Corsair Community

H100i v2 not detected by computer

kbostic

Hello all. I've just recently built my first pc and everything seems to be working alright, except my H100i v2 isn't being detected by the system and the fans are running loudly. It isn't listed in Devices and Printers, nor in Device Manager or Link 4. I'm very new to this and a lot of what I've read and researched in order to fix my problem is a bit confusing to me, so I apologize in advance for my newbishness!

The fans were initially running at full blast. I read that I needed to disable fan control for the cpu fan in the BIOS, but was unable to find a way to do that with my motherboard (evga z170 classified k). I read elsewhere that I should turn it up to max instead and so did that and the fans seemed to be running how they should for a bit, but after a restart the fans have reverted back to full blast (or almost full blast).

Also, my system isn't detecting the cooler at all. I have the mini usb plugged in correctly, connecting the cooler pump to the usb header on the bottom of the motherboard. I've tried using a different mini usb to usb cable to connect the pump to a usb on the back of the tower, but same results. I'm not sure if this is important, but before, when I got the fans to seemingly work correctly and not run constantly at full, the LED on the pump was a bright white as opposed to the dim blue it was before I changed the cpu fan settings in the BIOS. I attempted another try to see if the mini usb to usb cable would work, but it caused the fans to go back to being loud again. Switching back the the cable that came with the H100i v2 has not fixed it. Still loud.

Any help is greatly appreciated! I apologize if this is a confusing mess, and that I haven't attached any images. I'm not entirely sure what would be helpful at this moment in time, but am willing to provide them should you need any.

Do you have similar to http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/322241402344 you could use to power it?