The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2020, 08:33 PM
Kikkiu Kikkiu is offline
Registered User
Kikkiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1052908
Kikkiu Reputation: 10
Question Connecting LL120 Fan without controller?

Hi, I bought a Corsair LL120 fan a while ago, but sadly didn't notice that the RGB lighting can only be turned on with Corsair's controller. So here's my question: can I turn on RGB lighting (even without any effect) without a controller? I can do some DIY with what I have, because I can't buy the controller nor the pack of fans since they're out of stock here. Soooooo.. is it possible to know on the RGB cable which is the 5v pin and which is ground/data? I can't even connect it directly to the motherboard, because I only have a 12v connector... As I said, I can do something with what I have, maybe with an Arduino or something.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-04-2020, 11:14 PM
pontageek pontageek is offline
Registered User
pontageek's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 1052910
pontageek Reputation: 10
Default

I had the same problem as yours when I bought a single pack ML fan. From research, you need to buy specific adapter, a dupont molex 4 pin adapter to addressable RGB header of your motherboard. It's a headache, you may find the corsair adapter to standard connection in ebay or buy a 3 pack that comes with lighting node pro.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-04-2020, 11:38 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 8,827
POST ID # = 1052911
DevBiker Reputation: 94
Default

Here's the pinout, starting with Pin 1 (with the arrow on the connector).
1: +5V
2: Data Out (From Fan)
3: Data In (To Fan)
4: Ground

The minimum that you need to get it to light up is +5V, Data In and Ground - Pins 1, 3, and 4.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Helpful Links and FAQs:
AIO FAQ | RGB FAQ |
HydroX FAQ | RGB Cables |
iCUE Tips & Tricks

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-05-2020, 11:04 AM
Kikkiu Kikkiu is offline
Registered User
Kikkiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1052951
Kikkiu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
Here's the pinout, starting with Pin 1 (with the arrow on the connector).
1: +5V
2: Data Out (From Fan)
3: Data In (To Fan)
4: Ground

The minimum that you need to get it to light up is +5V, Data In and Ground - Pins 1, 3, and 4.
Thanks! I'll give it a try as soon as I can!
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-05-2020, 11:32 AM
Kikkiu Kikkiu is offline
Registered User
Kikkiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1052954
Kikkiu Reputation: 10
Default

Ok I connected the pins to 5v and ground of an Arduino, but the LEDs aren't turning on. Here's my question: what goes to data in pin? +5v or something else?
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-05-2020, 12:11 PM
LeDoyen LeDoyen is offline
Registered User
LeDoyen's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 289
POST ID # = 1052963
LeDoyen Reputation: 26
Default

On the data pin goes.. data, not a power supply.
I never used an arduino but there are tutorials everywhere on how to use one of the RGB libraries for it for LED control
like that one for example
https://howtomechatronics.com/tutori...using-arduino/
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-05-2020, 04:20 PM
Kikkiu Kikkiu is offline
Registered User
Kikkiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1052973
Kikkiu Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeDoyen View Post
On the data pin goes.. data, not a power supply.
I never used an arduino but there are tutorials everywhere on how to use one of the RGB libraries for it for LED control
like that one for example
https://howtomechatronics.com/tutori...using-arduino/
It kinda works. Followed everything on multitple guides, but I get to the same result. I finally managed to turn on the LEDs, but when they do, I get a weird glitch-like effect.

Anyone can help?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo5769457396266152829.jpg (37.5 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-17-2020, 08:19 PM
Kikkiu Kikkiu is offline
Registered User
Kikkiu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 1054362
Kikkiu Reputation: 10
Default

Sadly no other answers yet. Here's all the information I got:
LEDs aren't broken;
Arduino control kinda works;
(New) when I get my ear close to the fan, I can hear something like white noise.

Should I try using another Arduino? Did I broke something connecting +5v on the data pin?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
ll120, ll120 fan, ll120 rgb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.