VOID PRO RGB Wireless headset.

Since installing the iCUE software the CorsairService keeps nailing my WMI service. Constantly using about 15-20% CPU. Updated to the latest dongle firmware and software, still happening.

If I stop the service, WMI settles down but then the headset lights go disco mode...

Is this normal?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2018, 07:24 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,027
POST ID # = 964526
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Can you confirm you iCUE version? The latest is 3.5.111. I am afraid disco mode is standard when you kill the app/service and relinquish control.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2018, 10:06 AM
Attack No.1 Attack No.1 is offline
Registered User
Attack No.1's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 964731
Attack No.1 Reputation: 10
Default

I’m getting this with my RGB STRAFE keyboard, so I uninstalled ICUE and it drops. Latest version and version before. This ICUE software isn’t going down well.

Last edited by Attack No.1; 07-22-2018 at 06:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2018, 02:56 AM
gjvanzyl gjvanzyl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 965367
gjvanzyl Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
Can you confirm you iCUE version? The latest is 3.5.111. I am afraid disco mode is standard when you kill the app/service and relinquish control.
Correct. Using the same latest version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Attack No.1 View Post
I’m getting this with my RGB STRAFE keyboard, so I uninstalled ICUE and it drops. Latest version and version before. This ICUE software isn’t going down well.
Found a workaround. I stopped and disabled the "Corsair Service" windows services. (services.msc) Load the iCUE software afterwards. This stops disco lights and does not nail my CPU
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-25-2018, 10:28 PM
J_Wildfire_T J_Wildfire_T is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 965551
J_Wildfire_T Reputation: 10
Default

I'd just like to add that I too have just discovered that ICUE v3.5.111 had been the root cause of all my games momentarily freezing for about 1-2seconds every 5mins or so.
I have reinstalled Windows 7 and even tried Window 10 to eliminate possibilities.

I had to watch the processes list set to CPU usage to catch it. Once I fully disable iCUE all is well, no game lag. Like the previous poster, my WMI service is being hit hard. I can see both Corsair.Service.exe and WmiPrvSE.exe bouncing about and then they both spike.

What's even more strange is that if I do an iCUE repair installation everything's fine for a day or so but then all of a sudden it starts up again out of the blue.

I really hope Corsair on this and that a fix is swiftly forthcoming.
If I strip out my Corsair Lighting Node Pro (Sell it off) I can go back to the 2nd gen CUE software quite happily.

Update: Went back to CUE v2.24.50. I loose the Node Pro (Going to sell it off) but that's a trade im more than willing to make to have my lighting effects and be able to play at the same time.
I'm sticking with this version until the iCUE BETA ends. Slapped wrists for Corsair for promoting iCUE when it's still in BETA and not making it clear so.
I will be alerting everyone when streaming regarding this temp fix.

Last edited by J_Wildfire_T; 07-27-2018 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Updating testing results. Naught Corsair! Dissapointed in you guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2018, 10:55 AM
eqwe eqwe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 969596
eqwe Reputation: 10
Default

Just wanted to report that this seems to be fixed in 3.6.109
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2019, 08:00 AM
nullpointerexpe nullpointerexpe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 1012329
nullpointerexpe Reputation: 10
Default Still an issue in iCUE v3.17.94

I've found this to still be an issue with the latest version of iCUE (v3.17.94 - Plus a K95 RGB Platinum). I've found that the process is causing the WMI Service Provider (WMIPrvSE) to absolutely SPAM the registry - it almost like it is constantly scanning for new hardware in a tight loop without any kind of sleep.

I've opened a ticket with Corsair support giving them screenshots, and dumps from Sysinternals Process Monitor and Process Explorer.

* Fingers crossed *

WMIPrvSE Process Monitor Log.zip

WMIPrvSE Process Info.zip

WMI Provider Host Spamming Registry.jpg

Last edited by nullpointerexpe; 07-24-2019 at 08:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2019, 04:50 PM
VannevarB2 VannevarB2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1013280
VannevarB2 Reputation: 10
Default

Chiming in that I am also seeing high CPU usage by WMI, and can confirm that stopping the Corsair Service eliminates this issue. Process Monitor shows hundreds of thousands of registry events in just minutes from WMI while the Corsair Service is running. Surface Book with latest updates here.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2019, 11:47 AM
VannevarB2 VannevarB2 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 1013982
VannevarB2 Reputation: 10
Default

Still an issue in 3.18.77 release; only disabling and stopping Corsair Service resolves the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cue, high cpu, icue, software, wmi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.