The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2019, 02:23 PM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1020917
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default 5 LL120 RGB fans faulty at once?

Earlier this year I built a custom cooled PC. The Obsidian 1000D. So this means a lot of fans and a lot of money. However probably 5-6 months of use later and 5 of my LL120 fans (Only the RGB LEDs to be precise) are faulty, out of 30 so 1/6 fans breaking every 5 months is gonna be expensive maintenance... Anybody got any ideas why this may be happening?

Thanks folks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-10-2019, 05:06 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,593
POST ID # = 1020932
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

Can you elaborate a little as to the failing? No lighting at all, stuck halfway around, wrong colors, blinking on/off. etc.?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-11-2019, 02:50 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1020953
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Sad

Yes of course. 5 fans in total.
Fan 1: Front of case. 2nd in series on lighting hub. When fan 1 is plugged in the fans that follow in the series become all glitchy flickering. Swap fan 3 and 4 to put them before the 2nd in series and faulty RGB fan 1 at the last slot in series. The rest of the fans are perfect and the last fan (fan 1) has a little flickering led at one side that must have been the root cause.
All other faulty fans have the same failing LED problem just not as obvious.
The rest are on the top of the case. In a series of 6 fans... Swapped a few fans around in the series to see which ones ruin the lighting loop same as with fan 1 and discovered that 3 different fans in the link stop any lighting occurring after them in the series.
Also used some new spare fans I have to test this one by one. Plugged faulty fan into slot one and slot 2 with new fan doesn't light. Put good fan into slot one and slot 2 works fine.

Hope this helps. The fans are mechanically sound just lighting problems and this is vital in such a bling, customised expensive PC
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-11-2019, 03:04 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,252
POST ID # = 1020955
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

have you cancelled out the RGB Fan LED Hub playing a part in all this?... from what you have said it does sound like a bad fan though but is's unusual for a few fans in the chain to fail at the same time..
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-11-2019, 08:19 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1020973
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

I have multiple different fan hubs and I did try different ones to check if it was the hub and not the fans.
I know the hub works fine and other fans that are fully functional chain together no problem on it.

The fact that they were all faulty around the same time is the part that is confusing me too... I will buy replacements this time but I want to avoid this happening every 5 months where I need to buy 5 fans at around £100
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:33 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,252
POST ID # = 1021009
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

if only 5 months old then you need to open a ticket and get them replaced as they would still be in warranty....
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:21 PM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021013
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

I have started a RMA now.
I was just wondering if there may be a cause for this as it seems unlikely it should happen
I would like to avoid having to completely drain my custom loop and refill that frequently as this may increase the likelyhood of leaks .

Thank for the advice though, I'm glad you folks are taking the time to troubleshoot this with me
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-11-2019, 06:52 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,593
POST ID # = 1021016
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

One thing worth mentioning is a RGB hub with 6 LL fans will pull up to 3.7A on the 5v rail of the SATA power line. You can't go over the SATA limit with just 6 fans, but if you start combing RGB hubs on the same line from the PSU or anything else using the 5v rail, you might get yourself into trouble. In my experience with this, the PSU may shutdown rather than fry the fans, but perhaps the behavior is not so clear cut if you are dancing around the 4.5A limit on the line.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-12-2019, 04:31 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021043
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

Ohhhh
Now that may be something worth checking. I can't remember how I wired up the power to these hubs but I do have a lot of fans and 4 or 5 hubs. I doubt I would have been able to fit all the hubs on one line but if I have more than 2 (12 fans) then there's a possibility of some overdraw?
Best solution?
I may not even have enough peripheral slots on my PSU because of the amount of components in the PC
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-12-2019, 05:08 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021045
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

I just checked and there are a few attached to the sata power.
However I also have 4 SSDs and I just don't have enough peripheral power slots on my AX1600i PSU to have 1 hub individually on a line.
What can I do
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-12-2019, 06:44 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,593
POST ID # = 1021051
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

I would not be too worried about extra SSDs on the same line as an RGB hub. What’s a really heavy SSD power draw? 2.5W? I guess it varies by model and some older ones are less efficient. However, the real question is whether the SSD draws 12v line power or a combination from all three rails. I don’t the answer and it could once again vary by make and model.

Rather than chase the above, I think the more pressing issue is to make sure both RGB 6 port hubs are not on the same line together. That we know is a lot of 5v power. You might say the same about the commander pro if you have 2 in play. If one C-Pro and one RGB hub are on each line (plus whatever other non-heavy current draws), you should be ok. The “anything else on the 5v rail” was a generic warning about adding random stuff, not a warning you can’t add anything. Water pumps (12v rail 20-35W or 2-3A), Commander Pro (12v -varies by fans, 6 LL motors 1.8A), and RGB hubs (5v - 3.7A for 6 LL) are the big ticket items. Those you need to watch how you combine with other things that draw from the same voltage line.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 10-12-2019, 10:23 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021075
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

Okay, so I have 30 fans in this case. 3 COPROS, 5 hubs and a lighting node pro... What would you suggest if it were you trying to power these because I certainly can't have them all on separate lines, I'd need 2 PSUs for just the 1 system.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 10-15-2019, 04:13 AM
Fwashy Fwashy is offline
Registered User
Fwashy's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 1021317
Fwashy Reputation: 10
Default

I have tried rearranging things but I still end up exceeding the 4.5A limit on sata cables. There's just not enough, slots on my PSU. Makes me sad that my build just may not be possible :'(
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 10-15-2019, 06:10 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,593
POST ID # = 1021322
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

It’s hard for me to visualize all of your gear (that is a lot). There are other people running huge amounts of fans in 1000D sized cases. Perhaps someone has some insights to a more efficient way.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 10-15-2019, 08:42 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,830
POST ID # = 1021332
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

You can run more than 4.5A from a single PSU cable. You cannot run more than 4.5A from a single SATA connector (so no splitters!).
I am absolutely pulling more than 4.5A on a single 5V line from the PSU. So are many others. PSU cable is typically 18 Gauge, which will handle that just fine. It's the SATA connector, however, that's only rated for 4.5A and may melt if you pull more current through it.
One thing, however, to look out for is the total rating on the 5V rail on your PSU. These vary by PSU but seldom exceed 20A. This does present a challenge to systems with a lot of RGB - IMHO, Corsair should come out with series of PSUs with something like 50A on the 5V rail.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.