The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:12 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978626
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Question HD Fans Hub To MSI Jcorsair Connector cable

do i have to buy a lighting node pro to get this cable?
i im planning on buying a new pc, with the MSI Z370 Carbon Pro
do you get the cable with the MOBO or do you have to but the lighting node pro for that cable?

thx for answers in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:24 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 978627
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

What cable are you looking for? A cable for a fan hub? A cable for lighting strips? What are you trying to connect to the JCORSAIR header?

Have you looked at the RGB FAQ (linked in my signature)?
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:34 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978628
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Default

its the corsair HD Hub i'm having problems understanding the cable that is needed for the Jcorsair Header on the Mobo fx in this vid
where he connects the hub to the Mobo, it's that cable im confused with
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:43 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 978631
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

That should be a standard Fan Hub cable. I don't know why they have a 3-wire connection on there. The JCORSAIR header should provide +5V on pin 1 - and the Fan Hub also provides +5V on Pin 1. So they have two "Power Out" connections connected to each other. I cannot imagine that this is a good idea.

What you would need is a standard RGB LED Fan Hub cable - 3 pins / 2 wires. It provides Data (pin 2) and Ground (pin 3). Pin 1 is not required.

The +5V on Pin 1 is for powering the RGB LED Strips - the Fan Hub has its own power connection and doesn't need input power on Pin 1. The +5V on the Fan Hub input connector is for powering the push-button controllers for the HD and SP fans.

Hope that clears things up for you.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:52 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978634
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Default

where can you get that Rgb Led fan hub cable?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:55 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 978636
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

You can make them (see my signature) or, AFAIK, the only place to get that cable by itself is here: https://www.ebay.com/sch/piratedog_tech/m.html.

You do get 2 of them with both the Commander Pro and the Lighting Node Pro. Which would be somewhat moot if you are planning on using the JCORSAIR header.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 11-02-2018, 10:58 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978638
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Default

ok, these cables are wayyyy to expensive. is it not just a better idea to get the lighting node pro, and then use that?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:04 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 978640
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Well, the Lighting Node Pro isn't sold by itself, only with 4 strips (https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego.../CL-9011109-WW)

That said, you'd get far better control and more effects with a NoPro and iCue. And some lighting strips as well.

As for the expense - you can always make your own. Or, if you are comfortable with it, some folks have used RaspPi-style jumper cables.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:12 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978642
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Default

ok, just to clarify. I can use buy the NoPro set and then use my hub with that.
ps. what Z370 Mobo do you recommend
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:15 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,682
POST ID # = 978644
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParkJongMin View Post
ok, just to clarify. I can use buy the NoPro set and then use my hub with that.
You can. I just got a new NoPro/Lighting Strips pack and it came with 2 fan hub cables.

As for the z370 board ... cannot say. And, TBH, at this point, I'd get a Z390 if I was getting an Intel board.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 11-02-2018, 11:40 AM
ParkJongMin ParkJongMin is offline
Registered User
ParkJongMin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 978648
ParkJongMin Reputation: 10
Default

alright, I think this wraps it up, thank you so much for the help! I really appreciate it!
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 11-02-2018, 05:23 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,705
POST ID # = 978700
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

to add to this........

Inside the box for the above Motherboard there are an assortment of included accessories which include:

• User Manual
• Quick Start Guide
• Register Leaflet
• Driver CD
• Rear IO Shield
• SLI HB Bridge
• Dual-band Wireless-AC 8265 Card w/ two antennas
• 4x SATA Cables
Corsair Link Cable
• RGB lighting cables

Last edited by Zotty; 11-02-2018 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.