The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2015, 01:46 PM
M3lch10r M3lch10r is offline
Registered User
M3lch10r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 802716
M3lch10r Reputation: 10
Default Looking to Upgrade

Good afternoon -

I'm looking to upgrade my RAM to some sleek new Corsair Dominator Platinum.
I want to cap my board out at 32GB, but I'm having trouble verifying the compatibility.

My board is the ASRock Fatal1ty Z97 Professional (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157524).

It says it will accept the following: DDR3 3200+(OC)/2933(OC)/ 2800(OC)/2400(OC)/2133(OC)/1866(OC)/1600/1333/1066

Some locations I've read only show it accepting up to 1866.

I very much want the 4x8GB DDR3 @ 2400 (Model CMD32GX3M4A2400C11).

Are there any forseen issues with this choice?

Greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-26-2015, 05:04 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,318
POST ID # = 802751
Greybeard Reputation: 30
Default

That kit is going to be compatible with that Z97 board. To run them at 2400Mhz, you will simply enable XMP in your BIOS, that will automatically adjust all values that needs to be adjusted in your BIOS to run the RAM at advertised speed.

Just make sure you have latest BIOS for that board.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-26-2015, 06:18 PM
M3lch10r M3lch10r is offline
Registered User
M3lch10r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 802766
M3lch10r Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for your assistance!
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-26-2015, 06:29 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,318
POST ID # = 802777
Greybeard Reputation: 30
Default

No problem at all :)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-02-2015, 04:49 PM
M3lch10r M3lch10r is offline
Registered User
M3lch10r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 804567
M3lch10r Reputation: 10
Default

The memory arrived, I got my light bars installed, it looks fantastic!

The only issue is that I'm running into a problem to get it to recognize it's full speed.

Here are my BIOS settings:


Here is how it reads in Speccy (CPU-Z is the same)


This should be at 2400MHz, correct?

Please assist!
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-02-2015, 05:17 PM
Greybeard's Avatar
Greybeard Greybeard is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Corsair HQ
Posts: 1,318
POST ID # = 804570
Greybeard Reputation: 30
Default

It is running at 2400Mhz. CPUZ screen shot says 1199Mhz, DDR (Double Data Rate) = 2400Mhz like what it says in your BIOS. You're good!
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-02-2015, 05:21 PM
M3lch10r M3lch10r is offline
Registered User
M3lch10r's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 804571
M3lch10r Reputation: 10
Default

OH, forgot to factor in the double.

GREAT!
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-03-2015, 01:52 AM
Nec_V20 Nec_V20 is offline
Registered User
Nec_V20's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 155
POST ID # = 804675
Nec_V20 Reputation: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3lch10r View Post
The memory arrived, I got my light bars installed, it looks fantastic!

The only issue is that I'm running into a problem to get it to recognize it's full speed.

Here are my BIOS settings:


Here is how it reads in Speccy (CPU-Z is the same)


This should be at 2400MHz, correct?

Please assist!
Not to put too fine a point on it, but why do you have 32GB of RAM when your Operating System (Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit) only supports 16GB maximum?

If you want to have the joy out of the full 32GB then you need to be running at least Win7 Professional.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
compatibility question, dominator, ram

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.