The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Hydro X Custom Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2019, 07:52 PM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1021981
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default 6 Fans plus XD5 Pump but Commander pro only supports 6 headers

So this entire process continues to be an exercise in frustration.. Two steps forward, one step back...

Finally got to the point where I'm trying to wire everything up and discover that I'm one fan header short and now I'm stuck trying to figure out how to proceed..

Per the XD5 directions, I need to plug its fan header connector into slot 6 on the Commander Pro, but I still have 6 LL120 Dual Light fans... so do I need to buy a 2nd Commander Pro for just a single fan header connection?

ARRRRRGHHH! I've spent almost $1300 on Corsair Hydro X parts and I STILL CAN"T GET THIS TO WORK!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2019, 10:04 PM
Zone55555 Zone55555 is offline
HydroX Success Story
Zone55555's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 100
POST ID # = 1021996
Zone55555 Reputation: 10
Default

fan splitter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2019, 12:55 AM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1022003
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default

per Zotto's directions, it says that the Commander Pro max amperage is 4.5amps for all connected devices including the MCU... per another article I read, the XD5 is 2.5 amps, plus 6 LL fans @ 0.3amps equals 1.8amps... 2.5 + 1.8 equals 4.3amps... not sure what the internal MCU runs, but I assume its more than .2 amps... can you confirm?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:44 AM
BlaiseP's Avatar
BlaiseP BlaiseP is offline
Registered User
BlaiseP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 195
POST ID # = 1022007
BlaiseP Reputation: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbarker4682 View Post
per Zotto's directions, it says that the Commander Pro max amperage is 4.5amps for all connected devices including the MCU... per another article I read, the XD5 is 2.5 amps, plus 6 LL fans @ 0.3amps equals 1.8amps... 2.5 + 1.8 equals 4.3amps... not sure what the internal MCU runs, but I assume its more than .2 amps... can you confirm?
The XD5 is a PWM pump and the connection to the Commander Pro is just to control the speed; power (the 2.5A draw for the actual pump) is supplied via the molex power cable. In other words, you'll be well under the maximum draw for the Commander Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2019, 02:57 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,132
POST ID # = 1022015
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

as said.. you would be fine using a splitter on one of the Copro fan headers... which case is this btw?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2019, 06:23 AM
c-attack c-attack is offline
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,360
POST ID # = 1022024
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

We are all pretty much in the same position since 6 fans is something of a magic number in the system. 2 way PWM splitter on #5. PWM control signal for the pump on #6. You only have to put the pump on #6 if you want to use the Corsair pump presets. If you are going to use your own speeds, it can go anywhere. Same thing with the fan splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2019, 07:16 PM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1022082
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
as said.. you would be fine using a splitter on one of the Copro fan headers... which case is this btw?
PC Case is the Antec Torque in B&W
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2019, 07:21 PM
jbarker4682 jbarker4682 is offline
Registered User
jbarker4682's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1022083
jbarker4682 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlaiseP View Post
The XD5 is a PWM pump and the connection to the Commander Pro is just to control the speed; power (the 2.5A draw for the actual pump) is supplied via the molex power cable. In other words, you'll be well under the maximum draw for the Commander Pro.
Ahh... ok, that makes sense... thanks for the clarification... got the Y-Splitter on order... now just waiting on Corsair to get more RGB LED Fan Hubs in stock... been waiting on mine for 2 weeks and it still says back-ordered...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.