The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2008, 06:46 PM
Troublehalf Troublehalf is offline
Registered User
Troublehalf's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 370885
Troublehalf Reputation: 10
Default Question

Hello everybody. I'm new here, as you can see, and I am a novice when it comes to computers! I have had a problem which has plagued me for a fair while. I also hope this is the correct forum to ask!

About a year ago I built a PC (see my system spec's). However, after completion it did not pass the BIOS test, so after a fair bit of faffing around, I decided to send everybody back to the company, for them to test each part to see which was faulty. It turned out the; Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 XMS2 Pro Memory was faulty, and they re-sent me some a few days later. This worked fine, and I suffered no more problems. Since I am a gaming fanatic, performance is a must for me, and during some games, my G15 keyboard was showing a large amount of RAM being used, which caused some problems. So 2GIG's seemed not enough for the task. I purchased some more RAM (exactly the same) and installed them. However when I did, I constantly gots BSOD's. I tried altering the voltage and tried out each stick separately. All the sticks were fine. I removed the extra 2 gig's and stability returned. However with games becoming more RAM hungry, an extra gig or two would greatly help me in performance.

Upon reading your forum, there seems to be a slight problem with ASUS Striker Extreme MB's and some RAM. Since I have said MB, and I seem to be suffering with this problem, I was wondering if there was any tips or ideas that I could try?

I am, as I said, pretty basic in terms of computing hardware, so please be kind with me .

Sorry again if this is the wrong place, but after 9 months or so, I don't really have anywhere else to turn. Since this was on the back of the RAM package, I thought it would be a good place to start again!

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:51 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,188
POST ID # = 370898
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

What is the PART NUMBER and VERSION NUMBER of each stick?
How To Read the Memory Label
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.