The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:02 PM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1022086
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default Question about daisy-chaining RGB LED devices...

So reading Zotty's guide as well as the Commander Pro manual, it sounds like I can use the LED ports 1-2 for connecting LED strips directly or via the Lighting Node Pro, or connect fans via the LED Hub...

However, I can't find any mention of where to connect the Pump / CPU block LED cables... If I use port #1 on the Commander Pro for my LED Fan Hub, can I daisy-chain my CPU block to the Pump, and then connect the Pump to port #2, or do I have to get a second LED Hub or Lighting Node Pro to act as an intermediary?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:18 PM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,359
POST ID # = 1022088
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

AIO coolers do not require a separate lighting channel. All their on board lighting is handled through the SATA power connector for the unit and then lighting control through the device's own tab in iCUE. A USB 2 connection is required for software control.

Hydro X custom cooling is a different story. Those parts do require a lighting channel, but then also can daisy chain through each other to keep it to 1 channel. This is also somewhat useful in sequencing the central lighting effects (Pump/Res -> CPU block -> GPU or vice versa).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:31 PM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1022089
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default

Ok, so it sounds like this should work then... thanks... I'll run the XC7 (CPU) -> XD5 (Pump) -> Commander Pro LED port #2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 08:38 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,647
POST ID # = 1022090
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarker4682 View Post
Ok, so it sounds like this should work then... thanks... I'll run the XC7 (CPU) -> XD5 (Pump) -> Commander Pro LED port #2
Yes, that's exactly how it'll work. The CPU block must be at the end of the chain.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.