The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2019, 09:38 AM
KMierz KMierz is offline
Registered User
KMierz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022035
KMierz Reputation: 10
Default 570x more fans than headers

Alright so here’s my dilemma. I made an account here because I’m rather lost.
Yesterday I got my Corsair 570x, h150i, 2 packs of HD120 fans and vengeance rgb pro ram to rebuild and upgrade my PC. I got everything put together and it turns on!
I intended to do a push/pull with the h150i front mounted, using HD120 on the front and the included SP120 that comes with the case on the rear of the radiator. As of right now I have the SP120’s disconnected. The remaining 3 HD120’s on the top and rear. Alright so 9 fans in total, using the included splitter off of the CPU head I have spots for 7 fans(one SYSFAN header available/unused right now) on my MSI Z170A Gaming M3. Is there a recommended splitter like the one off of the CPU head to connect the remaining 3 fans? Or how is this done? I’ve seen similar setups a few times before and based my new build off of them and left this factor out somehow.

Thanks in advance (:
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-22-2019, 12:00 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,678
POST ID # = 1022040
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The CPU fan header isn't always ideal for case fans in a liquid cooled system; they will often be exclusively tied to the CPU temp, which has no impact on your system's internal temperature when liquid cooled. But ... you can make it work.
There are other things to look at - PWM splitters might be an option. Another option is to use a powered PWM Fan Hub that duplicates the PWM signal to multiple fans and provides independent power. Last, but certainly not least, the Commander Pro is also an option.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:01 PM
KMierz KMierz is offline
Registered User
KMierz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022047
KMierz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DevBiker View Post
The CPU fan header isn't always ideal for case fans in a liquid cooled system; they will often be exclusively tied to the CPU temp, which has no impact on your system's internal temperature when liquid cooled. But ... you can make it work.
There are other things to look at - PWM splitters might be an option. Another option is to use a powered PWM Fan Hub that duplicates the PWM signal to multiple fans and provides independent power. Last, but certainly not least, the Commander Pro is also an option.
Can you help explain how the commander pro would help powering the fans? I thought the commander pro was just to help link the lighting together.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:27 PM
c-attack c-attack is online now
Registered User
c-attack's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,414
POST ID # = 1022052
c-attack c-attack Reputation: 107
Default

The Commander Pro is a Lighting Node Pro plus a fan controller. It would replace the LNP currently in your system. It would give you speed and lighting control over all system fans through iCUE. No more BIOS diving to make changes.

It would also solve another dilemma. The SP-RGB fans that came with the case are 3 pin DC motors. You can't run those and the 4 pin PWM HD fans on the same circuit or on the pump at all. You will need to power the SP from an alternative source, whether that is a motherboard header or external fan controller, like the Commander Pro. You will also need to keep the 3 SP-RGB fans on a different RGB Lighting Hub from the HD fans.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:35 PM
KMierz KMierz is offline
Registered User
KMierz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022055
KMierz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-attack View Post
The Commander Pro is a Lighting Node Pro plus a fan controller. It would replace the LNP currently in your system. It would give you speed and lighting control over all system fans through iCUE. No more BIOS diving to make changes.

It would also solve another dilemma. The SP-RGB fans that came with the case are 3 pin DC motors. You can't run those and the 4 pin PWM HD fans on the same circuit or on the pump at all. You will need to power the SP from an alternative source, whether that is a motherboard header or external fan controller, like the Commander Pro. You will also need to keep the 3 SP-RGB fans on a different RGB Lighting Hub from the HD fans.
Thanks for explaining! Looks like I’ll be picking one of those up after work.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:38 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,180
POST ID # = 1022056
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

both the below threads are worth the read...

RGB Faq (covers the Commander Pro)

570x Faq,, ignore the RGB Corsair Logo if is not a mirror black

https://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthr...82609&t=182609

you would be looking at something like this




Fan types doesnt matter for the connections in this image,,, you would have your 6 HD fans on one RGB Fan LED Hub and the 3 SP fans on the other RGB Fan LED Hub

Last edited by Zotty; 10-22-2019 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-22-2019, 01:46 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,180
POST ID # = 1022059
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Correct Fan types now in the Diagram

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-22-2019, 03:06 PM
KMierz KMierz is offline
Registered User
KMierz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022065
KMierz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Correct Fan types now in the Diagram

Wow that is way more easier drawn out like that. I was way over-complicating this in my head lol
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-22-2019, 03:16 PM
KMierz KMierz is offline
Registered User
KMierz's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022067
KMierz Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Correct Fan types now in the Diagram

Do you have any tips on matching the fan curves of the SP and HD once I get it hooked up?
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-22-2019, 04:24 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,180
POST ID # = 1022069
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KMierz View Post
Wow that is way more easier drawn out like that. I was way over-complicating this in my head lol
yeah lol.. a picture speaks a 1000 words huh... glad it helps dude


Quote:
Originally Posted by KMierz View Post
Do you have any tips on matching the fan curves of the SP and HD once I get it hooked up?

yeah set up a a custom curve for the 3 that are mounted to the rad but are powered by the commander pro using the H150i as the Temp source

taking a screen shot of the one you set up on the H150i will help ;)

Last edited by Zotty; 10-22-2019 at 04:27 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-23-2019, 03:55 PM
Soundcrank Soundcrank is offline
Registered User
Soundcrank's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 1022151
Soundcrank Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
yeah lol.. a picture speaks a 1000 words huh... glad it helps dude





yeah set up a a custom curve for the 3 that are mounted to the rad but are powered by the commander pro using the H150i as the Temp source

taking a screen shot of the one you set up on the H150i will help ;)
Do you know of anywhere I can buy those RGB Controllers you have in the above pictures? I can't find them for sale anywhere
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.