The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:48 AM
ArTiqR ArTiqR is offline
Registered User
ArTiqR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 849550
ArTiqR Reputation: 10
Post FIX: CUE Installation Freezes OS at "Driver Install 1/2"

So after trying every, and I do mean EVERY possible thing, and still failing to install the CUE for my new K70 RGB, I've found the only way to install it is:
  • Let it fail, force reboot.
  • Copy the installation files from a working install, into install destination "C:\Program Files (x86)\Corsair\Corsair Utility Engine" (my Surface got this ... questionable software installed without any issues)
  • And yeah it works now >.>

Eh, I wish someone had written this and saved me hours of trial and error madness.. (Corsair please fix).
Here is a download link for the files if you lack a second PC that magically can install this software.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-24-2016, 03:37 AM
blackanode blackanode is offline
Registered User
blackanode's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 854254
blackanode Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you so much for this!!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-07-2016, 06:25 PM
DigsRGBs DigsRGBs is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 866122
DigsRGBs Reputation: 10
Default

Wow! YOU ROCK! Finally a fix! Is there any way to get Corsair to sticky this at the top of their fix list?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-08-2016, 09:58 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 866253
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

This isn't addressing the problem of why it does this and doing it this way will also mean the drivers (audio and the corsair virtual input device drivers) may not install correctly.

I'm glad it works as a temporary workaround but its more important to understand why this occurred. From what I gathered so far, it typically is a permissions issue within the registry that prevents the drivers from installing.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-08-2016, 10:57 PM
Trinich Trinich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 870709
Trinich Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corsair James View Post
This isn't addressing the problem of why it does this and doing it this way will also mean the drivers (audio and the corsair virtual input device drivers) may not install correctly.

I'm glad it works as a temporary workaround but its more important to understand why this occurred. From what I gathered so far, it typically is a permissions issue within the registry that prevents the drivers from installing.
Have you guys made any progress on this? I've been scouring for a solution, and now I can't download that guys files because its had too much traffic. I just posted a thread about this today because I couldn't find an answer, only to find this post from a month ago after the fact. A little disheartening to see there's no resolution.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-30-2016, 12:33 PM
htmlboss htmlboss is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 877286
htmlboss Reputation: 10
Default

I'm still having the same issue, and the download link has been disabled >.>
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-31-2016, 07:39 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19,344
POST ID # = 877377
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 108
Default

If you have a second PC, install CUE on it then retrieve the files from the driver folder and move it over to your computer.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-31-2016, 01:00 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,449
POST ID # = 877414
Corsair James Reputation: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trinich View Post
Have you guys made any progress on this? I've been scouring for a solution, and now I can't download that guys files because its had too much traffic. I just posted a thread about this today because I couldn't find an answer, only to find this post from a month ago after the fact. A little disheartening to see there's no resolution.
The issue isn't related to CUE - its going to be system specific. Unless you can find a direct root cause as to what causes the conflict with CUE and others can reproduce, we can't fix it. If it is determined to be a system issue, then CUE can't be patched to fix it either.
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-16-2016, 08:50 PM
Metalios's Avatar
Metalios Metalios is offline
Twitch.tv's Metalios
Metalios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 879239
Metalios Reputation: 10
Sly

I have noticed quite a few people are having this issue. This is a simple fix which seems to work on multiple systems.

.:::Simple FIX:::.
  1. Open Control Panel
  2. Click User Accounts
  3. Click User Accounts (again)
  4. Click Change User Account Control Settings
  5. Drag slider to the bottom to turn off UAC.
  6. Click Okay
  7. Log off of your user profile
  8. Log back in
  9. Install Corsair Engine Utility
  10. ENJOY!!!

.:::Questions & Answers:::.

Q: What does this fix do?
A: Just turns off UAC to avoid permission issues while installing CUE.

Q: Can I turn UAC back on afterwards?
A: You sure can. Simply repeat steps 1-8 to turn UAC back on. (Note: On step 5 you will drag the slider to the 2nd notch thus putting it back at default.)

Q: How many machines have you tested this with?
A: This has worked on 7 different machines at the moment.

Last edited by Metalios; 11-16-2016 at 09:04 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-18-2016, 09:21 AM
ucfmat ucfmat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 879399
ucfmat Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalios View Post
I have noticed quite a few people are having this issue. This is a simple fix which seems to work on multiple systems.

.:::Simple FIX:::.
  1. Open Control Panel
  2. Click User Accounts
  3. Click User Accounts (again)
  4. Click Change User Account Control Settings
  5. Drag slider to the bottom to turn off UAC.
  6. Click Okay
  7. Log off of your user profile
  8. Log back in
  9. Install Corsair Engine Utility
  10. ENJOY!!!

.:::Questions & Answers:::.

Q: What does this fix do?
A: Just turns off UAC to avoid permission issues while installing CUE.

Q: Can I turn UAC back on afterwards?
A: You sure can. Simply repeat steps 1-8 to turn UAC back on. (Note: On step 5 you will drag the slider to the 2nd notch thus putting it back at default.)

Q: How many machines have you tested this with?
A: This has worked on 7 different machines at the moment.
I can confirm that this did not solve my problem of freezing at Driver Install. Every release so far has frozen at driver install. The only thing that has worked has been the workaround mentioned in the first post...which is not ideal.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 12-27-2018, 07:00 PM
Maj.Kickas Maj.Kickas is offline
Registered User
Maj.Kickas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 987280
Maj.Kickas Reputation: 10
Default

Try this it fixed my problem with loading ICUE software...
I found a fix for my computer by removing the SATA cable from my optical drive, before you do this shut down your computer and then install the ICUE software...
Hope this helps someone!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
cue, driver install 1/2, freeze, installation failed, windows 10

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.