The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2010, 02:18 PM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 472247
too Reputation: 10
Question Corsair Dominator DDR2 8GB on Asus P5Q

I have 4x2 sticks of Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066Mhz on a MOBO Asus P5Q.
The mobo supports memory with 1200Mhz on DDR2.
The problem is that I can´t get the memories run less them 5-6-6-18-3-52-6-3 on 1066Mhz. If I change any of those the system won´t post.

The best I could get was these timings with manual settings on:
CPU PLL Voltage: 1.52
FSB Termination Voltage: 1.24
DRAM Voltage: 2.10
NB Voltage: 1.12
SB Voltage: 1.10

Yes I´m a noob in O.C. I´ve been reading a lot but I still don´t know what should I do to get them running faster and stable.
I would like lower latencies or higher frequencies, I´m afraid to burn the sticks though, since I can´t measure the temps of them.
How far can I go with all this ram on my mobo and how can I do it?

Thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-19-2010, 02:33 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,189
POST ID # = 472249
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Is this 2 kits of CMD4GX2M2A1066C5? If so, there's no guarantee that they'll run @ rated specs when you combine kits / ICs.

Beat ya Yellowbeard!
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-19-2010, 02:33 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 472250
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

It is VERY unlikely that you will get the memory to run faster than 1066 using 4 modules due to the load on the memory controller. What you are describing is typically not a memory issue. You "might" be able to get a bit more frequency if you increase your NB Voltage to the 1.25v - 1.35v range. But, there is no guarantee since you are far exceeding the chipset specification.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:12 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 472350
too Reputation: 10
Default

Yes, two kits os two ram modules each, total of 4 modules of 2GB each.

Could I fry the chipset? Is it possible to lower the latencies instead? How about increasing the ram voltage, would that do any good?

Thanks!

Last edited by too; 10-20-2010 at 08:17 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:34 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 472367
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by too View Post
Could I fry the chipset? Is it possible to lower the latencies instead? How about increasing the ram voltage, would that do any good?

Thanks!
Increasing the RAM voltage will not help. It's not the RAM that is under extra stress. It's the memory controller trying to run 4 modules.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 12:42 PM
RJLeong65 RJLeong65 is offline
Registered User
RJLeong65's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,235
POST ID # = 472383
RJLeong65 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by too View Post
Yes, two kits os two ram modules each, total of 4 modules of 2GB each.

Could I fry the chipset? Is it possible to lower the latencies instead? How about increasing the ram voltage, would that do any good?

Thanks!
You won't fry the chipset unless you do something rather insane to it.

And a sign of a memory controller being overworked would be frequent blue screens and crashes. Running four sticks of RAM increases the electrical load on the memory controller versus running only two sticks. And if the load gets increased, there will be less room to increase the DIMM voltage without risking overheating of the chipset.

And lowering the latencies would make it worse, not better: The lower the latency numbers, the tighter the timings. You will need to increase the latencies (also known as "loosening the timings") in order to increase stability. Also, the official JEDEC specs for DDR2 memory dictate a maximum of only one DIMM per channel for DDR2-1066 memory. If you use four sticks (or two sticks per channel), you will have to lower the memory speed to DDR2-800 or DDR2-667 and 5-5-5-18 (at DDR2-800) or 5-5-5-15 (at DDR2-667) in order to run stably.
__________________
Sorry, but I don't work for Corsair (or any other memory company)! I'm just a computer enthusiast who loves to help out others...

Last edited by RJLeong65; 10-20-2010 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-21-2010, 05:45 PM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 472644
too Reputation: 10
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJLeong65 View Post
You won't fry the chipset unless you do something rather insane to it.
.... you will have to lower the memory speed to DDR2-800 or DDR2-667 and 5-5-5-18 (at DDR2-800) or 5-5-5-15 (at DDR2-667) in order to run stably.
Thanks!

I used to have a lot BSOD problems with 1066Mhz using Asus Six Engine, I had to clean it alway from my Windows to use it stably. I think that explains something since it messes with the voltages, frequencies and everything.

Actually I´ve tried even 1.3v with 2.2v on the modules, but no luck!
I didn´t know that was such an issue about how many modules you use to run OC, I just touth it was about the frequency.

I tried with 1002Mhz, 1066Mhz, 1111Mhz, 4-4-4-12, 5-5-5-15, 4-5-5-15, in so many combinations I just got tired to restart my machine

It´s on 891Mhz 5-5-5-18-CR2 right now. Is this or 800mhz on auto or 1066Mhz at 5-6-6-18 with those settings, anything else just wont boot here.

At those speeds no difference noticeable.

So what would be the fast stable setup I can get?

Does anyone has a similar setup to help me?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:42 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 473312
too Reputation: 10
Default

I just got BSOD at 891Mhz 5-5-5-18, 2.1v, everything else on auto! These settings were faster, but could not hold up.
Really I don´t know what else I can do.
Will the memories take 1200Mhz with the timings more loose, like 6-6-6-18 or so? How much voltage should I put?
I know I´m being persistent, repetitive and boring but I'm not getting anywhere here and I´m trying this for a while already.
Thanks again for all the help!

Last edited by too; 10-27-2010 at 08:41 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 12-20-2010, 09:40 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 481302
too Reputation: 10
Default

Best I could do so far, is this: 5-6-6-17-CR2 1066Mhz








It´s really an improvement in speed, but I´ve found today this article ( http://www.madshrimps.be/articles/ar...-Autumn-2007/4 ) and the ram is running faster at 1111Mhz with 2.4v at 4-4-4-12-2T. Could I run mine at 1111Mhz with 2.4v at 5-5-5-16 or something faster then i´m using now?

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:23 AM
too's Avatar
too too is offline
Registered User
too's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 490512
too Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the help, and really sorry to take such a long time to answer it.
Problem solved!
Here is the current settings:
DDR2 1066 5-6-6-17 - 2.1v
NB Voltage - 1.12
SB Voltage - 1.10
Memory OC Charger - Enable
FSB Termination Voltage - 1.24
Load Line Calibration - Enable
CPU Margin Enhancement - Performance Mode
Best so far it runs at 1099Mhz with the CPU OCed at 2709 with Asus EPU. I believe it can go further but I´m not having the time and patience to try.
Thanks a lot for the help!
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
asus, ddr2, dominator, frequency, latency

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.