The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2020, 06:20 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047008
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default H150i Push Pull Setup - Power Question

Hello,
I would like to setup my H150i using push pull. I will be using 3 stock fans and 3 Corsair CO-9050014-WW fans (these are rated at .25a each). I know the stock fans are rated at .219a.

I can't figure out if the pump is able to power these by itself without damaging it, I know it has a 2.0a limit, but am confused on if pump needs .45a or .6a.

Based on my calculations, if the pump is .45a, I'm fine (~1.86a total), but if its .6, I'm a bit over (2.007a, which leaves no wiggle room). I assume this would only happen at max power draw but want to be safe. Can anyone share their thoughts?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 05-20-2020, 06:49 AM
TriixstaR TriixstaR is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 1047071
TriixstaR Reputation: 10
Default

Gonna follow along here, I was just about to ask a similar question regarding my H150i Pro RGB XT and was thinking if I can use fan splitters on the AIO to configure the 3 stock fans and add 3 QL120s in a push pull set up!
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 05-21-2020, 11:05 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047336
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Just a quick bump, FAQ says .45a so I think I am good.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 05-22-2020, 03:45 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,694
POST ID # = 1047352
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Hi gennerally this is considered a bad idea.. dont forget you got to allow for the pump/the MCU/the RGBs...

another option is to use one of these

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en//Categ...r/p/CC-8900355


this would allow all 6 fans to be control as one single fan making syncing or all 6 very easy.

as an example

Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 05-23-2020, 12:16 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047558
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
Hi gennerally this is considered a bad idea.. dont forget you got to allow for the pump/the MCU/the RGBs...

another option is to use one of these

https://www.corsair.com/uk/en//Categ...r/p/CC-8900355


this would allow all 6 fans to be control as one single fan making syncing or all 6 very easy.

as an example

Well, I see that point, but I really just need to know how much current the pump draws (maybe MCU too - not sure what that is) None of the fans I am using have RGB. Only RGB is on pump. I'd rather not spend the $70 or so if I don't have too, I probably would just find a cheap 6 fan controller and use that in a PWM spot on the motherboard.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 05-23-2020, 12:20 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047561
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Oh looking at this, that Carbide Repeater might be just what I need....wish shipping wasn't double cost of item though :D
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 05-23-2020, 02:08 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,694
POST ID # = 1047576
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Padinn View Post
Oh looking at this, that Carbide Repeater might be just what I need....wish shipping wasn't double cost of item though :D
it's an option buddy... there are other PWM repeaters on the market. but i try to keep it all in the same eco system,,,,
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 05-23-2020, 10:16 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047622
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
it's an option buddy... there are other PWM repeaters on the market. but i try to keep it all in the same eco system,,,,
Appreciate your advice, I grabbed the corsair one. I originally though I'd need to spend like 70 for the Commander Pro - but this is perfect and very reasonable after I looked at cost of some others. Thanks for your guidance.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 05-24-2020, 04:02 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,694
POST ID # = 1047641
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

no worries :).. hope you are sorted and you know where to find us if needed :)

I also have a Discord server that offers live help....

https://discord.gg/b6x8HpM

you are welcome to join us...
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 05-24-2020, 09:14 AM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1047681
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zotty View Post
no worries :).. hope you are sorted and you know where to find us if needed :)

I also have a Discord server that offers live help....

https://discord.gg/b6x8HpM

you are welcome to join us...
Quick question, I'm guessing with repeater I'll lose ability to monitor fan RPM. Is that right? Or does it send one rpm signal!
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 05-24-2020, 05:35 PM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is offline
CORSAIR Beta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 3,694
POST ID # = 1047756
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

iCUE will see all fans on that repeater as one single fan.... they will all be at the same speed which is directly related to what you set them to in iCUE
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 05-27-2020, 12:58 PM
Padinn Padinn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 1048141
Padinn Reputation: 10
Default

Awesome, thanks again.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.